We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and friendly”
Review of Old House at Home

Old House at Home
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Public House, Bed & Breakfast & RestaurantSituated in the heart of West Wittering on Cakeham Road and only a 5 minute walk to one of the best beaches in the UK. We have a very large beer garden and a childrens play area at the back of the pub. We have a Dining Room and a separate Lounge Bar area. Dogs and children are welcome. We serve food from 12-3pm & 6-9pm everyday.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“warm and friendly”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Popped in here on Sat after a lovely long walk on the beach . The Landlady was really friendly and more logs were put on the fire for us.all the staff seemed really close and the landlady was lovely to the waitress as she finished for the afternoon . We were introduced to a local Gentleman who shared a little history of the village and we wish we had sat for longer in this lovely place, A little thing than can ruin a visit to a pub restaurant is poorly cleaned toilets and this didn't happen here! The toilets were Spotlessly clean. and we will hope to enjoy a drink here again in the summer and any other time we are near

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    69
    23
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I wish I could remember all of New Years Eve!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A very welcoming place with a very good selection of beer and excellent food. Also a very nice 3 litre bottle of Rioja which was good value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grahamn278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, good food”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We came here for lunch with the family and friends and got the warmest welcome and our pick of the tables. The menu was tempting and we were pleased with the food. We could see why it's popular, and it's in one of the prettiest villages in the area with a gorgeous beach. I'd recommend it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Excellent - Christmas Eve at The Old House”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

After a busy day preparing Christmas dinner, the 6 of us ventured off to the Old House at Home. It was fairly busy and the open fire burning away made for a great atmosphere.

We ordered fish and meat platters to share and a couple of pates. These starters were excellent and thoroughly enjoyed by our party.

Main courses consisted of Duck; the meat was beautiful and fell off the bone and we also had a couple of risottos and a baked camembert.

A few beers and wine to wash this all down, then treated ourselves to a few shots to finish the wonderful evening off.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“christmas day meal”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Thank you so much to all the staff,we had a lovely Christmas day Meal here,food was excellent,staff brilliant.nothing was too much trouble. This was our first visit here and will definitely visit again.
Thanks again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MCJSMGBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old House at Home also viewed

West Wittering, West Sussex
West Wittering, West Sussex
 
West Wittering, West Sussex
East Wittering, West Sussex
 
East Wittering, West Sussex
Bracklesham Bay, Chichester
 

Been to Old House at Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing