We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfied”
Review of The Leconfield

The Leconfield
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$64
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth. Head chef Paul Welburn has brought his Michelin star cooking to the countryside.
crawley
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“satisfied”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

!00 characters minimum for this review needed...i don't know why.All i can say is the cook can cook and cook well. In fact very well.Value for money?Well few things' offer value these day's.But i have paid as much elsewhere for a lot less in cooking ability,and a v helpful efficient staff who are pleasant and smiling.Go again?yes happily.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Leconfield, Supervisor Hollie Temple at The Leconfield, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review on The Leconfield Restaurant.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and thought we were good value for money for the quality of food and service that you received.
We hope to see you dining with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    61
    33
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visited for an anniversary meal whilst staying locally and had a great experience. The starters are expensive and main courses very reasonable. Dessert was heaven. Good wine list with a great choice of reasonably priced wines. The waiting staff were exceptional - friendly, informed and just the right level of attention. We were extremely impressed when the Restaurant Manager came to say good bye to us - really nice touch. Our only negative comment which applies to many restaurants - why sit couples opposite each other and on the edge of a doorway. We want to be closer together so we can have a conversation without shouting across the table above the noise - we were close to a table of six who whilst not overly loud did mean we felt our words getting lost.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YvieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Leconfield, Supervisor Hollie Temple at The Leconfield, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your dining experience at The Leconfield.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and thought that the service was also to a good standard.
If you would like to request a table in future, you can do so when you book your table over the phone. We would be happy to accommodate for you to sit at a table that is quieter or with different seating positions.
We hope to see you return to dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Richard Luca is the most warm and attentive Restaurant Manager I have ever met. His eye for detail regarding presentation towards both ambience and food is second to none. It is a wonderful experience to dine there and we love it. Thank you. Yours Jacky and Greville

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Leconfield. It is always great to know that we are pleasing our customers.
We hope to see you dining with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday dinner with family”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A perfect intimate 70th birthday dinner for 10 in the Woodcock room. delicious food, excellent wine and fabulous service. Thank you Leconfield ! Well worth the journey from Kent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Leconfield restaurant.
We are glad that you had an enjoyable time in one of our private dining rooms and are pleased to know that the food, service and wine were all up to your standards.
We look forward to you dining with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Fine Balance Achieved - well done Leconfield”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This restaurant has benefited enormously from the experience and charm of its manager, Richard Luna. The food and service were good before but now, with his deceptively calm yet firm leadership, the young staff are really good at presenting great food in a Michelin-style manner that relaxes you and makes the meal a real treat. This is a fabulous place for either lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgbkgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review on The Leconfield Restaurant.
We are so pleased that you felt the food and service were at excellent standards and that the dining experience was a "fine balance".
We look forward to you dining with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Tillington, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing