We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely”
Review of Arundel Holt Court

Arundel Holt Court
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arundel Holt Court
Ranked #11 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed for just one night and enjoyed every minute. The place itself is stunning and its very scenic, as are the surroundings.

The owners and their daughter were so friendly and helpful and made our stay very pleasant.

We wholeheartedly recommend this place. Breakfast was brilliant too - very tasty.

Room Tip: Low ceilings at top of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayPen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Lovely house & grounds but 85 pounds stg per room per night with a SHARED bathroom is not on for an unrated B&B.The owners do not believe in Visit Britain or AA ratings... too many rules and regulations!
Suspect the price we paid had more to do with Goodwood Revival ( but it had finished that day).
I don't like sharing a bathroom and will tolerate a private one..but there is no mention of sharing a bathroom on the website and no mention at the time of booking!We were told the available room had a private bathroom though!
Hosts were friendly & obliging and the room was comfortable but it is amazing how a little annoyance can be so irritating - being economical with the truth is a bad business decision.It is far better to under sell and over deliver ... otherwise the guests find themselves looking for more reasons to write a bad review!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here at the weekend for a friend's wedding nearby. This B&B is amazing, a beautiful house, stunning bedrooms with beautiful views and really friendly hosts. Delicious breakfast also.

Thank you for a great stay, we will certainly recommend you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed for the weekend of our son's Wedding, the reception being at her family home a few hundred yards away. Rooms spotless, breakfast faultless; Peter, joined by Monique at weekends, the perfect host.

On the friday night before the wedding, we went for a quiet dinner with my son, his best man, our daughter, and two friends. We had a lovely meal at got back at 11.00pm

'Nightcap?' said Peter, 'Why not' said the boys. Peter was found asleep on the sofa by Monique in the morning, having not made it to bed, and our son and his best man woke with three dogs asleep in their bedroom.! An empty bottle of Ballantines was later discovered.

Still, a quick dip in the immaculate pool first thing, and we all got to the Church on Time.

Well done Peter - we all had a great stay, and will return - who knows, maybe for a Christening!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

A gem of a B&B, tucked away in the heart of rural Sussex, and named after the oldest beech forest in the country (Arundel Holt). Don’t look for the village of Bedham – there isn’t one, it’s just a scattering of houses hidden off leafy lanes. The house and garden feel blissfully isolated yet Petworth, with its abundance of antique shops and National Trust run Petworth House and Gardens, is less than 10 minutes away by car. On arrival at the B&B you’ll get a warm welcome from Pete and his menagerie of westies (‘the welcoming committee’ as he calls them). Full of bonhomie and highly entertaining, Pete runs the place during the week, and is joined by his wife Monique (who works in London) at the weekends. Bedrooms are fresh and contemporary, equipped with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, including fresh milk and filtered water. Breakfasts are to die for: eggs from their own hens, locally-sourced bacon and sausages, coffee grounded and roasted by ‘the Wednesday gardener’. You sit at a handsome mahogany table overlooked by Pete and Monique’s ancestors. Specialities of the house include scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on a toasted muffin or French toast and maple syrup. Nothing is too much trouble for affable Pete. I was staying with my 91 year old mother, who loves a game of scrabble in the early evening. I asked if by chance he had a board but he went one better and produced an Ipad. My mother (who at her grand age is not surprisingly computer illiterate) took to it like a duck to water and quickly learnt to drag the letters across the board! Pete is a mine of information on the local area and will be only too pleased to help you plan the day. He’s also very flexible – two other B&Bs in the area said we couldn’t arrive until 5.30pm and had to be out all day – not ideal when you have a nonagenarian in tow. Not a bit of it here. We were just given and key and came and went as we pleased.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We have just got married at Bartholomew Barn in Kirdford and randomly chose to stay here for the weekend. My wife-to-be stayed with family in Arundel on friday night while I stayed at this great B & B with my Best Man and usher. From the moment we got there they made us feel incredibly welcome as if we were part of their lovely family. Prior to arriving they had told us they had three dogs and would be more than happy to look after our little dog for us on our wedding day. I cannot tell you what a relief it was to leave Molly with them rather than have to put her in a kennels where we would have been worrying about her. Despite it being late Pete greeted my wife and I after our wedding day, offering us tea and coffee. The room was beautiful, spacious and clean. They had placed two roses on our pillow and a congratulations card on our bed!!

I went for a long walk with Monique in the stunning scenery surrounding their B & B on both mornings and she helped to calm any pre-wedding nerves. She went above and beyond by offering to take a few snaps of us boys getting ready as our professional photographer had gone to my wife's hotel in Arundel. Mon also took a few of us the morning after when we were playing with our dog in their very well tended garden. At the end of our trip they saved these onto our USB stick for us to take home.

The cooked breakfast is to die for with homemade preserves and plenty of food. He made us each a bespoke brekkie catering for my vegetarian wife (!) with consumate ease. Although 'green eggs' don't sound all that tasty I hear that scrambled eggs, pesto and goats cheese are in fact delicious!

So, in summary.....we can't believe how lucky we were to pick Arundel Holt Court. We have mentioned only a few of the more obvious ways that they helped to make our stay so pleasurable. They truly went above and beyond and although I can't say we have tried any of the other B & B's in the area I think it was a complete bargain. You just can't get better service. We plan to go back on our wedding anniversary!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed here for a friends wedding nearby and wished we could have made better use of the beautiful house, gardens and room. Peter was the perfect host, his family were lovely and we couldn't fault anything about the stay, its in such a great location and offers everything you'd want for a country retreat!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouliHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
7.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
139 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 17 in Petworth
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
533 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stonemasons Inn
The Stonemasons Inn
#9 of 17 in Petworth
69 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Halfway Bridge
The Halfway Bridge
#3 of 17 in Petworth
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundel Holt Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel Holt Court

Property: Arundel Holt Court
Address: Arundel Holt Court Wakestone Lane | Bedham, Petworth RH20 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arundel Holt Court is a large family home on the hills between Petworth, Pulborough, Billingshurst, Fittleworth and Wisborough Green. Bedham is an excellent base for exploring West Sussex, especially walking or cycling. We are sure that you will enjoy your stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Arundel Holt Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Holt Court Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing