We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't stop telling our friends how good it was!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halfway Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Halfway Bridge
Ranked #3 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't stop telling our friends how good it was!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had to take a 3 day break during a period of very wet and windy weather. Not the ideal time of year to venture out but our stay at the Halfway Bridge turned into a delight.

Room 6 had everything you could wish for in terms of comfort and style. Originally we thought that we would not bother to eat "in house" on all the 3 evenings, but after our first meal we changed our minds and looked forward to every day and what new joy it would bring us! The evening menu is quite wide ranging and there was always a new something on the Specials Board just to widen the choice. The staff all gave the impression that they enjoyed their work and wanted to ensure that nothing was ever too much trouble. The restaurant is split up into small cosy areas, so you do not feel that you are eating in a barn, which just adds to the impression that you are somewhere special.

It was noticeable that every evening there were "local" people either drinking at the bar, having a bar meal or in the reastaurant. Clearly if you live nearby, you know that this is the place to go to and are happy to visit on a cold, wet and windy January evening. That observation says everything necessary about the Halfway Bridge!

Room Tip: Room 6 has one wall made of glass looking out on to a wood and open countryside. This makes the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyWendyPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    36
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
102
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed last Saturday night. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. Lovely comfortable room. The food in the restaurant was good if a little over priced. The breakfast was lovely. A really special find.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choosy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We visited the Halfway Bridge for a two-night getaway immediately after our wedding (so, a sort of pre-Honeymoon if you will). Upon arrival we were greeted by a very cheerful manageress from Canada and given the key to our room which was a suite located a few yards away in a separate building. The building which comprised the suite and other rooms was an old stables with its own courtyard and very peaceful with a good amount of seclusion to add to the restful ambience. It's probably worth noting that when staying there you are given a wind-up torch as it is a very dark pathway between the pub and the stables so some illumination is needed! It is very much rural in its location so be prepared to either do a lot of walking through fields (if not relaxing in your room/suite and listening to birdsong) and along footpaths and bridleways or travel should you wish to explore the wider area.

Our suite was very well decorated and very spacious, making use of original features where possible and complementing them with lots of glass on the courtyard side to bring light in as well as high quality fixtures and fittings. The only issue we had was with the heating in the bedroom - there was an incessant clanging throughout our second night which interrupted our sleep quite severely. We mentioned it on checkout and hope that it is resolved the next time we stay there.

Food at the Halfway Bridge is very good, from our experience we would describe it as quality gastropub fare, so a bit beyond the usual establishments with illusions of grandeur but not the ability to carry it through but not out-and-out restaurant level. For the type of establishment and location, though, this works perfectly well. The wine list is worth a mention as it is quite extensive and well priced too.

Overall we would recommend this as both a good place to eat and drink and also one to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teuwsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I Took my husband for a meal here whilst staying in Petworth. The food was lovely the decor beautiful and very sympathetically "new" version of the lovely old building it is. I found the staff helpful, friendly and knowledgable and were obviously interested in making everyone's time there enjoyable. The batman was particularly knowledgable about the wines and went to great lengths to make sure you wee happy with your choice.
The restaurant is a lovely dining environment but if you wanted a less formal occasion the bar tables were also lovely. The food was interesting and a good choice of freshly prepared meals, not a hunters chicken in sight , thank god!!
It's always cosy to find a lovely roaring fire too!
We had a coffee and this was served with lovely Christmas pudding style truffles yum!!
Would definitely recommend and return if ever in the area again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrspjontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Agree with other reviewers that rooms are comfortable, and well maintained. For the price charged, we expected the room to have wow factor, but it didn't quite hit the spot: bed was short, and we are average height, there was only a shower over the bath, and no view to speak of, although the area was lovely. I think the view depends on which room you get, but our room was a superior. It was very peaceful and we were not disturbed by the traffic from the A road. The pub was full of character, and we were really looking forward to our meal; however we found the food okay but the prices very high for what was received. The service was friendly on the whole, but some long waits, and a few slips, like being on the phone for 10 minutes whilst serving our breakfast so that we had eaten our cooked breakfasts before receiving the sauce requested, and overcharged for a drink on the bill, and made to feel uncomfortable whilst querying this. The pub is clearly in an affluent area, but for us, we'd rather spend our money elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

A lovely gem in the countryside and a great find. Room was warm and comfortable, really helpful staff, nothing too much trouble. The restaurant offered a wide choice to suit all. I had tasty beer battered fish and chips washed down with a quality wine. Mmmmmm!!!! We'll worth a stay for a weekend. We will return to explore the local area.

Room Tip: All looked good but might choose the suite next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylizHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

i have been here twice this year and on both times for a sunday lunch. lovely, warming, old english country pub which i think was on the original dover to winchester route. the menu is varied and suitably country english in choice of all courses, though with a modern twist. the food has been well cooked and served by attentive waitresses who have been well trained (though I have read other reviewers comments on this point!). the prices are reasonable for a south of england up-market country pub for all food and drinks here. recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
2.8 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 17 in Petworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Stonemasons Inn
The Stonemasons Inn
#10 of 17 in Petworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halfway Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halfway Bridge

Property: The Halfway Bridge
Address: Halfway Bridge | Lodsworth, South Downs National Park, Petworth GU28 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halfway Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cleverly styled mix of restful shades, contemporary furnishings and quirky original features, our suite's decadent bathroom even allows you to watch a movie while you soak! With emphasis on boutique detail and maximum comfort, cafetieres with our own house blend of coffee and locally produced organic toiletries are indulgent finishing touches. For those quiet nights in each room comes equipped with flat screen Freeview TV and CD players. Some rooms also contain DVD players and a small selection of complimentary DVDs is available. Exclusive booking of Cowdray Barns can be arranged for corporate use, wedding parties or artistic retreats. Please contact us for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Halfway Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halfway Bridge Hotel Petworth
The Halfway Bridge Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing