We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stopover when en route to Kent from the West”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chequers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulborough
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stopover when en route to Kent from the West”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Had Dinner B+B on a quiet Sunday night. Excellent, tasty, good-value dinner in the Conservatory. Warm, comfy bedroom and bed.
Delicious ham benedict for breakfast
Still being improved by its new owners who were very friendly and helpful.
We will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mervynandmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    40
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
68
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights and thought it was excellent value. We had searched for bed and breakfast but most places were booked for the last night we wanted (a Friday). The Chequers was offering a half-board package for the same price as some of the B&Bs were charging just for B&B. We decided we could still go to a pub or restaurant to eat if the dinner at the Chequers didn't suit us. In fact the food was very good and we ate in each night quite happily. The menu is short and mainly grilled food, so it could become monotonous for longer stays, but the meat and fish we chose was excellent quality and very enjoyable. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The only slight problem that our room was on the ground floor close to the restaurant, so we were woken when the breakfast staff arrived.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham U.K.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We recently stayed overnight in this delightful hotel on our way to a wedding but could happily have stayed there for at least a week. A lovely warm welcome, comfortable room and beautiful garden to enjoy a glass of wine in before an excellent meal made it a great experience for tired elderly travellers. Everywhere was sparkling clean and fresh looking in this character filled grade two listed building which is a delight to explore.Food was excellent and well cooked at both dinner and breakfast, wine was reasonably priced and well kept. In all a truly delightful place to stay and I hope we can return soon

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room as I have walking difficulties and had no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ronsann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Looking for a B&B we stoped at Checkers. Walking into Checkers surprised us. What a lovery hotel we found. As we thought this hotel was way above our budget we where even more surprised when we heard the price per night. John & Lissette Trembling gave us a warm home feeling and the food was good Britisch standard. We are going to visit Checkers again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Family B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed here last weekend to attend a friend's wedding nearby. It had great service with good sized and traditionally decorated rooms. There is a beautiful garden out the back if weather permits but there is plenty of room in the lounge area for kids to run around if not. They have great food with good service. I think some of the other reviews must have been from before they were taken over earlier this year as the team could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed at Chequers for five nights while attending a festival in the area. It was great. Very friendly welcome, excellent food, and nicely sized room with ensuite. All very clean and comfortable. We were made to feel right at home. Location is great. No car, but no problem - we were able to walk into town easily as well as to the train station. Super easy to pop on the train to surrounding towns filled with their own history as well as to London and/or the airports. Everyone who worked at Chequers was extremely friendly and helpful. We were sad to leave. I would definitely stay at Chequers again.

Room Tip: We were in the "Arundel" room which was a very nicely sized corner room with lots of windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Another first time visit, one night stay. Friendly welcome, decent folks, excellent food. An interesting small hotel. Small bedroom and en suite shower, no bath; no problem! Clean room with comfortable bed and adequate facilities. Initial reservation about the close proximity to the main road, again no problem! The road wasn't too busy and the secondary double glazing minimised the traffic noise. The Chequers Hotel worked fine for me, room size wasn't an issue, the place has history, charm character, is surrounded by beautiful countryside and close to Pulborough Brooks nature reserve. Really enjoyed my brief stay, thanks again to all. Good quality, well cooked and presented food was a welcome part of a sensibly priced dinner bed and breakfast deal for me. Watch this space? I'm sure the owners will be aiming to develop their business further. Give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulborough
2.7 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
7.8 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: Old Rectory Lane, Pulborough RH20 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Pulborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chequers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chequers Hotel Pulborough is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty at the foot of the Downs National Park and on the doorstop of the South Downs Way - Local attractions include Arundel Town and Castle, Parham, Petworth House and Park, Goodwood, Fontwell, Fishbourne Roman Villa, Bignor, Chichester, Littlehampton, West Witterings Amberley and fantastic walks, runs and cycle routes right on the doorstop - a warm welcome awaits ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Pulborough, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing