We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lagunita
Nearby Hotels
Casa Bahia Bonita(Yelapa)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Casa Pericos(Yelapa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
141
121
42
35
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
121
42
35
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxipuerto vallartahotel restaurantcrablove hotelin towngilligan's islandhot waterhotel groundsrustic resortopen airpiemosquito netlow keybathroom flooryacht clubpalapa style
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I stayed at Lagunita about 7 years ago and was charmed. However upon returning last week I found my room depressing and unkept. The paint was chipped, the tiles chipped and dirty and the way the shower tile was configured it was ackward to stand in front of the sink. The towels were worn and frayed. The walls were painted a dated peachy beige. The pool that day was full of algae and the scupture that had held the fountain into the pool was no longer there.. only a bare pipe. At $90 dollars a night it was really disappointing. Mauybe other rooms were in better condition and we did stay in a different room last time that had a view from the bed.. this room had a view, but not from bed. I ended up moving to other accommodations for the next 4 nights that were less money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninja1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at Hotel Lagunita for only a few short nights in January 2012 as part of our good friends' wedding. Honestly, we were initially hesitant about going to "a little fishing village that only got electricity a few years ago." But wow, could we not have been more wrong.

Lagunita's location right on the bay is perfect! No matter what your room says, you're mere steps away from the beach. The room in which we stayed had very high, thatched-roof ceilings and a huge window that opened up right onto the bay. We were so close to the water, that at night it sounded like the waves were going to crash right through into the room. (WONDERFUL!)

Luke (the proprietor) and his staff as so generous and welcoming that you're immediately put at ease. Even though when we arrived there were a few very minor mishaps, everything was immediately rectified.

Even though all of their supplies are delivered in by boat, the Hotel's restaurant has a very generous menu. Lots of delicious local flavors and everything is topped off with delicious veggies and salsa. All dishes and drinks are moderately priced so that you can really enjoy your vacation without [much] guilt.

A few notes: This IS NOT "The Ritz." Although the accommodations are comfortable, they are rustic. No TV in the rooms; no phones. The hot water works very well, when they have enough gas to heat it. These is not a "five-star hotel," but it is a five star experience.

We cannot stop telling our friends about our stay at Hotel Lagunita and cannot wait to come back again!

Room Tip: If you ask for a room closer to the "front desk" area, you'll be just a bit closer to the beach and the town. Also, if you don't want to be woken up by late night shenanigans, you may want a room not facing the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmajewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucasYelapa, Owner at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Thanks, Tomasz - we hope to see again soon at Lagunita! Happy holidays from Luke and the Lagunita staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Our first time in Yelapa and it will not be our last. This is not anything like any other "hotel"I've ever been in. The Palapas, or "huts"as some may call them are very rustic and charming, They are very "open air". There is no glass in the window openings but most have either woven grass shutters or some have solid wood shutters.
We stayed in #4 which was right next to the beach. The surf sound was quite loud and the waves crashed only a few dozen feet away. My wife had trouble sleeping with the sound so we would probably get one with the solid wood window shutters away from the surf if we stayed there again.
The food was very good and we sat right on the beach. The drinks were strong and tasty. Overall a good value.

Room Tip: Most rooms away from the actual beach are a tad bit quieter but still have a great view. Rooms are pretty open to air flow but there are air conditioners in the rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7traintripper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucasYelapa, Owner at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The beach front rooms are literally steps away from the ocean and the waves can be quite loud at times. During your next stay we can put you in room #25 (very private, not directly on the beach, but still a great view!) or you can try one of the honeymoon suites which are set back a bit further from the ocean. We hope to see again at Lagunita! Happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

gorgeous. relaxing. fun....perfection. clean, charming and perfect. I cannot wait to get back to this Mexican paradise asap. At Hotel Lagunita, everyone was so friendly and the food was fantastic! Next time, i may never leave. seriously. This place is affordable - what a great deal!!i t's a 'best kept secret' for sure. Sleeping so close to the water is amazeballs and we really enjoyed hiking to the waterfall! so perfect, it's just ridiculous. I used to hang out on the Mayan Riviera, but now I'm hooked on Yelapa. I love you Yelapa....and I miss you already. xoxoxo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e-the-dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was our 4th time staying in Yelapa, and the 1st time in lagunita . Prior to this we had stayed at Mama Rosa's in town, and Casa Bonita.

We loved Lagunita. The casitas are very basic as others have noted, but that is part of the charm of Yelapa (and please don't expect Hilton style accommodation for $50 a night). The location is fantastic, walk out of you casita onto the beach, the restaurant is excellent with good food and good value for the location. I found the staff all very helpful and friendly, and there were kayaks for use for guests for free.

The only downside was the pool. It is a small pool fed by mountain runoff, but due to very low rainfall this year it had low water level and was cloudy. We had used the pool last year when staying at Casa Bonita and it was really nice when the water level was good.

I also wanted to add a comment to a reviewer who gave this place a 1-star without even visiting because they had a problem contacting the hotel via E-mail. We also encountered problems with their on-line booking site and E-mail, so we - "gasp" - picked up a phone and called! I know we live in the instant gratification internet age, but come on folks, it's not hard to actually talk to someone once in a while.

Room Tip: We had casa 7 facing the beach - by pure luck it was one of the few with an AC, although we didn't use it much. I think they are in the process of adding AC's to all the rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews