We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Wedding Reception”
Review of Roundabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roundabout Hotel
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We held a reception for 50 of our close friends and family at the Hotel last Saturday (21st June). The staff were so well trained, happy in their work, exceptionally helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The buffet lunch was beautifully presented and the food excellent quality. The weather was really good too! We held the pre-lunch drinks in the garden and lovely canapés were served. Many of our guests have expressed their delight at being invited to such an excellent event. A big THANK YOU to the management

John & Sue F

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear John and Sue,

thank you for your lovely review of the hotel, w are absolutely delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

We hope to welcome you and your guests back again in the future!

Kind regards

Simon and Dita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel has a lovely,rural location and the hotel itself has so much character and a really imposing frontage.I checked in early so tried lunch whilst there;a bit of a let down with a 45 minute wait and a less than appealing presentation on the food.Later that day had a wander around the area for several miles.Some stunning properties and countryside.Had a drink out in the garden area before dinner which was a massive improvement on lunch.Very enjoyable meal.My room was in the side mews and the room was well decorated and equipped and I enjoyed a very good night's rest.Breakfast next morning was quite good and service overall was reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and also that dinner and breakfast were to your enjoyment!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Staff were friendly enough just really dissapointed as payed for the luxury double room and it wasn't like the picture s had stated so it wasnt what we payed for, the room was to hot needed a fan or air con, the dinner menu didnt really have much variety. As for the breakfast it was awful we got our toast then about 20 minutes later had our breakfast which wasnt very nice the sausages were well over cooked, weve stayed in many hotels and its alot better to have a buffet breakfast as u can put on your plate what u want as the portions seemed tight one little spoon of beans with a crispy sausage one piece of bacon and 4 mushrooms with a fried crispy hash brown didnt go down to well especially for a mans breakfast they should have opitions of a large or a small breakfast, decided to have a yoghurt and that was warm so didnt end up eating it def wont be staying here again but maybe we were just unlucky. Not worth the money we payed its not a 4* maybe a 3* .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Camilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Camilla,

thank you for your recent review of the Roundabout Hotel.

I must say, we were very disappointed with your review, as the vast majority of guests on this and other websites are very pleased with their experience.

Our hotel contain 24 bedrooms, all of which are very different in size and shape due to the age of the building. I've posted some photographs of the room you stayed in, for other guests to look at and see whether they consider it to be luxury, although a different layout, it is the same style, and size as the photographs posted on our website and other booking sites.

I'm sorry that breakfast wasn't to your taste, and have discussed your feedback with chef, of course had you let us know about any of the disappointments you encountered during your stay prior to checkout, we would of tried to resolve the issues for you, we do for example have fans available for guests to use in their rooms.

I'm sorry to hear that you won't be returning to the hotel,

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Roundabout Hotel in West Chiltington is in a lovely location, the Hotel staff were friendly, and all area's of the Hotel were clean and welcoming.
Our room was lovely, spacious and quiet, we had a drink in the bar before dinner, and some friends joined us for dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food was very well presented and very tasty, and the wine list has a good selection. Breakfast was also good, and the full english non greasy.
We would stay here again, if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Jen,

thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and can't wait to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was there for a wedding that took place near this hotel in June 2013. The food was amazing for a British hotel and I was very surprised. Being from a country of delicious food (Turkey), I probed in the chef behind this delicacy..He came out to be a French gentleman! The coffee was good too( which is rare in most hotels..) The rooms were cosy in design and fabric, and clean as well. The garden was well kept and one feels relaxed and at home in the well
kept simplicity of the lawn..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Evin,

thank you for your lovely review of the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back agina in the future!

Kind regards

Simon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is the third time that we have visited this hotel. As always we received a warm welcome and were shown to our magnificent room and adjoining double shower room. It was sumptuous and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant and again in the morning for breakfast.
Hope to return one day.

Room Tip: All rooms that we have had have been lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah3750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Sarah,

thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

We're delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here in February for a family event nearby. Rooms were excellent and clean. Staff were very hospitable and friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble and we were very well looked after. The food was good without being outstanding and was certainly good value for money. Breakfast was the only area I felt the hotel needs to improve on. The service was a little slow and the portion size of the cooked items was a bit tight, for example, it would have been nice to have 2 slices of bacon, 2 eggs etc. There was no real thought on the buffet items either, this could have been improved upon to offer a wider choice.
In no way did this spoil our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to go back in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOMMO14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Tommo,

thank you for the review of your recent stay with us.

I'm glad you felt looked after by the team, and that you enjoyed your stay.

While we have reviewed our breakfast offering, I do believe that 2 bacon, 2 eggs, 2 sausages, 2 blackpudding, 2 hash browns, baked beans, mushrooms, toast, yoghurt and cereal might be a little excessive, however we will take your feedback on board.

Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chiltington
4.8 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fittleworth
185 reviews
7.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
355 reviews
5.4 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in Worthing
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,709 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
154 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundabout Hotel

Address: Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham District > West Chiltington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chiltington
Price Range: £79 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundabout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star country house hotel has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident's lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms. All rooms include: Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pulborough
Pulborough Best Western
Roundabout Hotel West Chiltington, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing