We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Verana
Nearby Hotels
US$133
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotelito Mio(Cabo Corrientes)
US$490
US$478
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$552
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$224
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$502
US$239
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
US$419
US$370
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Costa Sur Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Playa Fiesta(Puerto Vallarta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
154
19
9
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
19
9
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea housepool housecooking classother guestsmeal planfishplunge pooltacosashimiblue houseonce in a lifetimeluxury hoteljaw dropping viewsthe entire staffnatural surroundingslittle toucheshot stone
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2009

If you want the best food in your life (think fish caught hours before you eat it, everything local, fresh and delish), incredible margaritas (thanks Stefan!), really nice people (Chris and crew rule!) and the most unique hotel experience of your life...you have come to the right place. The perfect mix of Lux and Rustic. Lux = hot stone massages, starlight bath, yoga under the palapa with incredible views of the ocean, amazing swimming pool, dessert after every meal. Rustic= cool trek just to get there, open rooms that involve interaction with nature, outdoor showers, camping like experience (you sleep under mosquito nets), casual, few things could use a new paint job. Basically Verana is for an adventurous traveler that also likes nice things and amazing food. You can lounge around or choose from a bunch of fun excursions...make it what you want. I love this place and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rio73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

The most unique and unspoilt boutique hotel I have ever visited. My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights there in November this year and enjoyed every moment of it. As we had already traveled from London and spent 8 days in Mexico with family and friends, we wanted a getaway for the remaining time in Mexico that would be both adventurous and luxurious. That is exactly what we found in Verana. As most of the other reviews say, the boat ride and hike up the mountain to the hotel is exhausting in the heat, but well worth it when you see the view from the bar and are greeted by a friendly hostess holding a well earned cold drink!

Every detail of this hotel is well thought through but not over-executed. We loved the rustic appeal of the stone blocks which made up the sink in the bathroom or the copper pipe that poured water into it. The simplicity of a mosquito net over the bed which gives the illusion of safety and comfort from the noises and sounds of the jungle, yet still allows you to enjoy the views and watch the sunrise every morning.

Our room was called the Jungle Suite and had 3 walls - the 4th being open to the elements. The ceilings were high and airy and allowed plenty of light to filter through in the mornings. This doesn't actually matter as you tend to be in bed with a tequila nightcap quite early and coffee and pastries are delivered to your door by 8am everyday so you can appreciate the jungle from the comfort of your room before going for breakfast.

The food served was excellent, we only had one meal out of 12 over our 4 days that was slightly less appetising than the others. It all centres around fresh, local produce and they really draw on their surroundings and keep the food as authentic as possible. Our first dinner was particularly memorable - fresh scallops washed down with a great bottle of wine.

The views from the pool during the day are quite breathtaking and the hotel is cleverly set up with twists and turns in the architecture so that you can see as much or as little of the other guests as you like. The only time you actually have to see anyone else (if you really wanted to keep to yourselves) is at breakfast and drinks before dinner. There are also a variety of activities that you can do during the day if lounging by the pool and relaxing in your room doesn't appeal. We went on one trip to the Marietas Islands which we really enjoyed and did some great snorkeling and had lunch on the beach.

Having waxed lyrical about Verana, it has to be said that this hotel is not for the faint-hearted. Be prepared for some interesting noises from the jungle life during the night and stories from other guests (or yourselves) about interesting inhabitants that they have found in their rooms in terms of lizards, crabs, racoons, bugs etc. The first night we were there we found it quite scary but its amazing how quickly you get used to the room being so open. I would mention though, that the rooms are fumigated everyday - so the only bugs you tend to see are mostly dead by the time they have crawled in to the room.

My tips: pack a torch (highly recommended for getting to the bar at night from your room!), some bug spray and a good pair of flip flops that will grip the track when you first arrive and hike up to the hotel.

But just have a great time and appreciate it for what it is - its like nowhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank betbet065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

I just returned from my second trip to Verana and I can't recommend it more highly. In fact, I asked one of the other people staying there (who had obviously been all over the world and was a professional traveler!) what they'd say was the most unique and compelling place they had been - and the responded "I know it sounds strange since we're here, but Verana is definitely it."

Once you've been, you can't wait to go back, and to tell everyone you know - here's why:

- the location is amazing - for beauty, for peacefulness, for weather, for the fun of getting there (by boat and a quick hike up the hill to earn your view)
- the design of the resort is unmatched - usually, a resort goes to far in the direction of luxury, and ends up feeling like it's trying too hard. Verana is beautifully designed and decorated, but it never feels like it's trying - it's effortless, it's simple, it lets the location speak for itself while enhancing the natural beauty with amazing use of stone, wood, color and variety
- the food - sometimes, when you're in a remote place, you can feel "trapped" and get sick of eating the food, seeing the staff, and in general feeling like there is not enough variety. The opposite is the case with Verana - the food is consistently world class, and you look forward to each dinner, especially the only buffet for Tuesday taco night (complete with about 20 varieties of salsa); there is plenty of variety in breakfast and lunch
- the service and staff are one of the key benefits of Verana - the staff are people you enjoy talking to and want to see every day and actually spend time with - the service is great without it feeling like you are being "served" - it feels like friends helping you enjoy your vacation, and you get exactly what you want without feeling like you're asking for it or imposing; much of the staff returns each season and you look forward to catching up with them and hearing about the changes to the hotel
- the guests - another problem we've had with smaller, inclusive, remote resorts is that you really just don't want to eat with the same people every meal; at Verana, the guests are interesting, fun, and worth talking to, and you get to know different ones at each meal a little bit better - you look forward to joining the group for meals, meeting new guests, and to the ongoing interaction and fun between guests and staff
- the activities - while you won't want to really leave the grounds, it's worth it if you do - the activities are well-planned and coordinated (down to the cute and functional backpack and lunch holders you take with you), and the staff that leads them are interesting and fun to be with and they enhance the experience you have with the person or people you're with.
- the jungle - while Verana is refined and elegant, it's in the jungle, and that means there is the chance for encounters with all sorts of bugs and animals; this is definitely an added bonus in terms of experience and things you can see, but people need to be prepared for that and have the right attitude about it.

Overall, Verana is such an incredible experience that we plan to go back every year, despite our ongoing desire to see more and do more - it's the closest to perfect, and as close to the beach/vacation home you'd love to have, as anything can get.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sfskybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

What an adventure this place is! not your typical hotel but if you're upto the experience it's a wonderful adventure. We arrived by boat and got settled inot out room and that evening at the bar we meet Heinz and his wife, the owners, and it was so intriguing to hear the story behind Verana told by the couple whose vision is behind this wonderful place. They all made the trip so enjoyable. We (I) were a little concerned after the hike to the hotel to find our room didn’t have air conditioning, or a door for that matter, but after the first night, we had completely adjusted to the hike and open living and didn’t want to leave. Chris set us up with a fishing trip with Moses who did a great job showing us the abundant sea life off the coast of the Yelapa. In one short morning round of fishing, we caught many fish including a (+-) 20 lb Mahi Mahi, sat in awe as two whales swam right next to our boat surfacing for air many times, saw a huge Manta ray, saw many little Manta rays jumping, saw flying fish…wow what a busy three hours. We had so many once in a lifetime experiences over the course of our stay that I can’t list them all.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipokerlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

The most luxurious hotel. The staff are kind and friendly. Best place to get away from it all :)

Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank azadeh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews