We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood Chowder I have ever had!”
Review of Roundabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roundabout Hotel
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Chowder I have ever had!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We came and had lunch in the garden, and had the best Seafood Chowder I have ever tasted! Beautifully presented, piping hot and absolutely delicious......will certainly come again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennybdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    91
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
59
129
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had Sunday lunch at the newly-refurbished and owned Roundabout Hotel. The food was very good indeed. We had Sunday-roast, and the portions were generous, with good quality meat and perfectly cooked vegetables. The desserts were top-quality. There were only two shortcomings; many of the wines on the wine-list were unavailable, and those that were available were of medium quality. Also, the service was hit-and-miss. Although friendly, some of the more junior staff did not remember our drinks order, and forgot to bring things we had asked for, such as mint sauce, not returning to our table to check we had everything we needed until too late when we had finished our food completely.
So very well done on the food, but sharpen up the service! Overall, the hotel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSx2-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

This was a first for me at this establishment and I have to say what a wonderful hotel this is, the food and service are first class and whoever decorated the bedrooms has given a level of luxury I'd normally expect to pay a much higher price,we will defiantly be returning again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chiltington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Just returned from an excellent lunch. Tried the specials menu which was great value for money .All food freshly cooked. Service first class, friendly and helpfulstaff.The dining room and indeed the whole hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philip275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I was fortunate enough to be at the opening night of this hotel; however, my experience was poor having seen the manager open scold and utter grievances publicly to his staff, who seemed to live in great fear of him. i felt quite embarrassed for the poor boys and girls who were really tring their best to attend to a lot of people. I think think man needs a lesson on what PR work is all about and certainly should consider re-training for management on the 21st Century. Given that, I would dearly like this beautful location to rise once again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SteveEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salcombe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Wow, what a gem! I stayed here two years ago just before it closed and have already stayed twice since it reopened recently. It is stunning and can only have been refurbished, decorated and lovingly restored by a woman! From the second you walk through the door you know it will be a wonderful experience. The manager and his wife gave us a great welcome, the food was delicious, the rooms were perfection and the position perfect. What a wonderful situation for touring around Sussex or just relaxing in utter comfort and luxury with such lovely staff to look after you. Thank you!

Room Tip: We tried one of the luxury rooms with four poster bed - superb with views over the garden. Also a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank diana31Salcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chiltington
2.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
139 reviews
10.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,583 reviews
5.4 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
348 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundabout Hotel

Property: Roundabout Hotel
Address: Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Chiltington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chiltington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundabout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star country house hotel has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident's lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms. All rooms include: Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pulborough
Pulborough Best Western
Roundabout Hotel West Chiltington, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing