We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub and accomodation near to Goodwood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badgers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Badgers
Ranked #5 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great pub and accomodation near to Goodwood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Quirky, friendly pub on main A285 to Chichester, minutes from Goodwood. Arrived late on a Saturday evening, were welcomed warmly and shown to a delightful room. Wide choice of dishes for Dinner, served in the main pub bar area, surrounded by artwork and interesting artefacts. We slept well in comfortable, generous sized bed and were then treated to an honest well cooked and good quality full English breakfast, cooked and served by the owner. Thoroughly recommended as a base for activities in West Sussex, looking forward to going back ourselves.

Room Tip: Enjoy the personality of this friendly place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peteratsylvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    35
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
55
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

On arrival I was concerned as it is first of all a pub, and in the sort of location where monopolised by the locals. On entering I was proved completely wrong, the bar was busy but the staff quickly attended to me and showed me to my room. The room was as you would expect in an older property but clean warm and comfortable. Back down it the bar the food and service where excellent, I found a quiet corner and was able to eat in peace, by the time I had elated the pub was empty, but I did not feel rushed by the staff to finish and leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We booked the Badgers for a single Monday night stay between day trips in Arundel and Petworth. Badgers is a country pub with accomadation and a restaurant.
We arrived early evening and found that we had plenty of room to park at the front of the pub, though there is a car park at the side that we missed because it was very dark. We checked in and were shown to our room, The Rother, at the front of the building above the bar, overlooking the road and fields. Our room was pleasantly decorated, with a kingsize bed, fitted wardrobe (with padded hangers, mini-safe, hairdryer, iron + board and what appeared to be a rifle safe. Game shooting I suppose), dressing table, TV, fridge (containing fresh milk, orange juice etc), tea+coffee, kettle, mugs+glasses, biscuits, bed side cupboards, radio, chair and stool. The large bathroom had a lovely big bath with hand-held shower head, 3 mirrors, toilet, large sink, very efficient towel radiator and plenty of walking/drying space between everything. This was all nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom floor sloped from all corners, converging down to the door, which we found amusing and obviously a character of the historic building. The tapered skirting boards and curved planking appeared to be an engineering necessity to keep the bathroom suite level, quite funny. We both enjoyed the plentiful hot water to have a soak in the luxurious bath, which was so welcome after a tiring day. The complimentary toiletries were handy also.
We ordered some tapas dishes in the pub/restaurant for our supper where we sat at a comfortable table near the open fire which made us grateful to be in the cosy warmth on a cold December evening. Good customer service from the staff who were prompt and polite. The white bait was melt-in-the-mouth delicious, salt'n'pepper squid, tasty, potatoskins were very thin strips of jacket style skin, unusual but quite pleasant with cheese and spring onion and the mediteranean breads with butter, olives and houmous were scrumptious. All in all perfect comfort food for two winter travellers with the munchies. The price was reasonable too. All washed down with local ale.
I slept well, finding the bed firm but comfortable, with nice bed linen. The heating in the room could be controlled yourself at the rad thermostat. I wasn't disturbed by the noise of customers in the bar downstairs, though they could be heard.
In the morning the traffic noise through the single glazed sash windows at the front of Badgers was fairly constant on a Tuesday morning, so guests who wanted to really sleep-in may find it a challenge.
Plenty of hot water again for a morning bath.
We ordered breakfast for 9 and were seated immediately by a very friendly female staff member. We were offered the standard choices of tea/coffee/cereals/juices/full english breakfast or cooked variations and plumped for cereals followed by poached eggs on toast. The food and drink was all hot and plentiful and well cooked. Service provided with polite smile and conversation. Even Merlin the dog was polite and never begged for scraps.
Very good service in comfortable surroundings with good food and drink at reasonable prices.
We shall call again, thanks Badgers!

Room Tip: The Rother room at the front has a large, well lit bathroom with a welcoming bath that can be happil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonScoutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night for a friends wedding nearby and we had a lovely stay. Before we'd even arrived they had kindly arranged a taxi to pick us up and take us to the venue. Upon stumbling home, we were invited to stay up for a nightcap with the proprietors (whose names I'm afraid escape me).

The room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfy! If I had one criticism, it was that the shower in the en suite was very disappointing. There was the option of a bath, but I am a shower person and unfortunately it was more of a dribble than a shower.

Breakfast was lovely- I just wish I had been feeling less delicate so I could enjoy it more! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karikari1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

My father and I have just returned from a one night stay at Badgers and it was excellent from start to finish. The landlady and her staff could not be more welcoming. The rooms were big and airy, well equipped and very clean. The breakfast was superb and defintely set us up for the day. It was freshly cooked at a time to suit us. We did not eat on the restaurant but hope to find an excuse to return and do just that. Highly recommended and very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nearlydutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Badgers for a 2 night weekend break in March. The staff were very welcoming, friendly at all times and happy to chat which made for a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The food was great, especially the tapas lunch on the terrace in the sunshine! The Mill Room was very cosy and tastefully decorated. Petworth, just a mile up the road, is a must to visit and you shouldn't miss a visit to Petworth House and grounds. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable weekend and one which we wouldn't hesitate to do again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed at Badgers in March this year and it was a wonderful experience. We were made very welcome on arrival. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was lively and friendly. The homemade soda bread for breakfast is a must. We are returning to stay at New Year and can't wait.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bloggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
5.5 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stonemasons Inn
The Stonemasons Inn
#10 of 17 in Petworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers

Property: Badgers
Address: Station Road, Petworth GU28 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Badgers pub is situated just outside the historic market town of Petworth. It is set in the heart of the beautiful West Sussex countryside and nestled close under the South Downs. Badgers is a privately owned free house with accommodation. Badgers is run by Jules Arlette, the proprietor, along with her hard working and friendly staff. As well as a fine restaurant, there are three double rooms for those wishing to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Badgers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badgers Hotel Petworth
Badgers Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing