We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds”

Petworth House and Park
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step inside the imposing 17th-century mansion and discover a treasure house filled with an internationally important art and sculpture collection.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The National Trust seem to be missing the point of visiting Historic Houses. The last thing you want to see on entering a property is signs of decay but that is exactly what greets you at Petworth-chipped radiators and doors, not to mention very chipped porcelain on display. I am sure the paintings and sculptures are all very well but when you have seen one Turner you have seem them all. And I thought Fuseli was a type of pasta not a famous artist! One cannot imagine anyone actually living in the House. Especially as the kitchens are in a completely different building across the way. The food must have been stone cold before it was served.
However, the grounds were spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed the walk to the House from the car park. Might have been a different proposition if it was raining and the wind blowing. We also enjoyed sitting outside having a drink but the coffee was very thin and never tastes good out of a paper cup.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
I am glad you enjoyed exploring our Pleasure Grounds and Park, you visited at just the right time to see the spring flowers in bloom. I would like to try and explain about the paintwork and porcelain that you mention in your review. Interestingly an historic paint finish can be just as important and relevant as the paintings that are hanging on the walls, the techniques, shades and mediums used are worth preserving and appreciating for the future. A number of the pieces of porcelain in our collection have, way back in the past been damaged and repaired, yet kept and treasured. We don't believe that items of such decorative quality and historical relevance should be discarded simply because they have a crack or repair. It's often difficult for us to explain to our visitors why things are the way they are, thank you for highlighting two interesting topics of conversation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    328
    126
    38
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Below Expectations”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have been a member of the National Trust for nearly a year now and in that time have visited some wonderful properties. Petworth House however, in my opinion, fell below expectations and I was not impressed by the property at all. I found the house to be average but the art collection was in a dark gallery which needs better lighting to view the priceless paintings by Turner etc which were in dire need of a clean! So much more could be done with this property so I won't bother revisiting Petworth House again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank echomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
I'm sorry you were disappointed by your visit, however I hope you will be interested to hear that following an extensive programme of fund raising we will be installing a new lighting system so that many of the paintings will be much better lit. There is also good news that all of the paintings in our collection are part of a carefully considered programme of restoration, however as it is one of the largest collections in the care of the National Trust it will take some time and considerable expense.
I hope you will consider visiting us again and take advantage of sharing the knowledge of our Room Guides who can "shed some light" on the collection and it's condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hardly Fine Dining”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

NT web site offers: 'Fine dining in the Audit Room Restaurant'. In fact it is a cramped glorified coffee shop and self service cafeteria with wooden chairs and tables serving the usual NT fare of sausage and mash, chilli, shepherds pie, baked spuds and the like! The food's OK but nothing special and expensive, hardly 'fine dining'! The coffee shop in the same building is small but comfortable and, unlike many other NT properties, serves excellent coffee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dandms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review, you have highlighted an issue that we were unaware of, few of us on property had noticed the very small text of which you speak under the image of the Audit Room. Unfortunately we are unsure where this originated from, we pride ourselves on offering good seasonal food, using local ingredients and recipes chosen centrally by the National Trust Team, we would be foolish to describe this as "fine dining". Your review has helped us to ensure we look more closely at the text attached to images on our website.
We are glad you enjoyed the coffee we think it's rather good too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“So much to see and do”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great time here this morning! I think it needs a good three or four visits to truly take it all in, but the first was very enjoyable. The rooms are impeccably well kept and the vast array of treasures will keep you enthused all day. Particular highlights were a fifteenth century Canterbury Tales and the earliest British globe in existence. Go and see!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BiscansBiscuitTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Petworth House and Gardens”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Only just joined trip advisor to leave feedback on a hotel, but could not pass the opportunity to just say how much we enjoyed our trip to Petworth House and gardens. We have now joined the national trust as a result of this trip and can't wait to get out and see more of there great attractions. The deer park in from of the house should not be missed it is breath taking.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petworth House and Park also viewed

 

Been to Petworth House and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing