We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Birthday treat”
Review of The Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Wittering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday treat”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in November. It was booked as a surprise for me so I had no idea where were going or what we doing apart from that I needed to dress up. We had a lovely warm welcome, the room was spotlessly clean & well equipped with a large powerful shower & crisp white bedding. It turned out the event was an opera evening. Not something I would ever has chosen myself, but it was fantastic.The meal was fantastic & I loved the way that they spread it over the whole evening interspersed with the opera so we never felt too full. The meal was so good that we ate there again on the Saturday evening. The breakfast was just as good. The staff were friendly & attentive at all times. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location was good as it was only a few minutes walk to the beautiful long sandy beach. A great weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhse, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your birthday with us and I hope we see you again soon.

Best Wishes

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    34
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
61
68
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed (sadly just for one night) during half term, two families in 3 rooms. The Beach House is charming, beautifully decorated and the attention to detail was fabulous. Very comfortable and spotless rooms and an excellent evening meal and breakfast. The staff were so welcoming and made us all feel like it was home from home. The children felt so relaxed they were playing games in their onesies in the sitting room after dinner! Nothing was too much trouble. We really hope to go again one day for longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhse, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Many thanks for your review. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and I hope you get the chance to come back to West Wittering soon.

Best Wishes

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed with my dog for one night to explore beach and surroundings.
Wonderful sandy dog friendly beach for long walks.
The Beach House is a wonderful, New England style bed and breakfast. Great attention to detail, such as large selection of magazines in the lounge area and fridge to store perishables.
Hospitality of Pam and Simon, makes it feel very relaxed nothing too much trouble.
Rooms immaculate and two dog friendly rooms, with outdoor access.
Breakfast was excellent too, with perfectly creamy scrambled eggs.
Rooms were lovely and warm, despite being November.
Will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhse, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Very happy to hear you and your hound enjoyed your time with us... Hope to see you both back again soon.

Best Wishes

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just returned home after a few wonderful days and nights staying at The Beach House in West Wittering. We went for a few days R&R with our dog and were warmly welcomed by the lovely staff who were more than happy to oblige our every whim. Being with our dog we stayed in the dog friendly rooms which are a little annex next to the main house - this was ideal as we could walk straight out for walks and alleviated any concern we had about disturbing others if our dog barked (which she didnt as she was right at home); this set up was perfect.

The whole property is extremely tastefully decorated in warm tones of gray with seaside accents abounding; designer cushions and throws; crisp white bedlinen and fluffy duvets made for an extremely comfortable stay. There is obviously someone who owns the Beach House who cares greatly for the aesthetic of the hotel with a mind of making it a very restful experience for their guests; reminiscent of a luxury spa.

We stayed bed and breakfast and were not dissappointed, the full breakfast menu was offered - from simple cereal or toast to a full english or even eggs benedict which my partner described as sublime. My father was on a restricted diet for health reasons and his dietary requirements were very discreetly met to his satisfaction.

The Beach House is not far from West Wittering Beach and even in November was perfect for taking long walks in the glorious sea air; Chichester was also well worth a visit; My Parents visited the Air Museum at Tangmere and enjoyed that. Portsmouth is not far either for shopping, museums etc; overall this is a wonderful area to visit with lots to do and see, and at the end of each day; another warm welcome at The Beach House; we are looking forward to doing just that very soon, thankyou!

Room Tip: dog friendly rooms are seperate from the main building so no worries if you are concerned about taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcwoodwardflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhse, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review, we really appreciate your feedback and comments. I hope that you get the chance to visit us again soon.

Warm Wishes

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had heard this was a top notch place to stay but the were wrong - it was better!

We planned to take our two dogs for a few days of walks and runs on West Wittering's beach in Winter and looked for a dog-friendly place nearby. The Beach House looked good and once we'd booked we discovered friends had stayed there too.

The rooms at the back (Rooms 1 and 2) are called family sized and can accommodate pets, so we booked one of these. They are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The shower is excellent and worth a visit itself.

The staff were all very friendly, always helpful and we felt like part of the family.

I would highly recommend the Beach House!

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayneleeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhse, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reviews us, we appreciate your feedback. I am happy to hear you had a wonderful time and we hope you get the chance to visit us again soon.

Best Wishes

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have just arrived home after spending a lovely time in West Wittering, and I cannot praise The Beach House highly enough. We were travelling with our dogs, and there are two very comfortable rooms set at the rear of the property for families, both human and furry. The rooms and beds were amazing and the food in the restaurant excellent. The owner and staff are totally customer focused and couldn't do enough for us. When the restaurant was closed on Sunday and Monday evening, the chef left delicious sandwiches and chicken salad in the communal fridge for us and the owner popped in to have a chat whilst we ate, such personal service, it made me feel like we were travelling first class. Thanks to all at the beach house, we will be visiting again

Room Tip: If you have dogs. Room 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhse, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review, we really appreciate your comments and feedback. I hope you get to come back and enjoy West Wittering again soon.

Best Wishes

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just come back from a weekend away and as the title says we had a very relaxing time. We had a dog with us but were made to feel very welcome. We stayed in an annex especially for those with dogs - The room was tastefully decorated and very comfy. The food was excellent but what made the visit was the friendly staff. We will definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MREKCUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhse, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing and you and your four legged friend again soon.

Warm Regards

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wittering
4.4 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
875 reviews
3.7 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
5.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
525 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: Rookwood Road, West Wittering PO20 8LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Wittering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Wittering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel West Wittering
The Beach House West Wittering, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing