We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyound Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beyound Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed for one night as a belated Wedding Anniversary treat for my wife and, of course, me. Superb room, a wonderful panoramic scene over the gardens and lake and breath-taking views of the South Downs (also viewed in luxury from the sumptuous double bed). During our stay we booked for the Pass Restaurant and enjoyed a wonderful full flavour gourmet experience that is every bit as pleasing as the Michelin star promised. The staff both in the restaurant and general hotel are attentive when needed but never obtrusive. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, if you want luxury without pomp, efficiency without worry and peace with tranquillity stay here. its hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Keith M,

A very happy anniversary! I am pleased your stay exceeded expectations and you were able to share your views with the TripAdvisor community.

Your bedroom sounds just perfect with its fabulous views over the gardens, lakes, and distant South Downs.

The Pass is not to be missed. Set in the very heart of the kitchen, the theatre and Michelin starred food is a wonderful and breathtaking mix.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back before too long.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    245
    96
    43
    22
See reviews for
252
787
16
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We initially booked to go and eat at the Camelia restaurant at South Lodge, we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal, the service was impeccable.
We then decided to book high tea as part of our son's wedding celebrations so that both grandmothers could come and enjoy a traditional English high tea. We were given the centre table in the lounge over looking the grounds, a perfect setting if ever there was one. The tea and the service were as good as anyone could get, nothing was too much trouble for our host, she was attentive and extremely helpful and friendly. The food was exceptional with beautiful sandwiches and cakes. They catered for one of our party who is gluten intolerant and again, nothing was too much for them.
I can't recommend this establishment highly enough, our next visit will be to eat at The Pass restaurant.

Thank you to all at South Lodge, you made our sons wedding celebrations so very memorable x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear peter s,

Thank you for joining us afternoon tea to celebrate you son’s wedding. It is lovely to learn we were able to play just a small part in making the wedding so memorable.

Afternoon tea is a fabulous treat at South Lodge. Either al fresco on our terraces or in one of our charming public rooms overlooking the South Downs the location and atmosphere could not be bettered. I am so pleased the team were attentive, friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon – The Pass is an experience not to be missed!

All the very best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E Anglia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stay in wonderful hotels around the World, but must say that South Lodge is probably the best ever! What makes it so perfect is that elusive combination of atmosphere; history; style; comfort; luxury; superb food & wine and, above all the right number of staff (although a slight hitch in the bar due to being a member of staff short; but there was little impact on clients) each of whom seems passionate and committed about their role within a great team! I don't say this lightly - we earn our living going into organisations and helping people get better at what they do, so our standards are high - we have very high expectations! Even when the heavens opened whilst we were enjoying coffee on the terrace, Nathalie came out with umbrellas and led us all inside, despite getting drenched!!
I love this hotel!
The food in Camellia was amazing! Will eat in 'The Pass' next time!
Thank you to Ronnie on Reception for her skills and knowledge!

Room Tip: We had a room in the main part of the hotel - such character!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteffyEAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear SteffyEAnglia,

Thank you for your lovely review and for describing your stay as ‘just perfect!’.

It means so much to each and every team member here at South Lodge for you to recognise their hard work and dedication to delivering the very best of experiences to our guests. It is lovely for you to describe the atmosphere as being very special too, with a wonderful balance of history, style, comfort at well as great food and wine.

Thank you once again for recommending us so highly. The team and I look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at South Lodge for a wedding recently and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are lovely - very spacious with large bathrooms (tv above the bath and power shower = amazing), good air con and one of the most comfortable beds i've ever slept in! There was also an iron and ironing board in each room so no need to call reception to ask for one. They offered a daily newspaper and shoe shine free of charge. Staff are mostly friendly and helpful. Things were almost perfect EXCEPT for a few details. Service in the bar for drinks is very slow. Be prepared that if you book dinner for a specific time, you will likely wait in the bar area for 30 mins looking at menus and making choices before being seated in the restaurant. Breakfast on both days was a bit of a shambles, they got the entire groups' order wrong... that said, the buffet selection was pretty extensive and delicious. Finally, the billing structure is quite confusing. Several members of our group were over charged and had to resolve billing problems with the reception at checkout which was a relatively a lengthly process. One final thing to note: we were lucky with our room allocation but some friends were not. Ask for a room on the first or second floor... our friends had a small dingy room on the ground floor near to where another event was being held. It was darker, smaller and much noisier than ours but before making a complaint they were going to be charged the same rate.

Overall this is a lovely hotel - just a few things to work on to make it worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToriPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear ToriPatt,

Thank you for providing your feedback.

It is lovely to read the many positive aspects of your stay such as care the team showed as well as your excellent bedroom.

Although the stay was almost perfect I am sorry certain aspects took the shine off. I will share your feedback regarding the slow bar and breakfast service and I am sorry this was the case.
I am sorry that there were billing issues amongst your party. I believe this was caused by confusion regarding your rate but I am pleased it has been successfully resolved.

We had been lucky enough to provide you with a complimentary upgrade and this accounts for the disparity between the two rooms. I do not feel your friend’s room is dingy as it is newly refurbished and is of a good size as it is a guest room rather than a junior suite.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had an amazing overnight stay at Southlodge Hotel which included a 3 course meal at The Cameilla Restaurant. The staff were fantastic, the food was great and it was lovely to have some chocolates and a card left in our room to celebrate our anniversary. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma Hudson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Norma Hudson P,

Thank you for joining us and many congratulations on your anniversary. It was lovely to read you had such a fabulous time with us.

I am delighted dinner in The Camellia was memorable. With stunning views over the South Downs from our al fresco terrace or from the dining room itself MasterChef the Professional winner Stephen Edwards serves a modern interpretation of local and seasonal dishes.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

All the best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautiful impressive hotel, large bedrooms no aircon just a fan. Drain smell in bathroom. 30 minutes to get a gin and tonic bought to the garden after walking around to find staff to take the order. 25 minutes for our 2nd gin and tonic to be bought to the lounge. So gave up waiting. Gins were on the house due to lack of service. Food excellent and service very good in the evening restaurant only. Cooked breakfast not great bacon, sausages dry. Shame a fab venue, staffing let's it down. Also the drain pong as you leave via the back gate.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the back gardens and fields have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Marion F,

Thank you for your review following your stay at South Lodge.

Despite you finding the hotel beautiful and the bathrooms large, I am sorry the visit did not live up to your expectations or indeed the high standards we set.

Many of our bedrooms do feature air conditioning. Our reservations team will be able to book the right room for your requirements.

Please accept my apologies for the delay in drinks service on the al fresco terrace. I am pleased however the team were able to offer them to you on a complimentary basis given the delay. I am sorry that breakfast was a disappointment too. I have shared your feedback with the kitchen team.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you in your reservation.

We look forward to having the opportunity to restore your faith in our hospitality.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My partner and I have spent a wonderful weekend at the hotel celebrating a family members birthday. We were blown away by the service, menu and accommodation.

We stayed in the Standen Wood room which is situated on the lower ground floor. The suite was spacious and immaculately presented. The bathroom had two baths and a fabulous walk in shower, which was huge.

The only slight disappointment was the lack of a pool - but it's a small gripe in light of the wonderfully high standard of accommodation and service the hotel offers.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emlynbysea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Emlynbysea3,

The team and I are thrilled you enjoyed a wonderful weekend away at South Lodge. Thank you for visiting and for posting your review.

It is lovely to read about your fabulous junior suite, the food you enjoyed whilst with us, as well as the high levels of service.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
10.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
22.5 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Property: South Lodge Hotel
Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel West Sussex/Lower Beeding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing