We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant lunch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tillington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Horse Guards Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tillington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellant lunch”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Horse Gurads had been recommended to us and when we had lunch there today,it exceeded our expectations ! The food was delicious,nicely presented and the stafff were very helpful and polite.We will definately be going back and know the table that we want to book !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    37
    11
    10
    3
See reviews for
52
115
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Have just had an excellent Sunday lunch at The Horse Guards Inn, Tillington. Roast lamb succulent & tender served & presented attractively with tasty vegetables. The spinach & asparagus soup starter was equally enjoyable. The pub is divided into various areas & rooms - quirky & interesting. Young staff were attentive & helpful. Although busy we were not hurried for a next sitting. Interesting garden area too on a better day. Literally just off the A272 road about 5mins from Petworth.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CathyWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We met friends who had eaten here previously. The building is delightful and the staff friendly. Although the prices are quite high the food makes it worthwhile. I had the pheasant breast which was delicious and tender. By chance I had the same main course two days later at a local golf club and there was no comparison. Not only was the meat beautifully tender, well cooked in a tasty source but the quantity was very generous. I love puddings and was disappointed to have no appetite as the main course was so filling. The rest of our party all had burgers which they declared excellent. The only negative is the lack of parking which might be more of an issue at night. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband surprised me with a night away at the horse guards inn for my birthday.Arrived late afternoon having spent a day in Chichester.Our room the twin bedded one,was flooded with light.Room for clothes , a great bathroom and two comfy beds.We had coffee In the garden to catch the last of the April rays and both enjoyed the sound of silence.We both had venison for main course and I had a chocolate concoction for pud, plate decorated with happy birthday.
Good nights sleep, coffee in room for the morning.Breakfast very good ,full English for me , porridge for my husband.A lovely stay in a lovely part of the country side.What made our stay exceptional, the staff and the wonderful decorations in the pub for Easter.

Room Tip: Go for the double
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in the delightful cottage on our wedding night last year and returned for our first anniversary a couple of weeks ago with friends. We have had two wonderful weekends at the horse guards inn and would thoroughly recommend it. The food is delicious (we ate in the pub for our evening meal and enjoyed breakfast the next day) the location perfect and the owners couldn't be nicer. Our friends stayed in the double room which was just as beautiful as the adjacent cottage. We hope to make an annual visit here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotels has so much character, with cosy nooks and crannies all over to cater for all types of evenings out. The staff were fantastic and great fun and the food was more adventurous than expected. This place is a fun experience for dinning, it is jam packed full of things to look at and creative use of utensils and ornaments build a busy and cheery ambiance. You can even pick up a packet of home made biscuits, preserves or sauces to take home.. great fun,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbchurchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My Husband and I chose to stay at The Horse Guards Inn based on the website and trip advisor reviews. We wanted somewhere near to Petworth with a quality country feel and with good food. Well I can assure you we we where not disappointed at all!!
On arrival we noted that the Inn was very tucked away and how without the map we would have driven straight past, we also commented on the amount of cars parked in the village and wondered where the occupants had all disappeared to? Upon entering the premises we got our answer! The restaurant was full of happy diners digging in to plates full of delicious looking food. We introduced ourselves to the very welcoming staff and informed them that we were booked to stay in 'The Cottage' from that moment on we were made to feel so very welcome and our experience here just got better and better.
We didn't sample the lunch menu but based on what we could see we would definitely return to give it a try. The cottage is attached to the side of the Inn and was perfect for our needs. It's light and airy feel and simple but well thought out interior made us feel relaxed and quite at home. My only two requests would be somewhere a little more substantial to place a wash bag in the bathroom and a couple of hooks on the backs of the doors. (but that's just me being really picky!) The 15 steps we had to take from our front door to the restaurant for dinner were much appreciated (more so on the way back after a few 'old rosies') and once again the restaurant was full of happy diners enjoying the laid back atmosphere and quaint interior. We ordered the steak and had a splendid bottle of red recommended to us by our friendly waiter. The menu was small but this just supported the locally sourced produce and home cooked food that the inn is proud to provide. There were still plenty of delicious dishes to try and amazing puddings to tempt you. We couldn't fault any of our dining experience we loved every bit of it from the welcome, the food, the drink and the waiter burning his shoe while he stoked the fire!
In fact we loved it so much that we chose to change our plans and dine in both nights and were not disappointed! Breakfast was held in the 'green room' and was a refreshing experience with eggs from the hens out back, local butter that I could have eaten by the bucket load, Bacon that left me wanting more and home made jams that you can also purchase (and we did). From the décor to the music this room was a delightful place to start the day! The final bill for two nights B&B, dinner both nights and a small bar bill.... well it wasn't our cheapest trip away but value for money....It was worth every penny!
We did have a quick look at the two other rooms the Inn has to offer, a double and a twin that are situated above the bar/ restaurant, they both looked bright and airy with lovely views and both have baths but we would definitely choose to stay in 'The Cottage' again. Although it is simply a two story double bedroom with a shower room 'The Cottage' was perfect for us.
The Inn is just next door to Petworth park which is a lovely place to take a walk and a visit to Petworth house is a highly recommended way to spend an afternoon!
The only downside to 'The Horse Guards Inn'?........I wished we stayed there longer! Oh well! We will just have to go back!!

Room Tip: 'The Cottage' is perfect for a romantic break, there is only a shower and no bath so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillington
4.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Halfway Bridge
The Halfway Bridge
#3 of 17 in Petworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 17 in Petworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse Guards Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse Guards Inn

Property: The Horse Guards Inn
Address: Upperton Road, Tillington GU28 9AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Tillington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tillington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse Guards Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 300 year-old Inn close to the historic towns of Petworth and Midhurst.Accommodation available, all en suite, and a la carte dining.The pub attracts a clientele, who appreciate its friendly atmosphere, quality wines, and imaginative well presented food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Horse Guards Hotel Tillington
The Horse Guards Inn Tillington, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing