We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smashing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chequers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulborough
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“smashing”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

stayed for one night only , staff very friendly and welcoming , lovely room with four poster bed.had excellent well cooked meal for the evening and a tasty breakfast in the morning would recommend and stay again when working in the area again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wes h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    40
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
67
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Was made to feel really welcome by everyone good service and value worth a visit comfortable rooms and smashing garden sipping g&ts by a pond in the sun priceless . New owners work really hard to make your stay as good as possible 5stars

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dapperdave113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Breakfast varied and very tasty, with lots of local and fresh ingredients used. The staff were very friendly and the surrounding area was tranquil. You can take a walk through a couple of fields to reach a small village with a newsagent, post office etc.

The beds were comfortable though the room was a little tired... some of the wall fixtures were loose and the windows didn't shut properly. The walls are very thin, so noise from people coming back late can be heard.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the room with the private external bathroom, you have to pass 2 bedrooms to get to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x1x1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

There is nothing at all wrong with this hotel per se: it is clean, warm, well-located, offers good breakfasts...but it just lacked a little something. Perhaps some TLC would make it more special and ensure it is the sort of accommodation that people might easily recommend.

Room 5 is a large room - very comfy double bed and a single bed, too (all for me!) - with a shower, bath and toilet ensuite. All clean. There were a few patches where the wallpaper was peeling and a part of the curtain rail wasn't too secure (it fell off), one of which could be attributed to the age of the property (constructed 1548) if I hadn't been staying in the modern wing. The bathroom was spotlessly clean as were all bed linens and towels.

Breakfast is served in the conservatory: generous 'help yourself' cereals, fruit and yoghurts and a good brew pave the way for a good breakfast cooked to order. Nice staff.

This is a nice place to stay for one or two nights but there wasn't anything about my visit that made me want to return. Priced at £70 per night, it is certainly good value for money so close to the South Downs (visible from Room 5) and is handy for tranpsort connections and local amenities (including two pubs and several places to eat).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We had a weekend here and enjoyed our stay. The setting is lovely, the staff are very helpful and provided a surprisingly good breakfast. Overall it does feel a little old fashioned/tired and decor needs updating but it has character! Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. Make sure you get a room with an en-suite when booking. It is good value and has the potential to be lovely.

Room Tip: they have a four poster bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDK2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Hotel Chequers is a small, characterful hotel with plenty of period features and old world charm. There is a cosy sitting room with a large open fireplace to the front and a large breakfast/dining room extension to the rear overlooking a modestly-sized but appealing garden. Our family of five stayed for one night on Sunday 5th May 2013 and our two rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. There was a good continental/cooked breakfast and a varied and appetising dinner menu (with the desserts deserving of special mention). The hotel is well-maintained, affordable and conveniently located to explore West Sussex. We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimondeMontford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This hotel is like a home from home. The rooms are delightful, the accommodations downstairs include a cosy sitting room with an open fire and a lovely conservatory dining-room (over-looking the charming enclosed garden), where you can enjoy exceptional breakfast, lunch and dinner at very reasonable prices. The chef is excellent and we have never been disappointed with any dishes we have ordered. There is also a good wine list very reasonably priced. The hosts are charming and welcoming, taking the time to get to know their guests personally but also discreet and unobtrusive. I believe the new owners took over a couple of years ago and the improvements since have transformed what used to be a very mediocre restaurant into one of the best places to dine in the local area. Originally from Pulborough, my family stays here each time we visit from China (and previously from the USA). There are a few family rooms to keep the children close and costs down. All in all, I can highly recommend this hotel for its comfort, service, atmosphere and its glorious cuisine.

Room Tip: The Arundel family room is the quietest and with the prettiest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulborough
2.7 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
302 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,535 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
268 reviews
11.5 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: Old Rectory Lane, Pulborough RH20 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Pulborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chequers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chequers Hotel Pulborough is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty at the foot of the Downs National Park and on the doorstop of the South Downs Way - Local attractions include Arundel Town and Castle, Parham, Petworth House and Park, Goodwood, Fontwell, Fishbourne Roman Villa, Bignor, Chichester, Littlehampton, West Witterings Amberley and fantastic walks, runs and cycle routes right on the doorstop - a warm welcome awaits ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Pulborough, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing