We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

The Hungry Guest Cafe
Ranked #18 of 26 Restaurants in Petworth
Price range: US$4 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Named by The Times as one of the 30 Best Places for Brunch in Britain in 2012 The Hungry Guest cafe, located in Lombard Street just off the main square in Petworth, offers a great menu to enjoy in a modern and beautifully designed environment.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited with two friends - staff seemed disinterested. No greeting. Had to request a menu each instead of sharing the one left on the table. Food arrived - my salad embellished with large, curling hair. Waitress apparently couldn't see it so took plate to counter where second member of staff announced it wasn't hers! Would have left there and then but others had started on their meal.

Meals not particularly good value. Dull atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryGuest, Manager at The Hungry Guest Cafe, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent visit. It is really disappointing that you did not have a great experience, for which I am truly sorry. We keep our kitchen standards extremely high and adhere to the strictest Food Hygiene Standards throughout our cafe. Post your visit we have re-visited our systems and will now implement the wearing of hats in the kitchen for the preparation of food.
Our team are such a hard working and customer focused lot that I am really surprised that they didn't handle this better. They have advised me that the dish was changed for another, although this does not help if your fellow diners had finished. We have such a lot of lovely things said about our new team on our comments cards I'm sure if you did return you would find a warm welcome and good food waiting for you.

Kirstie Peachey
Cafe Manager Designate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    66
    39
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Went to the Hungry Guest for breakfast yesterday. Very nicely cooked, scrambled egg and bacon on sour dough bread. Excellent coffee, and very nice friendly staff.
Big breakfasts if you want them, with sausage, mushrooms, bacon, eggs and tomato!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deirdre c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryGuest, Manager at The Hungry Guest Cafe, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review of our Hungry Guest Cafe, it really means a lot to us that our customers are enjoying their experiences in the cafe. The breakfast's are very popular, especially on the weekend when they slide into brunch time! All our sausages are made by our butchers in our shop at Petworth and our bacon is smoked in-house too. Our eggs are free-range and local and soft, scrambled and the star of the show is always our sourdough bread sliced and toasted. We have all been doing some coffee training this month too so come back and see if we have got any better. Thanks again.

Kirstie Peachey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Brownies ..”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

After a morning out walking a friend and I opted for a light meal at The Hungry Guest.
As it was a bank holiday they were only serving food for 'Sunday' hours and luckily we got in just in time.
We both had the savoury tart, potatoes and salad. Tasty, fresh and served with a smile.
Now I'm aware of how good the Brownies here are so we followed up with brownies and ice cream....and left utterly stuffed!
Fab cafe with a nice view of the square and small courtyard garden. If you can do visit the shop just round the corner too...it has the most amazing selection of tasty bits and it's own cheese room.

Helpful?
Thank 1950sbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryGuest, Manager at The Hungry Guest Cafe, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank so much for your lovely review of The Hungry Guest Cafe, we do pride ourselves on our brownies and they are becoming famous around Sussex! We open until 5pm on a Sunday due to planning restrictions but do serve food up until the time we close. I hope you have many more positive experiences with us and we keep smiling whilst we serve our great food.

Kirstie Peachey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Just the job after a browse around Petworth”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Very good tasting creamy flat white coffee and excellent open sandwich of mozzarella, tomatoes and pesto with salad leaves. Friend's Greek salad looked very good too. Would have preferred a plate than a plank which is always a bit awkward although attractive. A hum rather than a buzz of fellow diners. Fairly plain interior with garden outside. High stools in window were surprisingly comfortable and easy place for getting attention of staff. Very friendly Italian waitress. Their deli elsewhere in Petworth with cheese room and artisan breads is a must!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Parker-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryGuest, Manager at The Hungry Guest Cafe, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review and it is really good to know you liked our cafe when you visited us. You can always request a plate for the open sandwiches, we find some prefer the wooden boards and some customers find them awkward to keep the food on. Our new Front of House staff are settling in really well and doing a fantastic job at making everyone feel welcome. Please do come back and try something else form the menu. We are changing a few things in April so there will be lots of new things to tempt you.

Kirstie Peachey
Cafe Manager Delegate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawley
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“o.k.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My burger Cost £9.00.It was O.K.....V good? No. Not good? No....it was O.K. And i judge them by their own criteria.their own stated standards.If i had wanted fries that was another £2.00.Or was it £3.00, because the menu is a little confusing.Judged by that meal,my view is that the cafe is ordinary.It may be that other dishes are v good.I don't know.It does not live up to it's deli shop.The deli is exceptional on quality and range,which makes the cafe more disappointing because of it's association.To make a direct comparison with another near outlet.Several time's i have eaten a burger at the Cowdray cafe.£9.75 cost including fries and an altogether better burger and value.The staff at the Hungary guest were helpful and friendly.Nice people.Happy to return for afternoon tea...but better value for lunch,based on this experience,elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryGuest, Manager at The Hungry Guest Cafe, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Firstly I would like to say that its such a shame for us that you came to our cafe in Petworth and didn't have an amazing time. I also believe you weren't charged properly as the price includes fries for our burgers. Skinny fries on the menu are priced at £3 but if you add them to an open sandwich they reduce in price to £2, this is to try and give our customers more value for money.
The good news is we are re-launching a new menu and we have been blind tasting burgers today that will sit proudly in the centre of this menu and give flavour, provenance and value for money through portion size and extras. All our burger buns are made at our bakery on the outskirts of the Goodwood estate, our burgers are made from minced steak from our butchers at our shop in Petworth, who in turn get them from a good local supplier. We are looking at a bigger patty and some extra sides with the burger and will keep its price of £9.50 including fries.
I am glad you found our staff friendly and helpful and the coffee and ambiance to your liking. We are foodies though and really try to be all about the food so please do come back and give us another try in April and hopefully we will exceed your expectations. Please make yourself known to us and we can also sort out the discrepancy on your fries from last time.
Kirstie Peachey
Cafe Manager Designate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hungry Guest Cafe also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Hungry Guest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing