We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone backwards!”
Review of Roundabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roundabout Hotel
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Since arrival of the new staff and new chef in October the choices for the mains on the lunchtime menu has deteriorated and today we were offered corned beef hash, something which is more likely to be available in a transport cafe.
Nine months ago there was pork chop on the menu and other interesting meat dishes not just reused material like pies.
Suggest you revert to menus offered in the past and we might come back again .At present there are many better places in terms of value and quality for lunch in the area.


.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wallflower890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Sir,

It was with great disappointment that I read your review of your recent lunch visit to the hotel.

I have to say the experience you write about has not been shared with the vast majority of our guests.

I'm not sure where you received your information regarding the team from, but we all started here in December, and inherited what was quite sad menu. Fortunately that's all about to change as we launch our new lunch menu on February 3rd.

This will feature dishes such as "Grilled Lemon Sole", a locally produced "Gourmet sausage trio" and a classic "West Sussex ploughman's".

I've popped a photograph of our Corned Beef Hash on Tripadvisor, so that other viewers can view the dishes we offer objectively and decide for themselves as to the standard we provide. It's our best selling dish at lunchtime, so I can only apologise if it wasn't to your liking.

I thank you for your suggestions, however we will not be going back to the dishes offered in the past. At £12.95 for 2 courses, we don't believe there are better value and quality places to lunch in the area.

In closing, I'd love for you to come back and try lunch again on us, it would be great to catch up with you in person and get some more ideas from you as to how we can improve the offering at the hotel.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Last weekend we enjoyed our second recent visit to the Roundabout. Our suite (four poster bed) was excellent in all aspects, possibly one of the very best we have ever stayed in. The hotel was homely, warm with a lovely atmosphere and the new management are obviously responsible for the positive changes. The meals were of the highest quality and very much appreciated together with the real ale. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we appreciated the service provided. Our only concern is that when the weather improves and the word gets out booking may prove diffucult as this smaller high quality hotel will be in much demand. Many thanks again and we wish the management every success for the future.

Phil and Pam

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Phil and Pam,

thank you for your great review of the hotel, we're delighted you had such a good time!

We're working hard on getting things right here, and promoting our high quality local real ales is just one of the ventures we have undertaken!

Hopefully we'll get the opportunity to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just had a weekend away here and it was great. A warm welcome from Simon and Dita, we were shown to our room which was lovely. Fantastic shower, and all the conveniences you would expect. We attended the Burns Night which was a great experience. Good atmosphere and fantastic food. The chef is a credit to the hotel!! Breakfast was served, cooked to order and served on warm plates. Good buffet selection too. Will definately be back soon!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Jenna,

thank you for the lovely comments regards your recent stay at the hotel.

We're glad you enjoyed everything, and yes, we do love our chef!!

Come on back any time you like, we'd look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I visited a couple of weeks back. We had some fantastic food off of the A la carte menu. Beautifully presented and tasted delicious! Good service but found when ever we went to the bar there was never anyone there to serve us. We received a very friendly welcome from all the staff. I understand that a new management has taken over with new staff and a new head chef. You have already transformed the hotel. Thank you for a lovely evening and a very well done to the chef that made us our very tasty food. We will be coming back again soon and recommending this place to family and friends. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamala G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Pamala,

thank you for your feedback regards your recent visit to the hotel.

It's a great compliment to say we've transformed the hotel already, but we're just getting started!

We are launching our new improved lunch menu this week, along with afternoon tea.... and that's just the beginning.

We hope to see plenty more of you and your friends in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We went to the Roundabout for dinner on New Year's Eve. Lovely hotel with gorgeous Christmas decorations and open fires. We had drinks in the lounge before moving to one of the restaurant rooms. We had a spacious table in a room that was full but not crowded. Starters of terrine and smoked haddock risotto were excellent. Main courses of crispy pork belly and duck were plentifull and tasty. The parsnip doughnuts are worth a special mention! Desserts were a bit sweet for my liking but I'm reliably told by my 2 other diners that they were excellent. We had our coffee and petit four in the lounge whilst we waited to herald the new year. Champagne was poured for us all by the friendly new management team. Thank you to all.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank ToniH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Toni,

thank you so much for your lovely review of our New Years Eve celebrations!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future,

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Mmmm I was not very impressed sadly. The restaurant is spacious with lots of different rooms to sit in. The room we were shown into was empty but we were offered the seats with the poorest view of the garden?? We asked for different seats as the garden is pretty to look out on. The food was very mediocre. I had the terrine to start. A thin slice of brown and white mousse like stuff with a thin line of seafood in middle, no bread was given with this. My friend had the whitebate which was most definitely frozen with a thick crispy layer that was over cooked, not nice tasting at all. Main course was ok but could have cooked better at home. Service was slow and not at all attentive but waitress was pleasant enough. This is most definitely not a restaurant for a foodie or a good home cook. It is rather disappointing to spend money on a meal you could have cooked better at home. I am so glad to see this Hotel open again though and I wish them all the best for the future. If you get a new chef let me know.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Andrina,

thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I noted that you stayed with us in October, since then we have indeed intorduced new management and a new head chef!

As you would expect, we do offer a straight forward relaxed style menu for our lunch options, with our fantastic value 2 courses for £11.95 deal. Perhaps our evening A la carte menu would be something you would be more interested in, as a foodie myself I can promise you there are some impressive and innovative dishes on the menu.

For example our "Country Terrine" consists of wild rabbit, pigeon and smoked duck, not typical ingredients that most people find in their home.

We'd love for you to come and give us a try again at some point, as you stated the hotel is beautiful and we appreciate all the feedback that our guests provide us with.

kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Arrived late december very nice looking old hotel very warm and homely feel to it room very nice and comfortable made to feel welcome there had an evening meal which was nice and well cooked however the following morning we went for breakfast the full english which was not so good apart from that very good stay

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Kodoo,

thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

You'll be pleased to know our chef is working hard to ensure the standard of breakfast is p at the same level of the other meals provided throughout the day at the hotel.

We're glad you enjoyed everything during your stay, and l;ook forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chiltington
10 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,671 reviews
7.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
380 reviews
5.4 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 10 in Worthing
424 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundabout Hotel

Address: Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Chiltington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chiltington
Price Range: £82 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundabout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star country house hotel has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident's lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms. All rooms include: Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pulborough
Pulborough Best Western
Roundabout Hotel West Chiltington, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing