We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to say, but we're waiting to leave.... somewhat disappointed.”
Review of Casa Pericos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Pericos
Ranked #2 of 6 Yelapa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Casa pericos is a beautiful place in a wonderful location. We have enjoyed our stay here and had some amazing experiences. We booked 9 nights in the penthouse, and Shane gave us 1 free night. Standard practice to reward long staying guests, we thought. We've been saving a long time for this luxurious experience, and traveled all the way from Australia. Yesterday, on our 2nd last day, a young family checked into the room below with a young toddler in toe, who only knows one volume, SCREAM!! We also woke early this morning to the child's bellows. Feeling it somewhat unacceptable, we complained to Shane who promptly spoke to the parents. The parents apologized, as did Shane. We were happy to leave a day early and asked for 1 nights refund but we're told we already got night free, and if we wanted to leave early, mark it as a wash off. Well in our opinion, last night was a wash off! If we walk away now we lose a night, and have not budgeted an additional one into our itinerary. We're left hoping tonight is a little better. I also Must add the construction noise from next door has been going on every day, bar Sunday.
If this was your honeymoon, would you be happy?

Our advice for others looking to stay here......
1. Ask if small children are staying here during your stay.
2. Ask if thee is any building happening in the area.
3. Stay away from main beach. The hawkers will eat you alive!!!!! Seriously, tourists are identified with a capitol T for Target on their backs.
4. Be prepared to be ripped off by local businesses. They will charge you Tourist prices. We got our laundry done at Isis Laundry. The going price is between 15 & 20 pesos per kilo. We were charged 70 per kilo!

Honestly we so wanted to give Casa Pericos and Yelapa an amazing write up, but we can't.

On the positive, Miguel and Delma are wonderful hosts. We also had an amazing day with Jay on his charter boat. The snorkeling right outside the house is great, and we really loved the red crabs in the garden, and the iguana in the bathroom. We also found ourselves going back to Ray's Restaurant again and again. The food was great and they really looked after us. We will review them too.

We rated this property very good, but our experience here was average.

We are now waiting for the next part of our Mexico adventure to begin.
Should have planned a shorter stop here. 5 days tops.

Will we be back? No...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S S, Owner at Casa Pericos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank You for your review.
I must say the review was not really about our accommodations but about your own personal issues.
I am a bit taken back and surprised as we have recently spent months on projects to keep our house impeccable and every detail attended to. We provided you with attention and attended to your requests as well as our staff.

This is really about you not getting a refund despite the fact that you stayed all 10 nights.
Honestly this review should be removed as this review was in retaliation of you not getting a refund on your stay. TripAdvisor was not created to use as a bargaining tool to not pay for what was provided and agreed upon. Talking with our hotel associations we have seen this has turned into a major abuse of TripAdvisor reviews as well as fake reviews.

We sincerely thank all of our past guests and their wonderful reviews! We will always continue to provide the very best possible and keep improving and adding to our spectacular property.
We toured most of Mexico, Hawaii, Bali and other unique incredible places and in the end Yelapa was the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Shane is a spectacular host. He reacts very quickly to our email or phone inquiries and truly cares that we enjoyed our stay in his home. We had the Penthouse suite which included both the 3rd and 4th floors of the home. The amenities were absolutely perfect and Shane stocked it with snorkeling gear, kitchenware, books/games and more. Loved showering outside everyday, and we always felt very safe/secure (large safe to store valuables). The view was breath-taking and there are plenty of lounges to lie on and relax. Walking out the door to the lagoon made for several swimming/snorkeling sessions in the warm water (with plenty of fish and plant-life to see). No doubt we will return to Casa Pericos many times in the years to come. Thank you Shane!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our trip to Casa Pericos was nothing short of heaven. The pictures of the casa are fabulous, but they truly don't do it justice. The home is absolutely beautiful! The location and view cannot be described, and the furnishings and decor of the home are stunning. The owners took obvious pride and care in creating a relaxing oasis. The furniture, brought in from Bali, compliments the location and provides a rich environment. The decor is a great blend of Bali and Mexico. The casa is perfectly equipped with all that you could need to make your stay a success. From the kitchen to the bathroom we lacked nothing that we needed. We were there in the low season, so restaurant choices were limited; that was no problem, though, as we found everything we needed to cook in the casa at the local market.

Outside of the absolutely idyllic beauty of the home itself, Yelapa's beauty and charm was sec on to none. The people of Yelapa are amazingly friendly and helpful...gracious hosts to their part of paradise. The casa's location on the point made it perfect for swimming and snorkeling. At night, the sound of the waves was ever-present and peaceful. While we didn't use them, there are kayaks available for guests to use as well.

My husband and I have not had a more relaxing vacation. We left rejuvenated and inspired. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms to select from, and all were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ellisd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in Casa Pericos in early June and every aspect of our stay exceeded our expectations. From the beginning the comprehensive information we received from the owners allowed us to navigate thorough the airport, find an ATM and grab a taxi without a problem. At the pier we were well taken care of by the water taxi office who stored our bags while we refreshed ourselves with a cold beer and savored Mexico. By chance we rode the water taxi out to Yelapa with Blair one of the the owners who described the various sights along the way and made sure we were comfortable and that all our needs were met when we arrived. The view of Casa Pericos as we rounded the point was breathtaking and we knew we had arrived in paradise.

The accommodations and service were first rate and the view from the balcony of Casa Tranquilo was stunning, the entire Bay of Banderas lay before us. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well equipped and we used it to cook breakfast several days. The shower had endless hot water though I mainly used the cold since it was plenty warm. The room has ceiling fans And floor fans to keep you comfortable during the day and while you slept. Fresh towels were always available and the room was cleaned and straightened often. There were no bugs, Mosquitos, scorpions or any other nuisance in the room at any time.

Snorkeling was excellent with turtles, eels, and a myriad of tropical fish to feast your eyes on. Little crabs scuttled across the pathways and rocks as you hiked to and from the village, a short 7 minute walk. Close enough for convenience but far enough for solitude and quiet.

All in all probably the most unique and pleasurable vacation we have had. If you go to Yelapa stay out on the point. If you stay on the point, stay in Casa Pericos. You owe it to yourself.

By the way be sure to eat at Abuelo's while you are there.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CraigDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have returned home to Australia, with such fond memories of Mexico! My partner and I had a surprise trip to Yelapa from my parents, who had previously stayed at Casa Pericos. We traveled from their home in Sayulita, and such a surprise boarding the water taxi, and arriving at our destination Casa Pericos! We had no idea, and for the next 3 days enjoyed a little bit of heaven, along with kayaking, great accomodations, beautiful view of the ocean, and Whales! It was such a quiet, restful and peaceful experience! Thank you so much for such a beautiful place and experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacobspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our stay at in Yelapa at Casa Pericos exceeded my expectations, which is saying a lot! I had been looking at the link for a loooooong time before I booked our stay. The situation of the casa at water's edge on the picturesque bay is amazing. The place is pleasingly decorated with mostly Indonesian furniture and fixtures. I was torn every day between wanting to explore the charming village of Yelapa and it's lovely long beach, or just lounge in the comfortable chairs in our place, taking in the view.
We were made to feel welcome long before we arrived by Shane, with whom we booked our stay, He provided all the information we needed, and made himself available to answer any and all questions, any time.
Casa Pericos is on my mind a lot ever since our stay....it's my "happy place" memory. I look forward to returning some time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay on Yelapa. Our 2nd level suite was perfect- always had a hot shower, great service, and a breathtaking beautiful view. The best little beach is steps away from your front door. The villa is in a very quiet area. Waves can be loud at night, but we enjoyed that.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheripie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#3 of 4 in Yelapa
346 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
43 reviews
13.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Casa Iguana Hotel
Casa Iguana Hotel
#79 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
313 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
537 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pericos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pericos

Address: Huachanango 51, Yelapa 48440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yelapa
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Pericos 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pericos, located on "The Point" in Yelapa only a few palapas down from Isabel's Beach, is the newest and most finely appointed Guest House/Vacation Rental in Yelapa. Casa Pericos, which translates as "House of the Parrots", are three romantic Indonesian-inspired loft suites rising within a beautiful jungle canopy filled with parrots and butterflies directly on the ocean. All three romantic Indonesian-inspired loft suites of Casa Pericos sleep up to 14 when rented together, but may be easily closed off to be two or three very spacious lofts, all with private baths and separate kitchens to accommodate our guest's needs.With breathtaking ocean and jungle views, calm warm ocean breezes, and waters teaming sea life literally at your front door, you will immediately understand why people are instantly lured to jump into the water before they even unpack ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Pericos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pericos Hotel Yelapa
Casa Pericos Mexico/Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing