We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful spacious house”

Review of Thornton

Kitchen, dinning and living area with views into the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen, dinning and living area with views into the garden.
Open planning living and dinning Entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Kitchen, dinning and living area with views into the garden.
Open planning living and dinning
Entrance hall
Range cooker, 90cm wide oven and 5 gas hobs. Kitchen island and breakfast bar.
Dinning table for 8 people
Living room area
Rear of the house and garden with outside table  for 8 and terrace with coffee table.
Master bedroom (Super King Bed) with en-suite bathroom.
En-suite bathroom to the master bedroom.
Twin bedroom upstairs
Double bedroom downstairs (King Size Bed)
Twin bed downstairs with trundle bed if requested.
Family bathroom downstairs with walk in shower and large bath
Utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer, freezer and microwave.
Front of house with ample parking for 3 cars
The local beach at high tide - 4 minutes walk away!
Wood Burner for those cold winter days.
Floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
West Wittering, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jess W
1 review
“Beautiful spacious house”
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We loved our stay at Thornton. It doesn’t look big from the outside but is like the tardis inside. The bedrooms were all spacious and lovely and the kitchen and living room were stylish and cosy. Very short walk to the beach. We will definitely come back when it’s hotter!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
Hi Jess, So pleased to hear you had a great weekend. A Tardis does sum up the house well when viewed from the front! You're very welcome to come back in the summer months although the local micro climate does make September and October a great time to visit. Many thanks Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanbeva...
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for family gatherings”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Rather belatedly, I would like to agree with previous comments that this place is perfect for special family occasions, in our case a 70th birthday party for Grandad last October. Rather unprepossessing externally, but a totally different impression internally, spacious, light, modernly stylish, attractively furnished, well equipped ( though would suggest a few extra basics in the form of cups/plates etc in order to improve on dishwasher efficiency) The layout was perfect and bathrooms in abundance were a real treat.
The location also excellent, so close to the beach and altogether a very nice area. Walking around East Head on a clear and sunny morning really lovely. Didn’t get much chance to investigate the restaurants, but Drifters a great place for a coffee (or more) and a very good meal at the Crown and Anchor at Dell Quay.
Finally, I would like to thank Bob for being so friendly and helpful on the phone, and by email. The personal touch is important to me and much appreciated.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2018
Hi Susan, Thank you so much for your kind review. Feed back is always appreciated. I had increased the number of glasses recently but I'll check the crockery situation. We'd initially provided enough crockery for 16, so double the amount required, but there may have been more breakages than I was aware of! Dell Quay and Drifters are two firm favourites of mine too. Many thanks Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IceQueenF...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thornton, West Wittering New Year 2017”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had 3 days at Thornton over New Year with some friends - 4 adults and 4 kids (aged 5-8). The location is brilliant and right next to the beach. This is a really fantastic rental which both we and our kids all loved. The bedrooms and family area are all beautifully furnished and felt like real home from home. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and really comfortable. Great log burner too - highly recommended for a long weekend getaway or for a relaxing week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
So glad to hear that you all had a great New Year in the Wittering's. I'm sure you took part in the local charity New Years day dip in the sea, hence the need for the wood burner!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for such an amazing review. Its alway appreciated and lovely when others enjoy the house and area as much as we do. Kind regards Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Nov 2017
Hi, thanks so much for the kind review and so pleased you had a relaxing weekend by the sea. You're welcome back anytime. Bob and Georgie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sandhurst...
Sandhurst
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Perfect place to create treasured memories with our extended family. Plenty of bathrooms to give everyone privacy and an incredibly spacious front room where we could all eat, relax together and enjoy each other's company. Great to have laundry facilities with a little one too:) the games and books were a nice touch as well. Close proximity to the stunning beach of West Wittering and to the shops when you need to stock up. The local chippy can also be recommended.
Thanks for helping us to have a memorable few days together

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
So glad you had a such a great break away enjoying the house and what the area has to offer. We are also a little bit keen on the local chippy and their fish and chips! Thanks Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aly045
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect for a four generation beach holiday”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This rental worked very well for us. It was very child friendly with a wonderfully spacious through lounge and kitchen and good sized bedrooms. My elderly mother slept downstairs next to the bathroom which was helpful. The beds were all comfy and we made good use of the garden for eating outside and playing on the slide , giant bean bag, and other toys. It was a very short walk to the beach and we swam every day. It was also handy being near the shops etc in East Wittering. I would highly recommend this property. Lots of attention to detail including a bottle of fizz on arrival! Thank you Bob and Georgie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for the kind review and so pleased you all had a great week. Many thanks Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing