We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fit the poor or hungry”

The Lamb Inn West Wittering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Another pub turned into a gourmet eaterie. £12.50 for a tiny square of lasagne with a few leaves beautifully arranged on top. Not that lasagne can really be called gourmet food, and although very tasty frankly I have eaten just as good if not better lasagne at home. We did not bother with a pudding in case we needed a microscope to find it and at £6.00 each that was too much of a risk. I still feel value for money counts and for this reason I will not be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aebromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Owner at The Lamb Inn West Wittering, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear aeBromley,

Many thanks for the review - I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal with us a couple of weeks ago - apologies for the slow response as well to this review - I try to get back to all review within a week, but summertime conspired against me!

Regarding your lasagne, I'm sorry that you didn't feel the portion size was large enough, as a pub we do always want to make sure that hearty portions are served to our hungry customers - and this is something we have already addressed. I'm glad that you were happy with the other aspects of your visit to us, and we'd love to welcome you back to the pub in the future.

All the best,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 374 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Really nice place with nice staff and suparb beer and food.
Not the cheapest place to eat but you get what you pay for,quality lunch.
Lovely lunch and dog friendly to just add to the day.

Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Owner at The Lamb Inn West Wittering, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear James,

Many thanks for the positive review - it's always much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the future.

all the best,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Everything was great: food, drink, staff, atmosphere. Lovely. Definitely worth a visit, especially if you're staying at nearby Stubcroft Farm campsite.

Thank jackwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Owner at The Lamb Inn West Wittering, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Maxilee 13,

Many thanks for your lovely review - We're really glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we value your feedback. With regard to children's menus, we have always had options available for little people, but as children vary quite a bit in shapes and sizes we have up til now offered a bit more of a tailored approach to kids. However, we do now feature children's options on our main menu.

Thanks, and we hope to see you again soon!

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Really lovely pub with a fab atmosphere and great customer service.. The food was top , everyone in my party raved about their choices .. It is the sister restaurant of Samphire in East Wittering which we had visited previously in our holiday. We definitely return and recommend ... PS could do with a children's menu.

Thank maxilee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Owner at The Lamb Inn West Wittering, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thanks very much for taking the time to write your positive review - it really is appreciated!

While we do offer a selection of childrens options on our menu, we don't tend to print this as an official 'kids menu', as children tend to come in lots of sizes, and so we prefer to tailor our existing menu to their requirements so that they neither leave hungry or are given way too much!

I hope that helps, and we look forward to looking forward to welcoming you to The Lamb again in the future.

All the best,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely pub with great food and good welcome. We took our 2-week-old baby and our dog on a Monday evening during school holidays. We rang in advance and were advised to book as it got very busy. Good quality and varied menu, lovely grub. Attentive but not intrusive service. Good idea to get there at start of food service time as it is popular. Only constructive criticism, no local ales.
Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MuttleyCrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Owner at The Lamb Inn West Wittering, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thanks so much for your review - I'm really please you enjoyed your experience at The Lamb, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

All the best,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lamb Inn West Wittering also viewed

East Wittering, West Sussex
West Wittering, West Sussex
 
Bracklesham Bay, Chichester
West Wittering, West Sussex
 
East Wittering, West Sussex
Wickham, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lamb Inn West Wittering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing