We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yelapa, Jalisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lagunita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lagunita
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yelapa, Jalisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at Hotel Lagunita for the week of May 28 - June 4 not realizing that June 1st was Marine's Day. Our quiet vacation was not so quiet for four out of our 7 night stay.. damn there was some partying going on until late.. 2 a.m. Its a very quiet place otherwise so when there is noise it echoes.. Our fault for not doing the research.. otherwise this place was just what we were looking for.. nothing fancy, right on the beach, fantastic food and service at the hotel restaurant and primo snorkeling right outside our palapa along the rocks. One other thing to note is that during the rainy season (mid June - Sept) the crabs come out and are a bit freaky to deal with for a city-girl... they eat other pests like cockroaches so pick your poison. Also, expresso's at Angelina's Cafe two doors down.. awesome. One other thing.. call to make sure the water taxi is actually running at the time of your arrival to PV. We had to hire a boat at 6pm on Wed. cost us 180$ US to get there. It was part of the adventure but a chunk of change..

Room Tip: Number 6 has an awesome porch and is separated from the beach with a rock wall..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLagunita, Gerente at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks a lot for your review. So sorry for not obtained a totally relaxing experience but we hope you did enjoy the rest of the nights. About the water taxi there is one latest boat departing from Boca de Tomatlan also in Puerto Vallarta that depart at 6:30pm such a shame that the ¨oficina de enlace¨ in PV didn't inform you properly.
We which to have you with us next time to finally get the fully relaxation service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    110
    35
    32
    22
See reviews for
55
164
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is not a 5 star marriott with a swim up bar and turn down service, but who would want that in Yelapa! A small village with no cars, roads in the jungle fits this hotel perfectly. Feel this place is well kept and priced right for the location. You get your own little "Palapa", a pool, the beach, and an amazing view. You are located on the beach but the main village is a 5 minute walk and you can walk up river easily when you need to get to El Manguito's for dinner. If you are going to freak out if you see a lizzard or a bug in your room don't come, but don't com to Yelapa because this beautiful tropical paradise is filled with vibrant life and is so warm all year around many places have no windows or screens. I see this as a huge plus!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cheesehead571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLagunita, Gerente at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and for your wonderful description of our small but beautiful resort.

We fully appreciate your visit and we hope to see you again soon in this your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I am submitting this a bit late, as I just joined this site. I made the trip in late Sept/jearly Oct 2011.

Well, I'll start off by saying I read a lot of Trip Advisor's reviews prior to staying here. There were glowing reviews to bad reviews, so I took the bad reviews with a grain of salt and booked 2 and a half weeks. I am used to traveling and staying in budget hotels, so expected a bit more from Hotel Lagunita because of the price. The staff, restaurant, food, and staying beach-side were top rate.

I realize I was staying in the middle of a jungle, and there would be bugs, spiders, critters, etc. so that didn't bother me. There was a mosquito net over the bed and I ensured I had shoes on when I was up. As I stayed in late Sept/early Oct, it was rainy season, hot, and humid. The staff kindly put an extra fan in my room without me asking which was very thoughtful.

I loved sitting out on the small rock veranda right in front of the ocean in the plastic chairs provided. The cloth beach chairs were broken, cloth was rotted, and were laying in the sand beside the hut. One thing I did not like is that anyone could come up (and did) and peek through the slats in the doors as there was a lot of open space. I never felt truly private and dressed/undressed in the bathroom (I was a single female traveler).

The hot water for the shower was hit and miss - had a few cold showers, but wasn't a big deal.

The really bad thing was that after dark, not all of the path is lit up and there were 3 wide steps down to my hut which I had a hard time with. It is pretty treacherous walking in the dark.

Unfortunately, as nice as the staff were, the bottom line is, I don't think I will stay there again.

Room Tip: I can only speak for the hut I stayed in - oceanside was wonderful. The waves lulled me to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLagunita, Gerente at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Fortunately we have had many advances since 2011. Currently we have some improvements in the rooms as well as room chairs that we provide out of the huts.

Since 2013 we started a task of improving facilities and we plan to be finishing all the work this year.

We really would like to invite you again to visit the hotel even for one night so you can see the change be yourself.

Greetings and thank you for reminding those time that we wanted to avoid from now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

At Hotel Lagunita, you stay in thatched cottages which all face the beach along a cobblestone walkway which stretches from the office to the dock where you will arrive via a water taxi. We enjoyed cottage 19, which faces the pool, which has been designed to incorporate the natural rocks. The cottage has a locking front door; shuttered windows and no screens. There is no safe. The design of the structure allows for refreshing breezes, with windows on all four sides. The floor is tiled and the bathroom is roomy, with an original and fun pebble design on the shower walls. Everything was clean and orderly, although the first night we didn't have pillowcases and there was some variance from day to day in how many towels we got. The mattress was quite firm, which I enjoyed, but the pillows were flat and lacking resilience. The furniture was adequate to our needs. The only thing that bugged us was that it was hard to get the room dark enough for sleep; our solution was to unscrew/cover the lights on the path outside.

This hotel is comparable to the Rockhouse in Negril, Jamaica in that it is provides everything you really need without going crazy on the luxuries, and it is extremely relaxing and close to nature. The main difference is that the Rockhouse has a slightly higher level of maintenance and repair.

The Hotel Lagunita management's warm welcome, helpfulness and friendliness set just the right tone to start us off on a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We stayed five nights and had started to call the place "home" on our last day, because it felt that way. We were there to relax and get away from the city, so we didn't mind that wifi was not available in our room and only near the office or at the the open air "restaurant" next door, Tres Amigos, which gave us awesome coffee and breakfasts. We had at least one or two bars of cell service anywhere we went on the beach or in Yelapa. We had dinner at a different restaurant in the town of Yelapa each night. Ray's is pretty great; try the coconut butterfly shrimp.

To get to town from the hotel, you walk about ten minutes over a stretch of beach, climb a few flights of stairs and hike up and down some hilly cobbled paths. There are NO CARS! (People walk, ride horses or ATVs.

Sometimes the electricity goes out for a few hours and it's OK!

Nobody bothered us to buy beads, blankets, and trinkets like they do on the beach in Puerto Vallarta. On our last day we hiked up the river to the 40' waterfall, which took me about two hours each way, as we went slowly and stopped to enjoy the butterflies, birds, trees, and funky out of the way places for rent. (there was no cell service at the waterfall).

There are a few other things you can do in Yelapa, like going on boat tours, but the best part is just relaxing and getting to know the people and enjoying being in a place where you can take the time to enjoy being alive. My last memory of the hotel is being entranced by the bright blue, yellow and striped fish swimming around the dock as we waited for the water taxi to whisk us back to Puerto Vallarta. All in all, we truly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Lagunita and recommend it to anyone looking for a similar experience.

Room Tip: No matter which room you get the wifi won't work. Just relax and enjoy being off the grid and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLagunita, Gerente at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope you come back soon.
We will take your advice to improve our facilities and also to add more clothing to the stock

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

You need to remember you get what you pay for. WE had a wonderful time in Yelapa. it was mostly deserted during the 1st 2 weeks of April. The hotel is really 1 step above camping. The beds are extremely uncomfortable is the only bad thing i have to say about the place. Fortunatley the weather was perfect and the holes in the roof and doors didnt make a difference.
The place is very clean but very old. they have the only pool so when the agua mella came in we used the pool instead. the staff were very friendly and helpful. i would give the food at the restaurant about a 2.5. Great Mexican food is so easy to make i dont know why it was so bland.
we did have an amazing red snapper down the beach. the wifi only works in the restaurant.

Room Tip: You must take a panga boat to Yelapa. we left from Boca de Tomatlan which was bout 7 pesos PP. easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blonditraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLagunita, Gerente at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for your kindly comments and for share this wonderfull pictures of the hotel. We will do something about the beds problems and we hope you will enjoy your next visit to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I've stayed at Lagunita at least a half dozen times. The bungalows are basic and funky, but clean. The beds are hard and you fight with the bug nets to keep you covered. The service is laid back but adequate. I keep going back because Yelapa is beautiful and relaxing, with only a handful of vendors on the beach who are all low key (you have to buy pie from the pie lady).

Lounging under a palapa at Tres Amigos restaurant is the real highlight. Again, laid back service, but the food is excellent -- at all meals. Great margaritas. And it is just so damn relaxing. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank elrobertoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLagunita, Gerente at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for all your comments and also for being with us this many years now. About the beds, thanks for the advice we will do something about it for next time.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was by far one of the best vacations! If you want to relax with beauty everywhere you turn this is the place to go. Everybody was very helpful, from the staff to the locals…. Prices are excellent as well. Viva Hotel Lagunitas!!

Room Tip: We had room 15. Felt like we were in Bedrock, very cool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leticia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLagunita, Propietario at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel Lagunita.
We hope to have you with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
6.7 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#65 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#98 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
15.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lagunita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lagunita

Property: Hotel Lagunita
Address: Barcina 3 la Playa, Yelapa, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lagunita 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lagunita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagunita Hotel Yelapa
Hotel Lagunita Mexico/Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing