We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect home for a 3 generation family.”

Review of Thornton

Kitchen, dinning and living area with views into the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen, dinning and living area with views into the garden.
Open planning living and dinning Entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Kitchen, dinning and living area with views into the garden.
Open planning living and dinning
Entrance hall
Range cooker, 90cm wide oven and 5 gas hobs. Kitchen island and breakfast bar.
Dinning table for 8 people
Living room area
Rear of the house and garden with outside table  for 8 and terrace with coffee table.
Master bedroom (Super King Bed) with en-suite bathroom.
En-suite bathroom to the master bedroom.
Twin bedroom upstairs
Double bedroom downstairs (King Size Bed)
Twin bed downstairs with trundle bed if requested.
Family bathroom downstairs with walk in shower and large bath
Utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer, freezer and microwave.
Front of house with ample parking for 3 cars
The local beach at high tide - 4 minutes walk away!
Wood Burner for those cold winter days.
Floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
West Wittering, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah S
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect home for a 3 generation family.”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely house, very thoughtfully equipped and beautifully decorated. The whole family loved the open plan downstairs area and the bedrooms were all very roomy and comfortable. Well situated too, just a short walk to the sea-front or the local shops. If I had to find any fault at all, I think we could have made use of a little bit bigger garden, but absolutely nothing else to complain about!
The owners made the whole booking process easy too, very helpful and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fantastic open plan seating/dining/kitchen area.
Liked least: Having to ask a neighbour for my frisbee after I threw it over! My fault entirely.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBB8JJ
Hassocks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Top Quality seaside accommodation”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Thornton is excellent accommodation, beautifully presented with every amenity you could want to make your stay really comfortable and easy. There is plenty of space for up to 8 people, comfy beds, 3 bathrooms and a very well equipped kitchen. The rear garden is a well secluded suntrap with plenty of seating and the use of a bar-b-q.
It is located in a quiet cul-de-sac with an easy 5 minute walk to the beach or shops which both have all you need for a seaside holiday.
Rain or shine, Thornton is 'spot on' for quality seaside accommodation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious lounge/kitchen/diner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to submit such a positive review. We love being able to walk to the village shops with its traditional butchers, fishmongers, bakery, sweet shop and grocers. A real throw back in time to traditional village life!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C
Saline, Michigan
2 reviews
“To quote Mary Poppins - Practically perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

You always take a leap of faith when booking something online, especially when travelling from abroad. I am happy to say that Thornton is as good, if not better in real life than in the photos. Spacious, comfortable. light and airy, clean. well equipped and perfectly placed for our excursions & meetings with family members. Communication with the owners was also perfect. I would have absolutely no hesitation in staying there again.
If you like fish & chips - Moby's is the place to go!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space & comfort
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for the review, a great start to the summer season! Not been to Moby's, I think thats towards Bracklesham Bay. Will have to try it next time we are there. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Thanks Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalflus...
2 reviews
“Great house in a quiet location near beach, shops and restaurants”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great week here, despite being peak season it never felt really packed like other seaside UK destinations. Fabulous house; spacious and very well equipped. East Wittering beach is close by and a hidden gem at low tide when the sand comes out. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the property, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and agree that it is a hidden gem!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaJoValle...
Vallentuna
1 review
“Fantastic house we can higly recommend it!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 5 days, five adults and two children and all of us liked the house immensely.
Every room in the house is spacious and clean.
There was nothing lacking, everything we needed was there.
An easy walk down to the beach and also close to shops and restaurants. The owners were very helpful in giving us tips about restaurants and what to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for such a glowing review, we are so glad that you had such a wonderful time and would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 5 days and had a fantastic experience. Booking was very easy. The house is beautiful and very well equipped. The house was very clean on arrival and we even got a bottle of Champagne from the owners. The location is great, only a 5 minute walk from both the beach and town. Would definitely recommend this place to friends and we will probably be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
What a lovely review thank you so much, we are so glad you had a lovely time and would welcome you back again soon. Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiaEken
1 review
“Lovely house and garden close to local beach.”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely house with spacious and nice rooms and open plan living area. Kids loved playing in the paddling pool and with slide in beautiful garden.
House is only a few minutes walk from local beach, but needed car for kids to get to the main West Wittering sandy beach. (Local beach is only sandy at low tide.)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Thanks you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, there are tide times in the house and also a tide clock, we find it helpful to plan our days around the tides so as to make the most of the local beach. I hope this is of help for future guests. Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing