We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but expensive”
Review of Roundabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roundabout Hotel
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Visited for lunch. No one in reception on arrival or at the bar,
Ordered an open smoked salmon sandwich which although nice was a rip off at 7.95 as it was shop bought sliced bread.
Was overcharged three pounds on the bill to 10.95. Mistake rectified but the bill was for just a soda and lime, open sandwich and coffee 19.00 not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbbbb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a great place for a short stay. We met friends there and our husbands played golf while we went into Arundel. The room was large and nicely furnished and the ensuite was very well fitted and spacious. The evening meal was delicious and staff very friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights July 8th and 9th and had a great experience. Hannah was particularly friendly and helpful, as indeed were all the staff from breakfast to the last drink at night. Our room (Oak) was wonderfully large and cosy at the same time. We didnt experience any noise at all, which was a slight worry when we saw where it was as its next to the road, but it wasnt a problem at all.
The bed was really great - super comfortable. Our a la carte meal was excellent (I had trio of Lamb..mmmmmmm) and they were really great at accommodating my wifes veggie needs. Breakfast also really tasty and the setting lovely and quiet with beautiful surrounding villages and of course the Downs! Great as a base, but equally just as cosy with garden and the lounging around areas for just chilling out with a drink and a book and doing not alot.
Couldnt fault it - we'll be back!!

Room Tip: Oak was perfect for us and we also got to see Room 101 (!!) which looked like a gorgeous 4 poster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I booked this hotel for a weekend away at beginning of June with one of my daughters - not sure where it was exactly but had good reviews and was in the area we were exploring.
It was so quiet and peaceful at the end of a lovely Sussex lane.
Plenty of parking and although a wedding was occupying most of the building we were not inconvenienced in any way.
Hannah, the receptionist on duty , was so friendly and showed us to our twin room. This certainly exceeded my expectations! It was huge! apart from two very comfortable beds there was a round table and two armchairs - we sat there to drink our celebratory champagne (we brought it with us).
The bathroom did not have a bath which was a little disappointing but had recently been revamped and had a very large shower enclosure and plenty of room to move around in Thick white towels and good toiletries provided (although ours were not White Company as we thought).
The leaded-light windows looked down into the garden and it was lovely to be able to open them as we were on the first floor (and leave them open)
Dinner was available in the bar area restaurant and there was quite a choice. We settled for duck - good choice. Wine choice was good too.
Next morning breakfast was a buffet with waitress service for the cooked part. AS the weather was so warm we could eat beside open windows and finish our coffee outside.
Once again Hannah was so helpful on checkout - she gave advice on visiting the area and especially where to park in Steyning and which shops to mooch around.
Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: The large twin room was at the back of the hotel and quiet with evening sun - only downside it conta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascoteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The gardens are beautiful. The room and the common areas couldn't have been nicer with very comfortable furniture. There is a dining room as well as a great bar menu. The stafff was always friendly. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We visited the hotel on Saturday 15th June for an evening meal. The food was well cooked and presented but their was no choice of rolls, a white roll was on the table when we went into the restaurant . Some of us had the option of 3 white rolls stodgy rolls served with our meal, a starter roll, also a further stodgy white roll served up with our smoked haddock starter and finally inplace of some biscuits with cheese and biscuits.

The smoked haddock starter was nice but not a lot of smoked haddock in the small dish, plenty of sauce/juice which could only be consumed once spoons were asked for.

Each item of food ordered was not cheap, I think we should have expected better quality rolls, plus a choice, and a lot more smoked haddock in the starter and far less sauce.

Our friends had eaten there before, I think they we a little disappointed that the overall meal etc was not as good as the previous time they visited.

I would also point out that whilst the waitress was very attentive to our needs with good service in the bar and dining room, the whole thing was a bit spoilt by her apron which was quite dirty.

The hotel have been asked twice to make comments on our poor value meal and refused. An expensive meal, we shall not be back.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Deryck99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Check in...very swift, polite, helpful.
Room...beautiful, large, comfortable, clean, quiet
Staff...... superb, knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, passionate about what they are doing...
Food...if you like good, well cooked and presented food then this is the place for you. I dined on a 5 course dinner, every course was presented beautifully, cooked exactly as I asked, and was a joy to eat, good portion sizes too.
A wonderful hotel, run by people who care, nothing was to much trouble. Thank you for running a quite rural hotel as it should be....for your guests, not the accountants, well done...........10*
I will be back

Room Tip: just ask.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boys-from-the-Dwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chiltington
2.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
149 reviews
10.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,667 reviews
7.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,174 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
379 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundabout Hotel

Address: Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Chiltington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chiltington
Price Range: £77 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundabout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star country house hotel has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident's lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms. All rooms include: Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pulborough
Pulborough Best Western
Roundabout Hotel West Chiltington, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing