We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown in from the Beach..”
Review of The Landing

The Landing
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Enjoy freshly ground coffees, carefully prepared for you using specially sourced Java beans roasted the Neapolitan way. Enjoy your coffee with one of our fresh continental cakes or patisseries.We also offer light breakfasts/brunches, lunches, afternoon teas, plus specially selected organic wines by the glass, carafe or bottle, Italian brewed beer and a “grown-up” hot drink menu.Open at 8am daily (9am Saturdays and Sundays), till early evening.
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A welcome winter coffee if ever you get blown in from the beach.. nice range of yummy looking cakes and goodies, however we just stopped to thaw out with a hot drink. Very clean and very friendly..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pbchurchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannas116, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our cafe and your visit to West Wittering. We get lots of tourists from all over the world and GB all year round popping in on their way too or way back from the beach - we also provide take-aways too - useful when you are on holiday ....

We hope you get the opportunity to come again ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for The Landing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We called in last week for a quick cup of coffee and a cake before they closed. 20 minutes later we received our 2 hot chocolates, 1 mocha and 3 cakes. The food and drinks were delicious, the atmosphere comfortable and relaxing. Just a shame the service was so slow. It just took the very friendly lady and her assistant a very long time to make the drinks and there wasn't a queue of people in front of us! We will probably give it another go sometime though as lots of potential to have a good relaxing and unhurried refreshment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chalotte_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannas116, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate hearing your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit, albeit for the wait, many apologies. We are a small, independent cafe and have a small coffee machine so sometimes a order for hot drinks may take a little longer at times. We'd never hurry anyone out of the door who have arrived shortly before closing though.

I hope you come back and see us again soon - nothing better than a blowy beach walk followed by a hotchoc and cake - perfect way to spend a couple of hours!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is more a coffee shop than a restaurant. But it offers a choice a healthy food and snack including glutten free product and soya milk.
The decoration is very charming, the staff is very nice and friendly. I recommend this place for a snack, a lunch break a coffee a cake and a good relaxing time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannas116, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Many thanks for writing your review. Its great for us to receive your feedback as we all enjoy our work and the customers who visit The Landing. We do hope you'll be able to visit us again.

Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 11 and I rang ahead to ensure we could be accommodated. We had to pre-order but everything was very fresh and tasted delicious. Joanna, the owner was so helpful and nothing was too much for her and her team. We will definitely be returning.

Thank SarahLiveing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannas116, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, of course we remember your group and are pleased you choose to come to us on your weekend away - with a number of people its always safer to book - and we are glad the sun came out for your walk on the beach, just goes to show you shouldn't always change your plans depending on the weather forecast.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

After a bracing walk along the beach, what more do you want than a warm, comfortable place to have a spot of lunch. But in January - is there anywhere open? The Landing at West Wittering was not only open, but had a full menu of delicious lunch items. There were upright chairs and tables and squashy sofas. The service wasn't fast, but everything was made to order. A perfect end to a wonderful walk in a brilliant place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pit53_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannas116, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit at The Landing. We do stay open throughout the year, 7 days a week, as you do get some fantastic days down here, with the wind quickly blowing clouds/mist etc away - no-one seems to come away from a bracing walk on the beach with the feeling that they wished they hadn't bothered .... maybe it does help to add a "pit stop" with us for a treat though!!??

Hope you visit again soon,

Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Landing also viewed

West Wittering, West Sussex
West Wittering, West Sussex
 
Bracklesham Bay, Chichester
West Wittering, West Sussex
 
East Wittering, West Sussex
East Wittering, West Sussex
 

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing