We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxed lunch”
Review of The Leconfield

The Leconfield
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$63
Cuisines: British, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth. Head chef Paul Welburn has brought his Michelin star cooking to the countryside.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed lunch”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Having dined previously in the garden of the Leconfield we were keen to return to experience the whole shebang over a long and lazy lunch. No dissapointments. They were happy to mix and match from the set menu and a la carte. My companion ordered her steak medium rare, it arrived medium well, but was so tasty that she was not minded to send it back. We requested long gaps between courses and this was adhered to. We were the last people to leave and yet never felt pressured to do so. A really lovely dining experience. Thanks to the chef and staff for super food and great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AimeSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review on The Leconfield Restaurant. We are glad that you had an enjoyable meal with us and felt the food and service were up to a good standard.
We hope to see you dining with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    58
    33
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the Petworth Area”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Interesting menus and well presented dishes set this restaurant apart from the plethora of very good local pubs. Not obscenely expensive given the quality. Lunch menu is more limited but excellent - and good value. Lovely private rooms upstairs for parties but sadly they've introduced an eye-watering room hire charge which makes the cost prohibitive. The restaurant got off to a bad start and had some difficult licensing issues which still mean drinks cannot be served after 11.00 pm, and attracted some duff reviews but its now much improved and anyone who was put off should give them another chance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Leconfield. We are pleased that to hear that you feel we are the best in the area and that we serve quality food for good value for money.
The 11pm licensing that we have for serving alcohol is similar to other pubs and restaurants in the area, however, if you order drinks before this time we still allow customers to drink past 11pm until we close.
The room hire charges have been put in place for the private dining rooms upstairs, and we feel that the prices are competitive compared to other restaurants/ pubs that are offering private dining rooms in the surrounding areas.
We hope to see you dining with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Terrific Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We've been in the area for three years and always wanted to visit the Leconfield, but never had the correct opportunity to do so. We had a bit of a celebration today and it seemed like the right place for Sunday lunch. We were not disappointed - excellent food combined with faultless service (the roast beef is highly recommended) always make for a good review. The kids were accommodated very well - the kids fish and chips was particularly good. The wine list was pretty good - we polished off an excellent Argentinian Malbec. Would love to return for an evening meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anguseitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for the positive review on your dining experience at The Leconfield Restaurant.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and felt that service and food were "faultless".
We look forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chiltington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't be late!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Have always fancied trying this restaurant for a while now. Finally got a chance yesterday to be told by the waitress"Sorry, its 14:32, we stop food at two thirty".
If I were the Manager there I'd go bonkers. That was a £70 income you just let walk out the door.
Shame on you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestChiltChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning food on a brilliant menu”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I stayed locally for a couple of nights and previously had tried to get in for a meal but alas they were booked up, this time we booked the table and were treated to a very good meal.

Ambiance is very calm and the restaurant I well appointed without being too overdone, simple good quality is the order of the day. Menu was well chosen with some very interesting interpretations of dishes that reflected an intelligent head chef who really knows his craft.

We selected three courses each and were delighted with the choice, the presentation and delightful taste. I have eaten in some Michelin star restaurants and the food here was comparable if the Leconfield added some fancy table linen and a more sophisticated service they would almost certainly be in line for a star. From my own point of view I would prefer the relaxed atmosphere and great food which is the reason for patronising a good restaurant.

Thank you Chef for a brilliant menu which we enjoyed immensely, we look forward to our next visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyHilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Leconfield Restaurant. We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal and thought the food was up to the standard of a Michelin restaurant. We hope you dine with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing