We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!”
Review of Casa Rosa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yelapa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Rosa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Rancho Murieta, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I hesitated to write a review because I would love to keep this as a secret getaway!!! Casa Rosa is fantastic!!! If you are looking for an elegant spa, this is not your place, but if you are looking for a romantic jungle setting, this is your place!!! I will add that if you have trouble ambulating, that would be the only drawback. We would love to take my mom to see this beautiful place but she has bad hips and could not make the moderate grade from the main path to the house.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eawicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Casa Rosa was exactly what we needed for a reunion. It was private, good separation of space, very beautiful and unique, and easy to get to. The beach is right there, plenty of restaurants, the river hike, all just out the gate. The gardens are amazing with so many varieties and all of the hot pink plants. Beds were comfortable. Lots of dishes and cooking things and lots of space. Locking storage closets. Rustic but not dirty. We felt secure. No problems, very nice to have Lupe assist us with our luggage. We were really impressed by the colors chosen, it was really spectacular--mosaics and unexpected touches. The views are tremendous. The rates were great, very reasonable. We'll be definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tropicalheatwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Yelapa is an understated paradise, reachable only by watertaxi from Puerto Vallarta, and Casa Rosa is wonderful. Located a short, easy walk up-river from the main beach, it has beautiful views of the jungle and the bay. There are lots of trees, flowers and tropical plants on the property. I've never seen so many birds and butterflies in my life. Being a palapa, a house with a 20 foot high pitched thatched roof , and no walls, cool ocean breezes blow through all day. Casa Rosa is a vacation rental, with a full kitchen, living area, huge open air bathroom and shower, two indoor double sized hanging beds and several hammocks. My favorite spot at Casa Rosa was the outdoor hanging bed, on the patio. I loved lying in it, looking up at the coconut palms against the blue sky. The caretaker, Lupe, comes by daily on his horse. Have him cut open some coconuts for you. He can also meet you at the water taxi to pack your luggage on his mule and carry it to Casa Rosa. Enjoy yourself, you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pattilevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

My husband made me write that after reading the Lesbian Paradise review! He was concerned that you had to be gay and/or a woman to stay at Casa Rosa but when I emailed the owner to ask she said 'We don't discriminate...not everyone is lucky enough to be a lesbian!' It just cracked us up. We loved it at Casa Rosa and have made our reservations already for next winter. It's all true, it's beautiful, funky, interesting and super comforable. The views are spectacular and we woke up every morning thrilled to still be there. We rented the casa and peeked into the casita. its a sweet place,too. The rate was very reasonable and we felt safe and relaxed. Even though we're not gay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank itsabeachylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Lesbian Paradise

My partner and I just got back from a week in Yelapa, Mexico, where we stayed at Casa Rosa or the 2nd year in a row. Last year we had the most romantic, fantastic time there and we were a little nervous: could we go back to the same place and expect the same heady, sensual pleasures a 2nd time? Well, this year surpassed last year, in spite of some stormy weather and unseasonable cold spells and that’s why I’m writing: to share a real Lesbian Paradise. There is nowhere else that I know of where you have stunning tropical beauty, tranquility, clean air, beautiful white sand beaches, flocks of parrots, butterflies of every hue, visiting iguanas, an expansive view to die for and a growing network of land-owning Lesbians well-integrated into the community. All this in an area with no cars, no roads, just well-travelled trails by locals, tourists, dogs and mules. Now, Yelapa is not for everyone! It’s an adventurous place and going to “town” involves either a 45 minute walk to cross on the one bridge or fording the river at the mouth. At low tide this is no problem at all but at high tide and after some rain this can be pretty interesting. Best done with a buddy to hold onto and just plan on getting your rolled up pants wet. But then there’s the folks like the 3 women we saw late one night under the moonlight who just stripped from the waist down and clutched each other, laughing and giggling. We thought it was hilarious… just the thought of middle-aged women (like us) stripping to get back to your palapa, or to go out to eat, or whatever! What fun!!
Yelapa offers hiking, excursions, parasailing, snorkeling, swimming, good restaurants, dancing and special events but just hanging out in the palapa (a thatched roof house with essentially no walls) is so satisfying and beautiful, we do a LOT of that when we go. Swinging mosquito-netted beds mean you can lie in bed safe from bugs (we did see 4 mosquitoes!) and just watch Nature’s showcase: palms in the foreground with mountains in the background, butterflies on bougainvilla, brightly colored birds, not to mention colorful plants and flowers. The outdoor bathroom is wonderfully artistic and the outside swinging couch/bed in the garden has another view you could look at forever.
Then when you are so relaxed you can’t even imagine ever being anywhere else, Lupe, the caretaker, comes with his mule and loads up your luggage and off you go to catch the Water Taxi back to Puerto Vallarta (40 minute boat ride). We always see whales or dolphins on this leg of the journey.
You can check all this out on their website: http://www.casarosayelapa.com/
We are already booked for next year: same time, same place and we can’t wait to go back! Oh, and the most happening place, the Oasis, was bought by 2 wonderful local Dykes a few day before we got there- an added attraction! You can make friends in this community overnight. The people like the climate are warm and inviting.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank anotherBanjogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We just returned from Yelapa and Casa Rosa---wow! After freezing cold and rain it was like being in a movie. Hot pink plants and purple, blue, turquoise paint! What a place. Casa Rosa is just beautiful and I really can't describe it. When you say it doesn't have windows but its totally safe, it's like robinson caruso. We had everything we needed, we cooked and shopped for fresh fish and chicken. The beach was great. Calm warm water. There are a lot of restaurants. We went up river about 15 minutes to an open air (everything is open air) restaurant where we had lobster. Excellent. The whole trip was like a dream. We are already planning for next year!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anywherewarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

I long to live in Yelapa... Casa Rosa is the best! great communication, excellent location, beautiful, clean and friendly. I ahve stayed in other places in Yelapa, but love Casa Rosa overall. Not that there are not other amazing places in Yelapa, just that Casa Rosa felt like home.
We will be back!

Lee, Shannon and Peter

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JacksonsFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#98 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rosa

Property: Casa Rosa
Address: Yelapa, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Rosa is a gorgeous two acre oasis just two minutes up a sandy path from the main beach. These fabulous palapas are fully equipped with all you need for a wonderful holiday in paradise. Casa Rosa's main house sleeps four and the casita sleeps two---we call this 'rustic luxury' with cinematic views, mosaics, lush gardens, great kitchens, color-filled beauty and easy access to the beach! Bienveidos a Casa Rosa, your home in Yelapa! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Rosa Mexico/Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing