We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of The Labouring Man

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Labouring Man
Ranked #4 of 8 Pulborough B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Booked the labouring man after being let down by the halfway bridge for our wedding was pleased it worked out that way as the place is superb. My fiancé and her bridesmaids spent Friday night and the owner was extremely helpful the evening went well and relaxed the girls lots of fun and laughter and drinks helped make the night special. On the second night me and my new wife spent the night drinks where supplied. Breakfast on both d Amy's where above expectations with fruit cereal and the full monty breakfast with white pudding ask for more as its so good. Enjoyed the stay the friendliness and help of the staff have rebooked for my daughters wedding next year

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
29
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed there over the (bank) holiday weekend just gone. Everywhere we tried was full so when The Labouring Man had a room we were a bit nervous. No need! This is a real find, a gem just off the busy A29 after Pulborough. The room was comfortable with all mod cons and a really nice modern shower room; the owner couldn't have been more helpful. Dinner in the bar was delicious - we had tempura prawns, steak and mushroom pie and rib eye steak, plus super puds. Couldn't fault it and the breakfast was of an equally high standard. Will be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We had a double-bedded room on the second floor but there was a nice twin-bedded room on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We often have a drink in this friendly pub, staff are nice and there is parking. Is nice to sit out the front in the sun, but there is a garden at the rear too. Had a roast, was v nice, standard pub roast. Very accommodating to our 1 year-old daughter. Happy for her to have a small plate and have some of our food, and provided a high chair.

Recommend anyone passing to simply pop in for a quick drink.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wobblington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The pub is very much the heart of the community as well as being a warm and friendly place to visit and stay. The bar is cosy and relaxing with a lovely log fire and the owner Phil and all staff were chatty plus being very welcoming to our dog. We ate in the bar and the home cooked evening meals and breakfasts were good and the service excellent. The bedrooms have been refurbished and ours was clean and spacious with a very comfortable king sized bed and all expected facilities. It had it's own front door, so was convenient to take the dog out for walks. There is a nice garden with seating at the back for summer days as well as tables and benches at the front of the pub. There is a car park at the rear. It was everything we look for when travelling with our dog, but even more because of the lovely atmosphere. We will definitely stay whenever in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in princes room which was great with a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine55h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The pub's decoration was tired and in need of a deep clean. The room however, was clean if rather cramped. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was large and inviting. The food was good and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very tasty and served quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMark79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Labouring Man very much. Not glamorous but good clean and comfortable room with nice shower and excellent cooked breakfast. All pubs with rooms should be as good as this with friendly staff as well.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room at the back had a lovely view and was very sunny and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happydiners13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed here for a friends's wedding and the lovely people at The Labouring Man couldn't have been more accommodating. They let us in early so we could change into our outfits, and answered every question we had with a smile. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. My only regret is we didn't get to enjoy the pub during our stay. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybellybeanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulborough
0.0 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
984 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#3 of 3 in Storrington
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abingworth Hall
Abingworth Hall
#2 of 8 in Pulborough
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Labouring Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Labouring Man

Property: The Labouring Man
Address: Pulborough RH20 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Pulborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pulborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Labouring Man 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Labouring Man reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Labouring Man Pulborough, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing