We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Roundabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roundabout Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Hotel beautiful and room large and very comfortable. Food was particularly good, large portions of deliciously cooked fresh food. All of the staff were warm and friendly. Will definitely want to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ash room which had a large, four poster, very comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah3750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    91
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
59
129
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Last night four of us visited The Roundabout Hotel in West Chiltington as we heard it had been taken over in the last three weeks....It's my nearest hotel/restaurant and friends of mine have used it many times over the years and we were keen to sample it ourselves.

We had an excellent meal, the staff were extremely friendly and attentive, ambience was perfect,
and the cost was very reasonable.

We would definitely recommend the hotel and will be revisiting soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHolt666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambrdge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 years until it closed. Very pleased to be back, plenty of room in the rooms, staff all very pleasant and accommodating, and food excellent.

Defiantly worth a look if your in he area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheConsultant03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chiltington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel is local to us and reopened 6 Months ago. It was initially run by a man who had no manners, no contact skills, no staff management skills and basically - no idea. Why this fool was placed in this wonderful hotel/restaurant to kick start it is totally beyond me. Read some of the previous reviews to see what others experienced. I wouldn't go there as I didn't want a run in with the man!
Last week, I heard the great news - the monster was moving on.
So........
This week I took my Wife and Daugther there for Sunday Lunch.
We were greeted by the lovely Pam and David who have taken over the establishment to now bring it up to what it should have been 6 Months ago.
We were treated very nicely indeed and were made to feel very welcome.
Our waitress was very attentive, the menu was varied with something for everyone and the ambience was calm and relaxing.
We had whitebait starter which I reckon was the nicest whitebait we've ever had, followed by Beef roast which was delicious, hot and accompanied by a range of srummy veg.
At last we've got our wonderful local back! Good luck to Pam and David who now deserve a second try by all who have been disappointed recently.
Ignore all the previous reviews and go there to try it first hand. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestChiltChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A Saturday evening meal for four to celebrate our daughter's birthday. Drinks and food selection in the small but comfy lounge area. Our young waitress was friendly but not very knowledgeable or perhaps needed more training. It took her two trips to find out how our preferred lamb dish was to be cooked. Tio Pepe sherry was unknown to her but more importantly the bar staff. That said, we really liked the understated dining room with its comfortable and spacious eating arrangement, with quiet dinner chat in the total absense of annoying music. Everyone's food choices were well liked.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirklycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We visited this place for lunch .It was the first time for many years as the hotel has been closed for at least 2 years and has been redecorated. It remains quite a difficult place to find although there are some signposts in the village.
It is no longer part of the Best Western group.
Reception area was a bit small and uninviting.
We were quite impressed with the two course lunch for £11.95 comprising a starter and main or main and dessert. Good value for money but one has to fathom out which items in the menu are covered as only these are written in red letters. The menu is unnecassarily complicated as noted by other reviewers and the menu pages needs a tidier presentation.
Cooking was to a high standard.
Service was ok without being particularly friendly.
We did not stay at the hotel so unable to comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallflower890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

what an outstanding place to stay. We stayed 2 nights in a luxury double which to our suprise was a huge room with a massive four poster bed and a huge ensuite. Everything was luxurious, huge LCD TV. Very clean, spotless. Staff all very friendly and worked very hard. Location was quiet but beautiful. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choices, although the croissants were not available anymore which was a shame as I was not the only person to ask for them. I would certainly recommend the hotel and will stay again if in the area. Unfortunately we did not get to use the restaurant although we wish we had. Thank you for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: All rooms looked exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chiltington
2.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
139 reviews
10.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,583 reviews
5.4 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
348 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundabout Hotel

Property: Roundabout Hotel
Address: Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Chiltington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chiltington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundabout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star country house hotel has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident's lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms. All rooms include: Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pulborough
Pulborough Best Western
Roundabout Hotel West Chiltington, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing