We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but pricey”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Pulborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Now under new ownership, fully open and refurbished The White Hart is situated on the upper reaches of the River Arun near Pulborough and the Historical Stopham Bridge. Freshly cooked traditional menu with a twist using locally sourced ingredients. Our talented team of chefs create all of our dishes by hand in our kitchens with everything from pizza dough to our fabulous deserts being home made. Perfect for business lunches, special occasions or just to visit and unwind for lunch or dinner The White Hart is the perfect place in a beautiful setting. Whether you wish to eat with us or just come in and have a drink (after all we are a pub!)A warm welcome awaits you at The White Hart by Stopham Bridge.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly but pricey”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Excellent friendly pub slightly marred by overpriced food. Having said that the quality of the food and the beers is very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRIWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    89
    24
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One word -- FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly, welcoming, lovely ales, crackling log fire and terrific food. What more could a country pub offer? There were 6 of us, and we had a fantastic time. The service was excellent. The game pudding, a massive traditional suet pudding stuffed with meat, was outstanding. From our group, the beer-fed pork belly got a huge thumbs up, while the chicken, ham and leek pie was wonderful. Rabbit burger was lovely, and the Hart burger, a massive slab of beef smothered in melted Stilton and bacon defeated a hungry teenager (extremely unusual). The local ales were tip top. Harvey's Sussex Best is always reliable and the Wenceslegless festive ale from Horsham's Weltons brewery was perfect.
We've been here several times over the years, but this was the best yet.
Our advice: go there. Often.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nhaqueoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with excellent food”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I took her mother here for a Sunday evening meal. Goat's cheese and fig tart terrific starter, my whitebait nothing to write home about. We all chose roast beef and all the trimmings for main courses. Beef of terrific quality, perfectly cooked - pink and juicy. Home made horseradish was sinus-clearing, just as it should be. Puds were filling. Coffee freshly made and again excellent. Wine reasonably priced at about £17 a bottle. Total cost less than £80, so not bad value for three of us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, A Little Over Priced”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Great pub great food and excellent service. At the end of the day this is a pub, whilst the food was excellent 2 pub meals 2 pints of beer 2 cokes £60 is very expensive pub food despite the quality of the food and service. At these prices I am sure that they don't have any problem with drunks. In life you get what you pay for, pubs need to remember they are pubs not restaurants the food was excellent but not sparkling and not worth anywhere close to £60 half this price would be more realistic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stopped here for lunch whilst walking the dog. Very welcoming with lots of choice on the menu. The food and service were great. We'll be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Amberley, West Sussex
West Chiltington, West Sussex
 
Pulborough, West Sussex
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing