We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanystic hiden treasure”
Review of Bignor Roman Villa

Bignor Roman Villa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to the Roman villa at Bignor will tour the ancient site (circa AD190) that evolved over several centuries, and which houses some of the best preserved mosaics in England.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fanystic hiden treasure”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ok its not Fishboure its not trying to be. Apart from its £6 for An adult and when i went with my daughter Aug 9th kids were getting free Yayyy Thank you, This place is more the real deal not a show palace your close you can touch get close and smell the romans , , If you like Roman sites, then this is an excellent place to visit. The site is lovely, simple but well maintained and the way the site has been set up allows you to get an idea of how the Roman rooms were arranged. this place isn't polished to with in an inch of being false it run with passion by people that care , I was also love with the facilities for children, in particular the Roman numeral board you will spell your name and try on the helmet believe me .A small word of warning, in my opinion the place is would not be very wheel chair friendly and if Gran and Granddad are a bit wobbly on foot it might be tricky, Lots of steps and rough surfaces on site, which is set on a grassy incline - not all parts easy to access if mobility is a problem. The staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly. Tea room and Picnic area are basic but perfect the ice cream excellent!
One other point, depending on where you are coming from, Sat Nav will find it every time but be warned the fastest route will take you through some wonderful Sussex country side and some rather narrow lanes.if you are coming from Brighton way i would come up the A29 unless you love the twisty Sussex country side.
I not going to spoil your visit by upload pictures of the amazing mosaics jsu a few of the beautiful grounds and surrounding Sussex country side , no wonder the Romans built a villa here

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    53
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic example of a Roman Villa”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Everything about this place is great. The setting is beautiful, the amount of effort and love put into making the site available to the public is evident. It is hugely informative and a lot can be learnt very quickly and easily. The site is a visual delight and makes you remember just how advanced the Romans were. A must for everyone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maudestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bignor Roman Villa”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you like Roman sites, then this is an excellent place to visit. The site is lovely, simple but well maintained and the way the site has been set up allows you to get an idea of how the Roman rooms were arranged. The Georgian enclosures for the rooms are excellent and these give the site a highly individual charm of its own. I was also impressed with the facilities for children, in particular the Roman numeral board. Lots of steps and rough surfaces on site, which is set on a slight incline - not all parts easy to access if mobility is a problem. The staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly. Small tea room and excellent ice cream!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heyer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Second Longest Mosaic in Britain took 4 weeks to make.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We visited Fishbourne Palace (c.70 AD) in the morning, and Bignor Villa (c.200 AD) in the afternoon. The two places complement each other very well, and represent slightly different functions and periods of Roman history. After driving through some spectacular and breathtaking countryside, we were met by our guide Lisa is a descendant 6 generations removed of the discoverer and owner of the site. She delighted us with amusing ancestral stories and anecdotes about the history of Bignor. A Roman extended family of about 70 members and 300 slaves lived on the property for about 200 years before they all mysteriously left circa 350 AD. In one of my favourite rooms you can see incredible mosaics plus the hypercaust underneath, revealed when the roof caved in many centuries ago. Anyone who writes a negative review of this plce is just ignorant and stupid. If you have even just a modicum of interest in antiquity you will love it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Up the Romans”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A terrific attraction, highly recommend a visit and the scones with jam are great ! We all had a wonderful time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gezparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bignor Roman Villa also viewed

 

Been to Bignor Roman Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing