We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roundabout Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a last minute getaway for the bank holiday. We stayed in room 203 up in the eaves, being 6ft3 & 5ft8 it was a bit of a squeeze around the bed with the sloping walls, but never the less, the view from the room was stunning, situated on a quiet lane over looking trees and well maintained gardens.

The only disappointment for me was the bathroom, when we looked on booking.com it showed us a picture of a beautiful tiled bathroom with large shower cubicle and separate bath. The bathroom in our room was plain white suite, adequate but not what I was expecting.

The bed was so comfortable and tea and coffee facilities were great!

Breakfast was included in the price so we headed down in the morning. Plenty of cereals / fruit / yoghurts / juice to choose from and then a choice of continental or full English breakfast. We both opted for the full English which was delicious, but not enough of in my opinion. 1 sausage, 1 bacon, 1 fried egg, 1/2 tomato, mushrooms.

All in all, we would stay again, perhaps opting for a luxury suite next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    90
    42
    16
    12
See reviews for
56
127
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were delighted to find that our room had been upgraded and we had been given a huge room with separate loo and double size shower and bathroom.
The staff were all courteous and helpful especially the staff in the dining room.
We enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast was relaxed and extensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah3750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights whilst working in Chichester. Roundabout is situated in a very quiet village but it's close enough to the A27 to make Brighton, Worthing or Chichester an easy commute.
I ate in the bar or restaurant every night and never had a bad meal. My room was spacious and comfortable although maybe a bit quaint for my taste, trust me you wont feel the need to ask reception for extra cushions!
As with all the best places I stay in it was the staff that made Roundabout memorable. Hannah and her team created a friendly atmosphere and nothing was ever too much trouble.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awayfromhome1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

When we move to West Sussex from Surrey, we had removal men in for two days, so in between we decided to stay at a local hotel for the night.

As The Roundabout had reopened, we thought "why not"..it is close by and looks ok.

We were most pleasantly surprised.

The decor is "Olde English" country house. The staff are very friendly, extremely helpful and courteous and service is very accommodating (although can be a bit "unhurried" at times).

Our room was superb and the meals were so good, we now make a point of going there for lunch on a more frequent basis. We have also had a couple of dinners there too. My wife just loves the duck.

The GM met with us once during his evening "monitoring" and what a nice guy and seriously keen to know your views.

I did note from a couple of reviews of the hotel, that pricing seemed an issue for some guests.

I fail to see why. The prices are very reasonable for what is on offer. Perhaps those who wish for a cheaper overnight stay should try the Comfort Inn off the A29.

We have also had relatives (by marriage) staying there more than once and they all "raved" about the accommodationa anbd the food.

Well done The Roundabout.

Room Tip: Check out online in advance and try to get a room upstairs in the main body of the hotel. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Internati0nalBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had lunch on a bank holiday monday. We saw the lunch offer on a sign outside the hotel. Something like 2 courses for £11.95. As it was a bank holiday they had a sunday lunch type menu which was more expensive we probably wouldnt have gone if we knew that. As the sign outside stated it was cheaper. Its a pleasant hotel but very very average nothing special and the food is only average. There are nicer places and cosier places to go and eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We arrived at hotel took 15 minutes to find someone to deal with us, we were a party of four booking two rooms we were taken to the rooms which were already occupied so had to relocate and wait whilst it was sorted.
We asked where we could get lunch and told to drive to nearby towns as it was now 3.15pm and food stopped at 2,30..luckily the owners took pity on us and provided an excellent afternoon tea. We booked for dinner we were warned that it would be busy as the there was a charity organisation eating there on masse.. that was fine we can do busy.. we didn't realise that we would be shushed during speeches and announcements so we ate in the garden..
It was very hot in the room and we were told that no fans were available (no air con) the room was very nice but needs updating especially the bathroom and toilet...no telephone in room. Breakfast was sufficient but nothing special.. Bar staff very slow and inexperienced
Would not return

Room Tip: Take your own fan in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SableMable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Visited for lunch. No one in reception on arrival or at the bar,
Ordered an open smoked salmon sandwich which although nice was a rip off at 7.95 as it was shop bought sliced bread.
Was overcharged three pounds on the bill to 10.95. Mistake rectified but the bill was for just a soda and lime, open sandwich and coffee 19.00 not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbbb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chiltington
2.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
10.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
5.5 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundabout Hotel

Property: Roundabout Hotel
Address: Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Chiltington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chiltington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundabout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star country house hotel has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident's lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms. All rooms include: Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pulborough
Pulborough Best Western
Roundabout Hotel West Chiltington, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing