We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting better”

The White Horse Inn
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Pulborough
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Getting better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Eaten here a number of times over the years and the meals used to be a bit hit and miss. Good starter, bad main, etc. Over the last couple of years the food has been getting more consistent and now we rarely have a course that is disappointing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    55
    23
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit (or two)!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had just driven through Pulborough for the first time, wanting to get the lie of the land, and having driven past The White Horse made a mental note to return. This we did a few days later on a Saturday evening. Judging by the car parking spaces outside the pub and the car park on the opposite side of the road, the place was obviously busy. Nevertheless we thought that we would give it a go. Going in the front door (of course!) we found ourselves in a very busy/lively bar area, with lots of people standing chatting and others sitting eating. The lady of the house (Veronica, a very pleasant person) immediately introduced herself and asked whether we would like a table. Unfortunately, all the tables in the bar area were all occupied so we were shown into the adjoining dining room. It was very nice, but there was only one other couple in there, so it it did not have the same buzz as the bar area. We took a table by the front window and a waitress brought menus and a 'specials' board. She explained the various dishes and then left us to make our choices. Veronica then came through and took our order: a large New Zealand Sauvignon, a pint of London Pride, the Seafood Risotto, and a 'Leighton' Burger (in honour of the rider of the winner of the 2014 Grand National). The drinks arrived very quickly and the food followed not long after. The drinks were as we had had hoped and the food was great. The burger, in particular, had some very interesting (and nice) flavours, which were well thought out. We then adjourned to sit at the bar where we then started chatting with Veronica and her husband, Phil. They told us that they had bought the pub seven years ago and had not previously been in the pub trade. All I can say is that they were both very hospitable and naturally suited to the job. All in all it was a very good experience and we shall definitely be returning when next in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I met my friend here for lunch on Saturday, we both choose the Sirloin Steak, meat not of good quality, considering it cost £18.95 for steak and a few chips. We waited a long time for this to arrive as well, staff friendly, but chef very slow. The St Clements Cheesecake had a a thick wodge of gelatin through it, which I had to wrestle with. The bill came to £64.00 I think for a 2 course lunch, plus half a lager shandy, one water and 2 small wines, rather steep. Pointed out we weren't happy with the steak either of us and showed what I found in the cheesecake, would have thought coffee could have been on the house. Too large a selection of food, for a chef who thinks they are biz. I would not recommend this pub to anyone, long time waiting for your food, and poor quality meat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

A group of 4 of us visited last night for a meal that I had won, never been before but the staff were very welcoming and it had a lovely cosy feel, the choice of food was good and there is a separate burger menu where you are spoilt for choice, the portion sizes are massive and well worth the money as our friends came with us, we will be back in the summer I'm sure as the gardens looked very nice... Thanks x

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great pub with good food and beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have been to the White Horse Inn a few times now and have always been impressed by it. You can eat in a formal dining room or in the bar or even the garden if the rain ever stops! The menu is excellent and can recommend the home made burgers but be aware they are massive!! Look forward to going back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gingysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

Pulborough, West Sussex
Pulborough, West Sussex
 
Pulborough, West Sussex
Pulborough, West Sussex
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing