We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal for my birthday”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was my Birthday today and we decided to visit Petworth House then have lunch. After consulting Trip advisor we decided on the Angel Inn and are very glad we did. From the moment we arrived the staff were very attentive. My Husband had the Crab cakes to start which were delicious. He then went on to have the Turkey escalope special (which he loved) and I had the Lamb Steak. I was a little concerned that I was not asked how I wanted the Lamb cooked but I needn't have worried. It was cooked perfectly pink and tasted wonderful. I went on to have the 3 chocolate Mousse. This was very rich (if I am honest a little too rich for me , but I got what I ordered and it was lovely).
Overall we had a great meal in very pleasant surroundings with polite and attentive staff. As we live in Portsmouth it is unlikely we will return, but if we are ever looking to eat in Petworth again, we would not hesitate to return to the Angel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank holidayjunkie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our family have just stayed in several rooms here before our daughter's wedding. What a lovely place. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, accommodating and friendly, and the rooms themselves were beautiful - very quaint with lots of old beams, four poster beds and floors that were on a slight slope. The bathrooms were all lovely, especially in our daughter's room, which had a sunken bath. All of the beds were very comfortable, and ther4e were TVs and tea making facilities. We also had dinner in the restaurant, and what a treat! There were 10 of us, but the food was not only first class, but served with no delays, even though the restaurant was full. I would definitely recommend the Angel Inn to anyone wanting to stay in a traditional, very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I don't often eat out in Petworth. Especially lunchtime. Last week I had a hankering for steak and knew the only place to get one was The Angel.
Well done Chef. Superb ribeye ,cooked rare, to perfection with all the trimmings plus béarnaise sauce. One happy diner indeed.
It's not difficult to get right and I'm glad there are places nearby that know how! Thank You.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billyburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The original English inn, with a splash of luxury! A lovely olde world inn situated in the centre of this lovely rural town, the rooms are reached via a steep, narrow stairway, so not suitable for those with mobility issues. However, for the rest of us, the stairs, uneven floors and low beams of the accommodation never let the guest forget that they are staying in a piece of English history. That's not to say that it is devoid of all mod-cons! Quite the opposite. Spotlessly clean, four poster bed, TV, tea making facilities, toilet and shower, all IMMACULATELY presented. A little noise could be heard from downstairs during the first part of the evening, but I viewed that as a positive - this is after all a working English inn! All was quiet after 11pm.
Excellent choice of hot or cold breakfasts - I chose the full English and didn't regret it - and a bigger choice of different fruit juices that I think I've ever seen before.
Full marks to the Angel, it's management, and staff.

Room Tip: Room 2 had the four poster!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

What a lovely place to stay! Our room was up some of the smallest stairs I have encountered in my life and in the eaves of the pub. Which sounds awful, but it was amazing. If you are looking for quaint, look no further! However, the bathroom was well appointed and modern. The beer garden at the rear is a lovely sun trap and my husband enthused about the real ale from the barrel.
Dinner was excellent and it was obvious that many of the diners were local. Always a good sign!
Breakfast was cooked to order, speedily, and the food was excellent. Definitely a 10/10 for this pub/inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I live in Petworth and know from what i see and here this is the most popular places in the area.
The staff and food are great and it has a nice atmosphere. I would always recommend it to any visitors. They always tell you to go where the locals go and this is where they go.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at the Angel Inn in Petworth after a wedding in the area and we had a wonderful stay. The bed in our room was extremely comfortable and the bathroom very high tech! The staff very very helpful and gave great recommendations for dinner when the restaurant downstairs was full. I would definately go again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
5.7 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
283 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Stonemasons Inn
The Stonemasons Inn
#5 of 17 in Petworth
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Halfway Bridge
The Halfway Bridge
#3 of 17 in Petworth
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Welldiggers Arms
The Welldiggers Arms
#4 of 17 in Petworth
51 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Angel Street, Petworth GU28 0BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range: £97 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently totally refurbished pub, which serves reasonably priced very good food and drinks. All dishes are made on the premises using the best ingredients. It has six letting bedrooms all en-suite with baths or showers. There is a beautiful beer garden out at the back of the premises. The car park (limited space) is opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Petworth
The Angel Inn Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing