We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Hang Out”
Review of Casa Santa Cruz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelapa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Santa Cruz
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We just spent a week at Casa Estrella and had a marvelous time. It was more than spacious enough for two adults and two children. The kitchen was basic - but equiped with necessities and the views were spectacular. Like some of the other reviewers, we too saw whales passing by in the bay.

Our hosts helped us check in and get the lay of the land and were very helpful throughout our stay.

We had an amazing time in Yelpa and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyvacationphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

We spent five wonderful days in Casa Luna. We spotted approx. 20 whales in the bay during our stay (in late January), and one day the whales stayed so long that I was able to film them for over six minutes breaching and slapping the water. The weather was lovely during the day, and a little cool (enough for blankets) at night. The only caveats that I can think of are that if you are light sleeper, then be prepared to be disturbed by the waves crashing just below. They can get quite loud! There is also quite a long walk along the break-front (via cobblestone paths, rock paths, a small beach, and over a small stream) and up another long uneven pathway to get to the town. Make SURE to bring a flashlight! The water taxi (from Puerto Vallarta) dropped us off and picked us up just feet from the casita at a small beach (you will get a little wet). The restaurants in town where all good and reasonably priced (approx. $20 for two people per meal), just be aware that the hours they are open are all different. There are a number of small stores to buy snacks and drinks. Make sure to visit the waterfall above town. We also rented horses to visit the one farther away. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay and we would love to go again. Finally, do NOT bring travelers checks. Bring cash! No one took credit cards, and no one would take travelers checks. We also stayed two days in Puerto Vallarta, and not even the banks would cash travelers checks. Use the ATMS, and get as much out as you can because the fee (approx $5) is the same no matter the amount that you withdraw! I found out this the hard way.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LHnTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We returned for second time to the Casa Luna unit and felt like we had come home!

This is an amazaingly beautiful location and a wonderful unit. Clean,well fitted with everything you need. Comfortable bed, nice dining area, excelent kitchen with all the items you need in dishes, silverware, cutlery, coffemaker all neatly stored. The two person hamock as well. What we like best is the porch overlooking the ocean where we spent hours reading and talking. What we liked the least was leaving!

We sat on the porch and watched the stingrays jumping right in front of our palapa! So cool they launch themselves 3' out of water. And we missed the dolphins and whales one morning but people on both sides saw them. Great view and such nature to see.

Service here is wonderful, greeted when we arrived and helped with any question we had. Our thanks to Margo, Ann, and Ann for their friendship and kind hearts, we couldn't ask for better!

Two waterfalls to walk to (one 15 minutes, on 90 minutes) quaint little village with many resstaurants to try and enjoy. Good fishing and snorkeling to enjoy.

Our second trip and we can't wait for the next one, we will be returning here again and again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesehead571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We had our honeymoon/wedding staying in the casa luna unit. It was beautiful! Love the view, hanging bed, efficient little kitchen, patio, little fire pit overlooking ocean. Small beach playa isabel so close. Also people of yelapa were wonderful. We swam out front, hiked to both waterfalls, went to marietta islands to snorkel and have lunch. El Manguito's is a must for dinner.

It was clean, cozy. Flush toilet, hot shower, kitchen, bottle water, there were some books, cards, everything we needed.

We will be back in nov 2012, and properly every year at least once.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wised2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We spent 10 days in Yelapa in early Nov.  Casa Sol was our Swiss Family Robinson retreat.  Our children (3 and 5) loved exploring the house.  We had never been somewhere so exotic and our children acclimated -thrived even- in short order.  The jungle in our backyard and the ocean a stones throw from the living room (literally, our 5 year old tested it).  Did we have to get accustomed to the wildlife (mostly insects that did not bother us, except by virtue of being)?  Yes.  Was it closer to camping than resort living?  Yes (we had all the amenities we needed, hot water, full kitchen, electricity).  Was it the best family vacation we have had?  YES!

The people of Casa Santa Cruz and El Jardin were incredible.  We enjoyed happy hour meals at El Jardin several times and met the most wonderful people, both staff and other guests.  The town of Yelapa felt authentic, and it took us a few days to get comfortable, but once we did, life was a breeze and the people were very nice (the dogs in town were amazingly well adjusted).  The trail into town (10 minutes) was fun with creek crossings, ocean life and fireflies at night.  Playa Isabel was just outside our door and was a fine beach for swimming with our young children.  When we really wanted to get some serious beach lounging in we went to the main beach, but the sand was course and the surf was a bit harsh, it was also a bit of a walk including a river crossing (though we finally tried a water taxi from Isabel to the main beach and that made us feel like royalty).

We snorkeled right in front of the casa and fished off the rocks (with success nearly every time, which thrilled our 5 year old).  Carolyn at El Jardin arranged to have a panga pick us up on Playa Isabel so we could do more fishing.  Our goal was to catch fish of any sort.  Once on the boat we were told that we were going for Yellowfin Tuna!  We each caught one within a short distance from town and within an hour.  It was amazing, and if you ever cross paths with our son he will probably let you know about the Yellowfin tuna he caught that was, literally, as big as he was.  Wow!

We would love to return.  We would only recommend this trip to the adventurous type, but if you fit that description you will enjoy your stay at Casa Sol in Yelapa.  
 

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Yelapa is a magical place - simply stunning beauty, amazing people and wonderful scenery. It is a really simple place with lots of relaxation to be had. We stayed at Casa Sol right on the beach (http://yelapafun.com/) with the entire family (7 people) and it was perfect. We felt like Swiss Family Robinson. We could see whales and dolphins from the living room! The whale watching and excursions out fishing were so memorable, as were the quiet evenings strollling through the streets of the town of Yelapa. The food at the restaurants was so fresh and tasty too.

1  Thank RollerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yelapa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Wellness Retreat
0.0 mi away
Casa Pericos
Casa Pericos
#2 of 6 in Yelapa
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Bahia Bonita
Casa Bahia Bonita
#5 of 6 in Yelapa
36 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Cruz

Address: Yelapa, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Yelapa
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Sol is one of three casas in a grouping called Casas de Santa Cruz. Sol has four full or queen beds, a full kitchen, a full bathroom and a view that can't is spectacular. Directly on the water front, Sol looks out over the Bandaras Bay of the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Santa Cruz Mexico/Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing