We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back! Good, safe family site.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Wittering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nunnington Farm Camping Site
Certificate of Excellence
Loxwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will be back! Good, safe family site.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was our first experience of camping as a family. 3 children in tow - aged 4,6 & 7. Got there on Satursday afternoon and was down to two pitches with no leccy (not a problem). We did phone ahead on the way down to check current availablity and owners were helpful on the phone. No problems on arrival and found everyone polite. Pitches are a little close but car/windbreaker preserves privacy. Toilet blocks and showers were maintained in excellent condition and rubbish collectors seem to constantly be collecting. Most importantly we felt very safe with letting the children wander on their own and they made some friends easily. Owners lent me some jump leads with no issue after we stupidly run down our car battery after blowing up airbeds using the in car charger. As we haven't camped in earnest before we don't have much to compare to but we will return, hopefully this month for a longer stay. Hopefully this time we won't get a downpour and thunder and lightning :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    18
    1
    2
    9
See reviews for
75
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The best camp site we have stayed at for several reasons including, location, cleanliness, friendliness & safeness for kids. We have now been staying at this campsite every summer for the last 4 years, and we can not wait to return as soon as the school summer holidays kick off again. Think the fact that our girls - aged 10 and 12 - look forward to our summer camping as much as our annual sun holiday abroad speaks for itself, as does the fact that so many families return year after year. The site is a credit to its friendly and helpful owners!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank SmileyRiley203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was the first camp we'd done in our old VW after getting it back on the road so we decided not to go too far and chose West Wittering. We arrived at Nunnington Farm on the Saturday afternoon and were very lucky to nab the last remaining EHU pitch! The owners were very friendly, after reading some of the reviews on here I was expecting to meet Madge off of Benidorm, but nothing of the sort, very helpful and pleasant and couldn't do enough to make your stay a pleasant one. The site was FULL, it was bank holiday weekend and it was rammed to the rafters with people but the facilities were always very clean and well looked after, I noticed one toilet was blocked but was sorted out almost immediately. Highly recommended, very close to the town, shops, pub, etc. Great facilities and a warm welcome, perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were refused entry to this campsite based purely on the fact that we knew three other families/couples who had already pitched their tents. They, and us were told 'no groups' - I can understand no teen groups or single sex groups, but we were a party of two very sensible couples and two familes with young children (plus me being pregnant) - hardly likely to be causing a lot of noise late at night! The others had pitched their tents and by the third arrival, the owner reluctantly let them in but was monitoring them constantly on CCTV. My husband called to explain our situation, willingly offering to leave if we caused too much noise, but was told 'bish, bash, bosh, no groups'. He was so rude that my husband was totally shocked.
I can understand the 'no groups' rule, but if you make that rule, then stick to it. A party of three to me is a group, but that was allowed. Suddenly a fourth was not.
The campsite may be lovely, but if you get rude owners (mentioned on the UK Campsite website too) it can affect your stay and unfortunately, they will never be getting business from us or our friends again. Politeness doesn't cost a thing.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
25 Thank Snobored75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Fantastic campsite where we keep coming back to every year, normal common sense rules which makes it safe for kids. Little farm for the kids to see all sorts of animals, dog field close by, shops close by, park close by, everything is close and not right in your face. Very clean site, VERY helpful owners. If you want a campers site thin this is it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DanandJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

I would agree with the other review. The site was clean and showers quite powerful. Fabulous if you want to go to west wittering beach as you can walk. We did take the car for 6 pounds as we were there all day and the kids would not have liked the walk back when tired. Great butchers across road for barb eques and beach shop and other store with bakery for groceries with cash back. Kids enjoyed the pet park and the site was friendly and felt safe. The kids would have enjoyed more to do in the play area such as climbing frames etc. as it was really just a field but for cleanliness and location I would definitely return.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank jop41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Nunnington Farm and were pleased to find clean well kept facilities and spacious pitches. You cannot pre-book so we were not sure there would be pitches available having travelled for a couple of hours but there was no need for concern as there was plenty of room. Having viewed their website it appears that you camp in overlooking rows however the pitches are large enough and seperated in rows with a small concrete path between so there is plenty of room on each for a car and a tent and space to move around. We particularly liked the 3pm check out here as it allows time for the tent to dry properly on the colder mornings. The shower block that was open contained 4 showers, a children's bath and a number of toilets, there was always plenty of hot (and cold) water whenever we used them and they were clean and well maintained. The pot wash is inside the shower block and here you can find washing machines, a tumble dryer and an ironing board!!
There are rules posted up around the site and of which I thought were prefectly reasonable, however the request for parents not to allow their children to play in the toilets was not adhered to on either night we stayed and I didn't think it appropriate that they were throwing a ball around in there.
There are two shops at the end of the driveway that sell everything from newspapers to items for the beach, there is also a restaurant and a short walk takes you to a pub called The Lamb. West Wittering beach and East Head are well worth a visit. East Wittering is a short drive away and where you can find Tesco, Co-Op, pharmacy and a few other shops.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank planegirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wittering
4.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
867 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Plush Tents Glamping
Plush Tents Glamping
#1 of 1 in East Ashling
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kite House
The Kite House
#2 of 3 in East Wittering
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunnington Farm Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunnington Farm Camping Site

Property: Nunnington Farm Camping Site
Address: Nunnington Farm Rookwood Road | Rookwood Road, West Wittering PO20 8LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Wittering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in West Wittering
Also Known As:
Nunnington Farm Camping Site West Wittering, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing