We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Pericos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Verana(Yelapa)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Yelapa Oasis(Yelapa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotelito Mio(Cabo Corrientes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yatzil(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Cora Golf & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
169
9
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
9
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousesound of the waveswater taxiin townpuerto vallartaopen airfresh fishsecond levelthree levelstortilla soupresident iguanachaise loungesmiddle floorboat captainbalinese stylebring earplugsmanta rays
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I have always wanted to go to Yelapa, so after a family getaway in the town of San Poncho we decided that just my wife and I would spend six nights in Yelapa…. I just picked the Casa Pericos from the web page….. And was it a choice of luck. The place is beautiful, just a short hop it Playa Isabel to suntan, swim and snorkel. Not too far of a walk to town to get supplies/food and dine out, but far enough away to make it its own world. Carolyn was fantastic and very helpful. We stayed on the second floor and found it to be our favorite. The top floor was just too big. Also we decided to extend out vacation so we spent the last 3 nights on the bottom floor. It was nice, but we were spoiled by the second floor.

OK, that’s the basics…. Now for the other. This place was like Heaven on Earth for us. The weather was fantastic. Just to lie in the chair, look out over the bay and relax to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks just below makes one forget that there is anywhere else on earth. The floor is all open and it is like you are inside, but at the same time outside.

We ate in town most of the time and the food was fantastic, but a lot of meals were made at the Casa.
Word of note; bring a flashlight.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Randy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

This was our second visit to Yelapa within a year and we had to return to Casa Pericos. The house is beautiful and the view from my favorite chair (on the balcony) is breathtaking. We spent many hours watching for dolphin and once spotted a whale from the house. If you are open to living in the outdoors while staying indoors this is the place for you. It's a good 10 minute walk into town - bring your flashlight at night. The kids could kayak from the house and body surf at Isabella's beach and plenty of snorkeling spots.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank tpackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Casa Pericos in Yelapa is a fast safe speedboat ride from the pier in old town Puerta Vallarta. Just get on the water taxi with Yelapa printed on the side. Its only $10 and everyone is so nice. Pack light, just beach wear and grab some grocerys in P.V and bring them on the boat. Fill up your modern kitchen when you arrive then go out on the sea kayacs that are free for your stay. You can see the giant beach from your oversize balcony, it's a fun walk along the bay ito own. Call up the " donkey taxi " for a real kick .. You must make this casa # 1 on your vacation trips. The owner & staff are the best I have ever seen. Take Yoga next door or the spa and a 5 star hotel for drinks are steeps away.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Casayellapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We arrived in Yelapa, Mexico via watertaxi from Puerto Vallarta expecting a quiet, little fishing village. What we found was that and more. Carolyn greeted us at Playa Isabel, which was adjacent to our villa, Casa Pericos. Carolyn had contracted with a local to help us with our luggage. The villa was very clean and had everything you could want, fully equipped kitchen, beautiful view of the Yelapa beach & bay and a short walk to restaurants, grocery stores and the beach. Yelapa beach had its own bars and restaurants as well as parasailing. One day we took a watertaxi to the Meriatas' islands. On the 45 minute trip to the islands, we viewed a group of whales. I've never seen such clear, blue water that was on these islands. One day we rented horses to go up to the waterfall outside of Yelapa. First time for me to be on a horse. That was another great adventure in itself.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelduo4463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

The house has no beach and is far from the beach! The walk to a beach is about a mile: on a path along the shoreline over the rocks, through the streams and coastline forest to the town, then a skiff awaited us to help us cross the river to the beach (for 10 pesos and operational until 2pm, thereafter, a bridge will get you across, add another 1/2 mile to your journey). The rain did not start until after 2pm, and when it rained daily, it pounded warm rain, flooding the streams and the river, walking back was tedious and dangerous. Another option was hiring a motorized skiff from the beach (for a small fee) to carry you back through the rain to a rocky shoreline area near the house.

This house is not for the weak of limb or heart. A recent change in management led to some confusion in the booking process. Yelapa had no cars, no computers service available, we had cell or land line service and and no neighbors nearby. Of course sounds like a getaway from reality , and it is - but being truly incommunicado I had issues with safety isolated at the house, should I need it (reality) . Although we had no incident, we heard from locals of incidents with tourists walking the coastline back to their houses. As the house has an open format, exposed to the mountain in back, and really a balcony over the water in front, critters creeped, crawled and flew into our #2 unit. Advisement of scorpion vigilance made it difficult to fully relax (although we never saw one!). When the rains blew in, some furniture was soaked - including our beds until we moved them. Nothing ever dried while I was there due to the high and constant humidity, I went home with a suitcase of wet things. And my personal pet peeve, the safe is not safe (as it is lightweight and not bolted down.

That being said, the house is beautiful. Low cost dining is available! We had fabulous fish dinners and ceviches for lunch, both on the beach and at Pollo Bollo and Las Brisas in town (it being low season, only two restaurants alternated being open in town - there was no nightlife). The small waterfall is worth the hike - just lovely. The pie ladies sell their homemade goods on the beach and the pies are delicious. The eternity pool at La Lagunita is soothing and fresh watered. A visit to UNESCO's Isla Marietas was fabulous for snorkeling and views. We are fluent in Spanish, and found the people were friendly and helpful.

My advice is not to go in the rainy season ... and know what you are getting into.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
3  Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews