We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on the point”
Review of Casa Pericos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Pericos
Ranked #2 of 6 Yelapa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atascadero, California
1 review
“Best place on the point”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in Casa Pericos in early June and every aspect of our stay exceeded our expectations. From the beginning the comprehensive information we received from the owners allowed us to navigate thorough the airport, find an ATM and grab a taxi without a problem. At the pier we were well taken care of by the water taxi office who stored our bags while we refreshed ourselves with a cold beer and savored Mexico. By chance we rode the water taxi out to Yelapa with Blair one of the the owners who described the various sights along the way and made sure we were comfortable and that all our needs were met when we arrived. The view of Casa Pericos as we rounded the point was breathtaking and we knew we had arrived in paradise.

The accommodations and service were first rate and the view from the balcony of Casa Tranquilo was stunning, the entire Bay of Banderas lay before us. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well equipped and we used it to cook breakfast several days. The shower had endless hot water though I mainly used the cold since it was plenty warm. The room has ceiling fans And floor fans to keep you comfortable during the day and while you slept. Fresh towels were always available and the room was cleaned and straightened often. There were no bugs, Mosquitos, scorpions or any other nuisance in the room at any time.

Snorkeling was excellent with turtles, eels, and a myriad of tropical fish to feast your eyes on. Little crabs scuttled across the pathways and rocks as you hiked to and from the village, a short 7 minute walk. Close enough for convenience but far enough for solitude and quiet.

All in all probably the most unique and pleasurable vacation we have had. If you go to Yelapa stay out on the point. If you stay on the point, stay in Casa Pericos. You owe it to yourself.

By the way be sure to eat at Abuelo's while you are there.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
100
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sayulita, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have returned home to Australia, with such fond memories of Mexico! My partner and I had a surprise trip to Yelapa from my parents, who had previously stayed at Casa Pericos. We traveled from their home in Sayulita, and such a surprise boarding the water taxi, and arriving at our destination Casa Pericos! We had no idea, and for the next 3 days enjoyed a little bit of heaven, along with kayaking, great accomodations, beautiful view of the ocean, and Whales! It was such a quiet, restful and peaceful experience! Thank you so much for such a beautiful place and experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacobspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our stay at in Yelapa at Casa Pericos exceeded my expectations, which is saying a lot! I had been looking at the link for a loooooong time before I booked our stay. The situation of the casa at water's edge on the picturesque bay is amazing. The place is pleasingly decorated with mostly Indonesian furniture and fixtures. I was torn every day between wanting to explore the charming village of Yelapa and it's lovely long beach, or just lounge in the comfortable chairs in our place, taking in the view.
We were made to feel welcome long before we arrived by Shane, with whom we booked our stay, He provided all the information we needed, and made himself available to answer any and all questions, any time.
Casa Pericos is on my mind a lot ever since our stay....it's my "happy place" memory. I look forward to returning some time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay on Yelapa. Our 2nd level suite was perfect- always had a hot shower, great service, and a breathtaking beautiful view. The best little beach is steps away from your front door. The villa is in a very quiet area. Waves can be loud at night, but we enjoyed that.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheripie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Amazing-- can't wait to return! We were in Yelapa for a friends wedding, and we were blown away by the beauty of Yelapa and the luxury of Casa Pericos. My only issue was not being able to sleep through the night because of the waves crashing all night long. But I'm weird, but people will love the sound of the waves and will sleep like babies!

Room Tip: No pool, but you have the Pacific Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

When you are seeking to escape traffic, noise, hustle and bustle and reacquaint with your inner self and the most important ones in your life, then it is time to visit Casa Pericos and Yelapa. In seeing the other "excellent" reviews it is difficult to add beyond what has already been written.

I am writing this review as I sit overlooking the ocean and the sun rising over the huge hilltops behind Yelapa. I look around to make sure this is not a dream.

Our 9 year-old daughter is so thrilled to explore the trails and shoreline at the front door of Casa Pericos. Today kayaks and snorkeling. She is intrigued by the numerous fish.

There are no cars although donkeys and horses are readily available for rent. Several great restaurants are a short walk away as is some entertainment. People are friendly everywhere you go. Delma and Angel at Casa Pericos can not do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay.

The air is as pure as it gets. The sound of the waves lapping on the shore is so peaceful. The "pool" is the Pacific Ocean literally at your front door and a few minutes away in the village is a large sand beach.

When you leave you will have memories for a lifetime and and a little piece of your heart will always remain at Casa Pericos.

Life is about the "journey" and we all owe it to ourselves to have our journey include Casa Pericos.

Room Tip: All 3 options are excellent. The "penthouse" is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I am long overdue in writing this review but I just started to make my summer plans for a repeat visit to Casa Pericos. (Stayed last winter)
After staying years ago in the town and on the big beach in the summer I found Casa Pericos which is out on the spectacular "The Point" overlooking the entire Bay of Banderas and the Yelapa Bay!
The best part of this location is that it is just a small handful of tropical houses that almost always have a cooling summer ocean breeze! The rest of Yelapa is much, much hotter in the summer.
The ocean is like tepid bath water and normally so calm in the summer. Sweeping, dramatic thunder storms (better than T.V. ,) come in normally at night or late afternoon and the jungle turns a brilliant, verdant green.
Butterflies, fireflies, and White Luna night butterflies make this tranquil house truly magical. Passion Fruit Margaritas from the sweeping balcony over the ocean and only the sounds of crickets and the ocean lapping at the shore below. The waterfalls are mesmerizing.
I could go on and on about this one in a million Casa but so much has been said in the past reviews.
Last year my partner and I vacationed at Casa Pericos then over to the Casa Pericos owners other, most fabulous hotel in San Miguel de Allende, the finest City in Colonial Mexico.
We hope to repeat it this year also. From the ocean to the mountains!

Room Tip: Summer time rates are much lower. (The rates at Casa Pericos are low to begin with). Fewer restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericmZ7882TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
13.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#67 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pericos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pericos

Property: Casa Pericos
Address: Huachanango 51, Yelapa 48440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Pericos 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pericos, located on "The Point" in Yelapa only a few palapas down from Isabel's Beach, is the newest and most finely appointed Guest House/Vacation Rental in Yelapa. Casa Pericos, which translates as "House of the Parrots", are three romantic Indonesian-inspired loft suites rising within a beautiful jungle canopy filled with parrots and butterflies directly on the ocean. All three romantic Indonesian-inspired loft suites of Casa Pericos sleep up to 14 when rented together, but may be easily closed off to be two or three very spacious lofts, all with private baths and separate kitchens to accommodate our guest's needs.With breathtaking ocean and jungle views, calm warm ocean breezes, and waters teaming sea life literally at your front door, you will immediately understand why people are instantly lured to jump into the water before they even unpack. Once settled in, take a soak in our Zen Soaking tub with expansive jungle and ocean views, or shower in our private outdoor shower pavilion, before enjoying a margarita on your balcony overlooking Banderas Bay. We are located in the quietest area of Yelapa on The Point, yet Casa Pericos is only a five minute walk to the village restaurants and two locals dance clubs, or 20 minutes walking to the main beach or nearest waterfall. Begin your journey with us below as we explore each of our three Indonesian-inspired loft suites at Casa Pericos and the eco-barefoot experience Yelapa offers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Pericos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pericos Hotel Yelapa
Casa Pericos Mexico/Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing