We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Roundabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roundabout Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and found the hotel, its staff and surrounding gardens to be wonderful. the food was delicious and the staff were eager to do everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable,...we would definitely go back and would recommend this lovely place to our friends. M y husband wanted to bring the bed home because it was so comfortable!
If i was to be picky I would say the only slight downside was the heat...it was a bit hot indoors, but having said that we did go on the weekend that the weather changed and warmed up! So it may not have been a problem in the colder weather..overall though we loved it and had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diggerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Roundabout Hotel.

I must say, we are pleased your husband didn't take the bed with him! However thanks for the lovely feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    90
    42
    18
    12
See reviews for
58
128
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
west sussex uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked are wedding here and we are so happy we did , the management team are second to none, nothing was to much trouble , the hotel is beautiful the staff are beyond a doubt the most cheerful and willing staff I have come across and I have stayed at some costly hotels , the food is truly to die for , we had all rooms booked at this hotel and every single guest complimented the rooms staff and hotel x stay here you truly could not ask for a better hotel .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocosim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Jo,

thank you for your review of your wedding here at the hotel!

We're delighted that everything was to your enjoyment, and must say, our whole team enjoyed hosting your special day.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon and Dita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were working locally and needed overnight accomodation. Had a few problems booking online but was soon sorted.Upon arrival we were shown to our rooms - how often does that happen these days? A lovely 6 foot 4 poster room with a super size en-suite bathroom. Clearly money has been spent on the furniture, soft furnishings etc.If I were to be picky I'd say that the faux leather sofa looked out of place and detracted from an otherwise attractive room. It all looked very inviting and was well presented. The bathroom with seperate wc were spotless. The bed was firm and very comfortable (nice pillows as well). Drinks in the bar were reasonable priced and the food in the main resturant was well presented and tastey. If there was a negative the service was a bit slow but nothing too major.Breakfast the following morning was again well presented and piping hot. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I need to return to the area later this year and will need somewhere to stay. The Roundabout Hotel will be at the top of my list.

Room Tip: Room 101 is very nice, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_d_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Michael,

thank you for your review of your stay at The Roundabout!

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and while I'd like to think we're anything but "old fashioned" I totally get your point. Service seems to be a dying art, however we're doing all we can to keep it alive!

Apologies if you felt the service was slow, its something we're working on to improve, and we'd love to hear your feedback on your next stay to see if we've made improvements in this area.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I had a surprise stay for my 50th with family & friends at this lovely hotel last weekend it was fab u lus! Such a warm & friendly welcome, all the staff were lovely..My friends from Australia especially loved it.Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz-Parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Caz,

thnka you for the great review!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your 50th with us, and that your friends from Oz also had a great time.

We hope we can welcome you back again in the future

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Since arrival of the new staff and new chef in October the choices for the mains on the lunchtime menu has deteriorated and today we were offered corned beef hash, something which is more likely to be available in a transport cafe.
Nine months ago there was pork chop on the menu and other interesting meat dishes not just reused material like pies.
Suggest you revert to menus offered in the past and we might come back again .At present there are many better places in terms of value and quality for lunch in the area.


.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallflower890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Sir,

It was with great disappointment that I read your review of your recent lunch visit to the hotel.

I have to say the experience you write about has not been shared with the vast majority of our guests.

I'm not sure where you received your information regarding the team from, but we all started here in December, and inherited what was quite sad menu. Fortunately that's all about to change as we launch our new lunch menu on February 3rd.

This will feature dishes such as "Grilled Lemon Sole", a locally produced "Gourmet sausage trio" and a classic "West Sussex ploughman's".

I've popped a photograph of our Corned Beef Hash on Tripadvisor, so that other viewers can view the dishes we offer objectively and decide for themselves as to the standard we provide. It's our best selling dish at lunchtime, so I can only apologise if it wasn't to your liking.

I thank you for your suggestions, however we will not be going back to the dishes offered in the past. At £12.95 for 2 courses, we don't believe there are better value and quality places to lunch in the area.

In closing, I'd love for you to come back and try lunch again on us, it would be great to catch up with you in person and get some more ideas from you as to how we can improve the offering at the hotel.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Last weekend we enjoyed our second recent visit to the Roundabout. Our suite (four poster bed) was excellent in all aspects, possibly one of the very best we have ever stayed in. The hotel was homely, warm with a lovely atmosphere and the new management are obviously responsible for the positive changes. The meals were of the highest quality and very much appreciated together with the real ale. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we appreciated the service provided. Our only concern is that when the weather improves and the word gets out booking may prove diffucult as this smaller high quality hotel will be in much demand. Many thanks again and we wish the management every success for the future.

Phil and Pam

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Phil and Pam,

thank you for your great review of the hotel, we're delighted you had such a good time!

We're working hard on getting things right here, and promoting our high quality local real ales is just one of the ventures we have undertaken!

Hopefully we'll get the opportunity to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just had a weekend away here and it was great. A warm welcome from Simon and Dita, we were shown to our room which was lovely. Fantastic shower, and all the conveniences you would expect. We attended the Burns Night which was a great experience. Good atmosphere and fantastic food. The chef is a credit to the hotel!! Breakfast was served, cooked to order and served on warm plates. Good buffet selection too. Will definately be back soon!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Jenna,

thank you for the lovely comments regards your recent stay at the hotel.

We're glad you enjoyed everything, and yes, we do love our chef!!

Come on back any time you like, we'd look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chiltington
2.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
10.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
5.4 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
7.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundabout Hotel

Property: Roundabout Hotel
Address: Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Chiltington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chiltington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundabout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star country house hotel has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident's lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms. All rooms include: Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pulborough
Pulborough Best Western
Roundabout Hotel West Chiltington, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing