We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of luxury in a lovely village”
Review of Willow Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Willow Barns
Ranked #8 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We spent one night at Willow Barns last week and loved the beautiful decor. Huge comfy bed, lovely en-suite bathroom and a delicious breakfast the next morning. This place is a must if you are in the area. Very friendly owner too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxembourgWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed for two nights at the "Barns".
Welcomed by Amanda on our arrival - and then left to ourselves, with our beautiful room opening onto the courtyard.
Wonderful walks in the South Downs during the day, evening meals at great hostelries recommended by Amanda, and excellent breakfasts that we chose to take in the courtyard.

Just what we wanted for our "get away weekend"!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianR_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We were looking for last minute self catering and failed to get anywhere but were incredibly lucky to fine Willow Barns which really is a luxury B&B. We stayed five nights Mon-Fri and were the only guests which meant we had the run of the place.

There are five rooms, all with their own front door, plus a dining room which all guests are welcome to use at any time and where you can get fresh milk and cake!

Amanda & Wendy who run the place are delightful and were happy to provide anything for breakfast we fancied. Lovely fresh fruit salads for breakfast, juices, homemade jam. We were lucky with the weather and had breakfast in the courtyard garden. Lovely.

The rooms are beautifully decorated. Our room had a double aspect over fields and was very quiet - just a few cows lowing outside! We chose a room with a large walk-in shower. The who place is immaculate and there are lots of 'extras' for added comfort. (Could perhaps do with a towel rail or hook to hang the lovely dressing gowns or a towel, somewhere near the shower, but that's just a minor niggle.)

Can't recommend Willow Barns highly enough. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room away from the pub may be even quieter. Room 3 was fab with double aspect over fields and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillinhamptonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A beautiful setting at the foot of the South Downs, surrounded with fields and cows and one pub nearby which serves excellent meals at reasonable prices. The room was very comfortable with everything we needed and the breakfast were delicious. The owners were so warm and welcoming and really went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. A wonderful find, which we would definitely recommend and we hope to return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for two nights, but wished we could of stayed all week! A warm welcome on arrival. A beautiful, immaculate room. Huge bed, deep bath, fluffy white towels and gorgeous smelling toiletries. Breakfast is served in the small, but perfectly formed dining room. I can imagine, if you give the ladies notice, they will source you whatever your hearts desire. I had veggie sausages, there was Gluten free bread, fresh berries, yoghurt, cereal, and homemade chocolate brownies. We were here for a wedding so didn't have time for the endless array of country walks available, so we will just have to come back and stay again! :)

Room Tip: We had Room 1. No walk in shower, but large bath with shower attachment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Willow Barns is very much off the beaten track.....set in rolling fields, pheasants and cows meandering by the windows.....but at the same time much in the centre of things like Petworth and Goodwood and Chichester.
The buildings are new. But don't be put off. On the contrary!! Everything is perfectly planned and arranged. All details are seen to...umbrellas just in case, coat hooks at the door, generous cupboards, tea and coffee things and a cake tin in the breakfast room..yours to plunder filled with home baked goodies. And underfloor heating!!
The breakfast is sublime. Lovely fresh berries and fruits, the full English and everything inbetween. Wendy who orchestrates all of this is efficient to a fault. Helpful with tourist tips and best pub recommendations....
Only trouble was that it rained and rained and rained...but this no fault of Willow Barns.

Room Tip: Three of the rooms overlook the downs and these are preferable to the other two which face the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Should have reviewed this last year, as I stayed in October, after a function in nearby Duncton.
The room was well furnished and very comfortable and the welcome - and breakfast, great.
If I were going to the function again this year, I'd stay again.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andylisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
3.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Halfway Bridge
The Halfway Bridge
#3 of 17 in Petworth
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 17 in Petworth
171 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
567 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Stonemasons Inn
The Stonemasons Inn
#7 of 17 in Petworth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Barns

Address: Heyshott Rd | Graffham, Petworth GU28 0NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range: £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Willow Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Barns lies in a peaceful location under the South Downs, on the edge of the village of Graffham. We have the added convenience of being located behind our own pub. Graffham is within the new South Downs National Park, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, very close to Goodwood and Cowdray park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willow Barns Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing