We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Yelapa Must!”
Review of Ray's Place

Ray's Place
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Yelapa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, International
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Yelapa Must!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Ray's Place was the reason we came to Yelapa. Happy, personal people that care about good food. Ray cut the last of his mint for my mojito, so he won me before we were even served. He allowed us to create our own order based on his recommendations, not just the menu. Food was fresh, unique, and very authentic Mexican cuisine. The pizza is made from scratch, which we ordered to-go one night as we wanted to eat in (at the wonderful Casa Coco). Also, great atmosphere!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiMock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Rays!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Ray is the man! We ate there a couple of times and loved our food! Clean, tasty, and very well prepared. Ray was very hospitable and took care of us. A must try!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelapa, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A night to remember, again!!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nearly six months have passed since I planted fingers on keyboard to laud the magnificence of Ray’s Place. Rest assured this has been a major challenge as I occupy a table at this establishment three of four times per week. I have watched as this new site gained roots, struggled and now flourishes as, in my opinion, the premier restaurant in all Yelapa. Mahi-mahi melts on your palate; arrechera requires no sharp utensil to be parceled, shrimp reclines seductively, and all framed with steamed vegetables and garlic bread. Sunday morning birria is a must. Expanded vegetarian options exist for those who wish. It is a gastronomique event to capture, forever. My latest visit brought an order of mahi-mahi veracruzano (not on the menu). The melding of fish, bell peppers, green olives and onions coalesced to craft a dinner defined by “oooooooos.” All ingredients are fresh and unadulterated. Buen Provecho!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Memo-Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great restaurant in Yelapa”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great salad with fresh greens and wonderful dressing. Tasty food. You can't go wrong eating at Ray's.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should of had more dinners here”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We waited until the last night to have dinner here and we shouldn't have waited so long. I had the arrachera beef and it was delicious. Others had fresh mahi, ceviche, and shrimp and all of it was good. Highly recommend Ray's!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JR_Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ray's Place also viewed

 

Been to Ray's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing