We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food at the Labouring Man”
Review of The Labouring Man

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Labouring Man
Ranked #4 of 8 Pulborough B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food at the Labouring Man”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have not stayed the night here but took the family for a meal. The staff were very welcoming and there was a roaring fire. Very cosy. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it. My daughter is a vegan and when the chef was told this he came out to see her and discussed the options with her, then turned out a beautifully cooked and presented special meal for her in no time at all. This is the first time a pub chef has taken the trouble to turn out a special vegan meal for her and we were very impressed. The service was really good and the atmosphere was very friendly with no canned music!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
29
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed at The Labouring Man for 1 night. Possibly the comfiest bed I have EVER slept in. Did not want to get out of it! It is unfortunate that I stayed on a Monday evening when they do not serve evening meals but a member of staff recommended a pub nearby, giving me accurate directions and it was excellent. I went for a drink in the bar when I returned and I could not have been made more welcome by both staff and the locals who got me out of the corner I had retreated to and got me involved with their chatter. Absolutely wonderful.
If the breakfast the next morning is anything to go by then the evening meals must be fantastic. The breakfast literally kept me going all day. T
My thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolisasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed one night in Labouring Man and found the place a little tired looking. Nice comfy bed but the room was cramped with extra furniture. What mostly annoying was that they kept their dogs in one of the rooms during the day and every time someone walked pass they started to bark really loudly.
Nice and friendly staff but I think overall the place needs a TLC

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Booked over the Internet for a single night's b&b. My wife and I had driven for 7 hours having been stuck in traffic and weren't in the mood for driving round looking for somewhere to eat. We needn't have worried! What a lovely atmosphere. We were told that the landlord was away on holiday. Well, landlord, your staff are lovely, very obliging and more than capable of keeping things going so you can go away more often. We ate at the pub and the meal was excellent. The room was clean and whilst it was basic, was ideal for 2 weary travellers. We both opted for the full English breakfast and were not disappointed. All in all, an excellent experience. We will have no hesitation booking there again next I've we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
397 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The staff here are great, very friendly and very obliging, but it is an odd place to stay. If you arrive at the wrong time you'll find it closed so you can't check in. To get to your rooms you have to go outside and unlock a door and then lock it again before going upstairs to your room. My room was not completely clean, the window ledge in particular was dirty. The shower door was uncooperative, and the shower so so.
The food inthe restaurant is good.

The place is quiet, but there is a rai,way line close by. Would I stay again? On balance, yes

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

A pleasant unsophisticated local pub with accomodation, nicely concealed from the passing motorist and, for a main road hostelry, not over frequented by the day-tripper urbanites invading the countryside. Good food and wide menu, some a bit on the pricey side, though much in keeping with today's high costs. Toilets a bit idiosyncratic and rather cramped (esp gents'), but clean and decent. Good car park. Welcoming host and staff. Good for both weekday and weekend evening meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilettante_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Went here last night for dinner and loved the place!!! Staff and landlord were very welcoming and the food was terrific!!! We had ribeye steak - so tender you could have eaten it with a spoon, followed by a pudding to die for!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melfromhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulborough
0.0 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
985 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#3 of 3 in Storrington
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abingworth Hall
Abingworth Hall
#2 of 8 in Pulborough
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Labouring Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Labouring Man

Property: The Labouring Man
Address: Pulborough RH20 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Pulborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pulborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Labouring Man 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Labouring Man reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Labouring Man Pulborough, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing