We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and peaceful night away”
Review of Roundabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roundabout Hotel
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Roundabout Hotel as a wedding gift from some friends. We stayed in the 'Tudor Rose' room, a little outbuilding round the back of the main hotel, looking out onto the beautiful gardens. It was idyllic, a beautiful room with a four poster bed and sizeable bathroom. We enjoyed a meal in the hotel restaurant and the food was to a high standard. The only let down was the size of our shared dessert - a cheese board, where we were served with only 3 crackers!

Aside from that, everything was perfect. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLipscombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Mrs Lipscombe,

thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay with us.

We're glad you enjoyed everything, I apologise if the cheeseboard was not to your expectations, we use three of west Sussex's finest cheeses, next time you stay, just ask for more crackers, we're happy to please!

Kind regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Roundabout Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

An excellent hotel, not far from Brighton and well suited for business travellers (non itemised billing, which is handy). Very well presented traditional style hotel but with a modern touch with sumptuous furnishings. WIFI signal excellent in the main hotel. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I've always eaten food from the bar menu, which has always been excellent and very well presented. There is separate A la carte menu and restaurant available. Breakfast was made to order. I've stayed here twice now over the past three months since discovering this gem and I'm staying again in a couple of days.

I paid just £65 for a superior room in March 2014 which was unbelievable value.

Well done to Simon and the team for an excellent stay everytime.

Room Tip: Pick the superior rooms over the standard. Well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icansmellthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for the delightful review of your recent stay with us.

We're glad you enjoy the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Many thanks

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Beautiful hotel & first class room, certaintly worthy of 4 stars but the breakfast was a huge disappointment.
No menu, no porridge, no kippers or haddock & no fruit except for half a dozen green apples in a bowl.
There was cereal & yoghurt put out to help yourself but no fruit juice, we had to ask for that.
Full English concisted of 1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage, half a tomatoe, 1 egg, a dessert spoon of baked beans & mushrooms & a small triangle of hash brown.
I wasn't expecting a trucker size breakfast but even for me, a small eater, it was very small, not 4 star at all.

Room Tip: We had a superior room, excellent
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela_lawrence47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Angela,

thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

Needless to say we were very disappointed to read your review, furthermore that you chose to rank the hotel with 1 circle for value, based on what I can only assume was your breakfast experience alone.

As you pointed out, our complimentary breakfast for 2, includes a choice of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit. fruit juices, toast, plus a full English breakfast comprising of sausage, bacon, your choice of eggs, beans, mushrooms and hash brown. I'm sorry that you did not consider this to be an adequate breakfast, and I must say that this is not a view shared by the vast majority of our guests.

We are working on providing additional bespoke breakfasts for guests in the future, and your feedback has been taken on board.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What a gem! This was our first visit to this charming little place to celebrate a 'special' birthday for the wife and myself. A very stylish, comfortable and relaxed hotel with staff who make every effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Presentation is top notch, the accommodation is lovely and the food is exceptional.

We received a warm and helpful welcome, with a tour of the place as it was our first time. Room 110 is out of this world for the price (a superior double) with comfy king size bed, an additional sitting room and a bath so big I could sit cross-legged in it widthways! Other accommodation was housed in a nearby annexe called 'Woodside' (which we didn't visit) so it might be worth asking when you book. We were just above the bar area and very cosy it was too. The creaky oak wood flooring, deep velvet finish and chandeliers made for a very plush and indulgent atmosphere. Perfect for our overnight treat.

Dinner was truly memorable. G&T first in the very welcoming lounge area on soft sofas with a library feel. The menu is pricey but the food is fabulous. Cannon of lamb came with beautifully cooked mini veg, a light and fruity jus and the lamb was as pink as it was flavoursome. My wife had cod with chorizo and roasted peppers. Brilliant food - a real foodies heaven! My chocolate fondant was very good and the salted caramel ice cream was incredible. (The fondant had a pistachio and white chocolate filling which was a bit of non-event but the whole dish was superb).

We slept extremely well. Despite the special function going on down in the basement, we heard absolutely nothing and had a great night's sleep. The room facilities were finished with the usual touches and, for the price, the accommodation is excellent value. I suspect our next visit will be for more than just the one night! We wandered down the country lanes and strolled around the West Chiltington Golf Course and it is a beautiful rural spot.

Breakfast was the only slight disappointment as it didn't quite match up to the high quality maintained throughout. There was no table set so we had to wait (and I really dislike seeing waitresses over-spraying tables with cleaning fluid - all the best trained staff spray the cloth, not the table) and we had to wait a while. Other than cereal and toast, the only cooked option was Full English - or variations of it. We would have loved to have seen Eggs Benedict or some kind of fish on offer.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel without reservation. Superb quality and lovely service from a young and friendly staff. Why not a grade of 'excellent'? Just minor touches really - breakfast wasn't at the same high level, the lounge tables hadn't been wiped down from the night before, my wife's cod wasn't served with any spinach and when we pointed it out to the waitress, she checked in the kitchen and simply said "he forgot". These are just silly little bits which we can easily overlook and we would not hesitate to book again. Our favourite West Sussex hotel so far.

Room Tip: Room 110 - wow!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickWhite677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Nick,

thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Just a quick note regards hygiene, the spray must be in direct contacted with the table, as this allows the anti-bacterial agent to work effectively (it needs a 30-60 second contact time). Any food related employees that you see spraying the cloth prior are unfortunately not following food hygiene legislation.

I can only apologise for the "minor touches" that let down your stay, and thank you for the feedback which we will endeavour to use in a positive manor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have sadly just arrived home after 4 nights at this hotel and we cannot wait to go back. Beautiful furnishings with attention to detail. Spotlessly clean. Really good food. Idyllic location. Staff were first class, really friendly and helpful. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in many countries and this measures up to the best of them. U.K. hotels should aspire to this standard. Thank you.

Room Tip: From what I saw I cannot imagine a bad one.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillianemilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Gillian,

thank you for the lovely review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

We're absolutely delighted that everything met (and exceeded) your expectations!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and found the hotel, its staff and surrounding gardens to be wonderful. the food was delicious and the staff were eager to do everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable,...we would definitely go back and would recommend this lovely place to our friends. M y husband wanted to bring the bed home because it was so comfortable!
If i was to be picky I would say the only slight downside was the heat...it was a bit hot indoors, but having said that we did go on the weekend that the weather changed and warmed up! So it may not have been a problem in the colder weather..overall though we loved it and had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diggerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Roundabout Hotel.

I must say, we are pleased your husband didn't take the bed with him! However thanks for the lovely feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked are wedding here and we are so happy we did , the management team are second to none, nothing was to much trouble , the hotel is beautiful the staff are beyond a doubt the most cheerful and willing staff I have come across and I have stayed at some costly hotels , the food is truly to die for , we had all rooms booked at this hotel and every single guest complimented the rooms staff and hotel x stay here you truly could not ask for a better hotel .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocosim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Jo,

thank you for your review of your wedding here at the hotel!

We're delighted that everything was to your enjoyment, and must say, our whole team enjoyed hosting your special day.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon and Dita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chiltington
2.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
146 reviews
10.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,646 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
367 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundabout Hotel

Address: Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Chiltington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chiltington
Price Range: £83 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundabout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star country house hotel has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident's lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms. All rooms include: Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pulborough
Pulborough Best Western
Roundabout Hotel West Chiltington, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing