We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Found this great pub in the Good Beer Guide, which I know pubs cannot buy and entry to, so I expected great real ale and was not disappointed. It was early Sunday evening and the place wasn't very busy, but there's plenty of tables and a good layout if you don't want to sit on top of people. The food is excellent and the staff were very friendly, even taking the time to pop over to the table to chat about real ale when they were quiet. The toilets are immaculate and the pub is very well looked after. Small car park opposite. Will definitely visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnacle_Bill_Stoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    46
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
68
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have known the Angel Inn for many years. It has had good and sometimes awful tenants.
The relatively new owners have remodelled the building inside. It is warm, welcoming, food is excellent and not overpriced. There is a large bar with beer kept in very good condition.
The whole place attracts people of all echelons and there will always be someone to talk to.
Staff are very good attentive but not over the top (when, on occasions, I have been asked more that 3 times-'are you OK, or are you enjoying my meal') my reply is usually if I wasn't I wouldn't be sitting here now!!!. Great Hotel come pub. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolmo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Spent 2 nights in Room 1 for our annual visit to Goodwood racing. Really enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Large king size bed was excellent. Gowns supplied and a good (if quirky) wardrobe. Bedroom was airy and whilst directly onto the road we hardly noticed any noise. Bathroom was excellent also with good power shower (and I mean power) Lights automatically switched on as you entered the stairs and all public areas were as clean and inviting as the room.
Had planned to eat out on our second night but after enjoying the first nights meal we decided to stay in both nights. Good quality wines by the glass and overall a good value stay. Cooked breakfast was as good as you can get. Freshly prepared in every aspect - and up to the standards of dinner. Also nice to be able to sit out for a drink in their large garden at the rear. Ample car parking opposite.

Room Tip: Room 1 large with excellent power shower and large bath. Most expensive but probably worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Meath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights & wouldnt fault a thing. The staff were very attentive & helpfull. The food was excellent & the location was perfect for exploring the town & Petworth house. We would highly recommend The Angle Inn to anyone looking to stay in this locality.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catchtobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisborough Green, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I ate here last night with 4 of my friends and the service and the food were excellent. I had the lamb and it was cooked perfectly. i cant praise it enough! The Angel is really nicely decorated and has a really lovely garden. i will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent 3 nights here with our two dogs. Very welcoming and a very easy space to be in with our dogs. A nice spacious room and good food and beer. Also fields very close by to walk dogs. Nice garden to sit in and friendly staff who made an effort to br welcoming

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Characterful old coaching inn, well refurbished by current owners, combining old world character and modern facilities. Lovely walled garden area to the rear. Excellent food, comfortable room, but mind your head on the low beams!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
5.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
275 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
501 reviews
7.5 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Angel Street, Petworth GU28 0BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently totally refurbished pub, which serves reasonably priced very good food and drinks. All dishes are made on the premises using the best ingredients. It has six letting bedrooms all en-suite with baths or showers. There is a beautiful beer garden out at the back of the premises. The car park (limited space) is opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Petworth
The Angel Inn Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing