We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room with a View”
Review of Hotel Lagunita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lagunita
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean Room with a View”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed three nights at Hotel Lagunita. It was exactly what we were looking for - clean, simple, with a great view of the ocean and convenient to the beach. It takes a bit of work to get into town either by taking the trails along the river or by wading the river.

I created the following interactive map based on memory of local landmarks that I saw. Hopefully it is helpful for future first time visitors. It does not include every restaurant, place to stay, or landmark in Yelapa - just what I can remember and what I saw. It shows the location of Hotel Lagunita in relation to the town: http://www.mappermaps.com/yelapa/interactive_map

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cromulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucasYelapa, Gerente at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Google Translation
Muchísimas gracias por sus amables comentarios y nos complace el saber que disfrutaron de su experiencia. También le agradecemos ampliamente por su ayuda en la elaboración de tan maravilloso mapa. Esperamos nos autorice compartirlo con todos nuestros huéspedes a través de nuestra página web.

Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    110
    36
    34
    23
See reviews for
56
166
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here a couple of nights about 5 years ago. I had read about Yelapa and the hotel in Sunset magazine.
I loved the rustic feel of the hotel and its seaside location. Although Yelapa is not an island, its remote, somewhat difficult to reach location gives it an island vibe. It is very rustic, so if that is not your thing, Lagunita may not be for you.
On the down side, my husband missed seeing the sunsets, and he didn't feel that the water was very swimmable. I seem to remember the sand dropping off rather quickly once you enter the water. The natural-looking pool at the hotel worked for me. It is formed of rocks and boulders and faces the sea and the beach palapas. I understand that women walk the beach selling pieces of homemade pies, but I unfortunately did not see them.
I would love to return. A great trip suggestion would be to spend 4 or 5 nights at the hotel Palmeras in the quaint seaside town of Bucererias, and then head to Yelapa for 2 or 3 more nights. If you like a low keyed, off the beaten track vaca, this is for you!
It is easy to travel Between PV and Bucerias (any many other cute little seaside towns) by bus or taxi. The bus is cheaper and gives more of a local flavor.
Again, we were here several years ago, but TA only offers a drop down menu for the past year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobina5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rdige,Ca USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Spent a week at Hotel Lagunita in Oct 2013 and enjoyed every minute of it. Our palapa was
closest to the beach and the restaurant which made us be even lazier than we had planned on being. The swimming pool is wonderful, overlooking the beach and has a natural look to it with
big boulders you can sit on. The staff was really attentive and friendly. The food was good and the drinks were affordable. It is a great place to come and veg out on the beach and truelly relax.
Because we had been to Yelapa before we didn't feel too stressed about going to see the sights.
But the town is fun and worth going to see while you are there. My husband tried the para-sailing
off the beach and really enjoyed. We love Yelapa for a quick get away to relax to the max.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was closest to the beach and bar. It had 2 queen beds a big sitting area and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bajasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent two short days in Yelapa, and I would definitely return again. This "hotel" is very laid back, as is the whole town. there's only one way in or out for tourists, and that's by boat. Just be sure your plans are flexible, as the boat schedules during the slow season (Summer/Fall) are about a third of what's published on the tickets and website.

We stayed in room 4, step out 50 yards and you are on the beach. The bar and restaurant were good, met a lot of helpful people there. We took the burro ride up to the big waterfall, it was well worth the 250 pesos each, plus a finders fee for the "booking agent" (LOL) and a tip for the guide. There is a lot of that in Mexico, you pay someone to find something for you, you pay for the trip, then you pay again afterwards. Then maybe you see them again later, and you buy them a beer.

Knowing Spanish helps, but is not necessary. However, I think the experience of trying to communicate in Spanish was much better than being ignorant of the local language and just pointing and grunting.

We didn't have any problem with stinging or biting bugs. They had bottled water at the bar and a purified water cooler at the hotel office for refills. There were only a handful of beach vendors (nothing like Vallarta) so you could truly relax on the beach.

Overall, it was a great trip!

Room Tip: The pool area was noisy in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duchessvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

we wanted to get away from computers, traffic, television, phones and we found the tranquility here. la lagunita is perfect for the price. on the beach, sweet and very simple cabanas to sleep in and the restaurant that is attached was the best food that we found in yelapa. if you are looking for a spa like resort - this isn't the place (despite what their website looks like- a bit misleading), but if you don't mind forgiving the frette sheets in favor of the sound of crashing ocean, nature hummings and the bare necessities, this place is a great escape.

above all and most importantly this is a totally safe and relaxing place to be. when we left, i had forgotten my laptop computer (i know i said no computers - but i had to take it:)) and the next day, someone from the hotel delivered it to us in puerto vallarta, carefully packaged in plastic and bubble wrap and perfectly in tact. wonderful!


look for fernando who takes you out on his boat excursions. we had an incredible day out with him. we chartered the boat and he took us snorkeling, swimming, fishing and made us a delicious ceviche lunch on a remote beach. recommend.

Room Tip: the little huts closer to the beach are prettiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmacrosroig1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent a couple of nights here in January of this year. I've been meaning to write a review, finally got around to it :). Had a great stay at the hotel. The boat drops you only a few feet from the entrance. In hindsight, if there's more than one in the party, i'd have someone wait at the pier with the luggage, have the other person go and checkin so the bags can be taken to the room directly instead of taking them to the reception and walking half way back towards the pier if your room happens to be near the pier.
The food is nice, especially the breakfast. Service can be slow when it's crowded, but when you're in Yelapa, what's the hurry? Margaritas were good too! It was so nice to be able to just step out of the room and step on to the beach with your book and hang around there with a drink. since the hotel is at one corner of the beach, there wasn't a huge amount of foot traffic from the day travelers either. The path to go into town is near the back of the hotel which was convenient.
The rooms are open. as in, OPEN. it's very funny to have a big opening out front with a half wall that anyone can climb over, and then have a door with a lock :) They have a fan, and a mosquito net. Bathrooms are open too, we didn't get any hot water, but didn't need it either. We left our passports and other valuables in the safe at the reception. remember to mark your passport/valuables visibly so you can tell the manager to 'pull out the red bag' as opposed to a ziplock, which everyone else also happens to have, and then the manager has to open all the ziplocks.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manisha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayulita, Nayarit, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We got a great deal on cupocity so paid almost nothing for our room. However, we were disappointed to find the room uncleaned on check-in. The staff did come quickly and clean up, but the bathroom in particular was basically gross and smelly - a horrible shower head, exposed water pipes, an old shower curtain crumpled on the closet floor. Thankfully the nights were cool and the netting kept mosquitos at bay, as we did not want to brave sleeping under the covers, having seen bugs crawling on the sheets.

The pool, often noted as the best feature of the hotel, was out of service. We were told by the front desk just one day for maintenance but the pool guy said the pump was broken and wouldn't be repaired for days. No matter, after seeing its green scum-covered state on our arrival, we had no desire to go in the pool during our stay.

The only thing going for this place is its location on the beach - basically your only beachfront option in yelapa. The restaurant was also good and the staff there friendly (excepting a grumpy bartender - i mean, come on, you're serving drinks on the beach, be friendly!).

We live in Mexico and are pretty forgiving travelers, but found the conditions here to be truly sub-par. We won't be back and would not recommend Hotel Lagunita.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
6.7 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
43 reviews
13.7 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,367 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#69 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,870 reviews
10.4 mi away
Casa Iguana Hotel
Casa Iguana Hotel
#87 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
311 reviews
14.4 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#86 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lagunita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lagunita

Property: Hotel Lagunita
Address: Barcina 3 la Playa, Yelapa, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lagunita 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lagunita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagunita Hotel Yelapa
Hotel Lagunita Mexico/Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing