We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service--very disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenella Blue Mountains
Ranked #2 of 7 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Definitely be wary of Glenella’s cancellation policy. I originally booked in for a two night stay in February for April. A couple of weeks later I wanted to move the date of our stay due to an error in dates. I called multiple times, and left voice-mail on Katherine’s mobile and land-line but was never granted the courtesy of a response. When I finally did get in contact with her- the week before our stay, I was told nothing could be done. When I queried why my calls where never returned I was told it was because she was busy with “personal business”. Apparently this is acceptable customer service! And a $35 admin fee for an amendment to a booking is ridiculous.

Negatives: busy entry way, no greeting from host and was shown to our room by staff of the restaurant, rooms dusty and in need of TLC, pin found on floor (we travelled with our 8 month old baby who could have easily choked on this), drain in shower flooded second night, run by one person who is stretched for time, air-conditioning slow to run, poor customer service.

Positives: nice breakfast in the morning, close to shops.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyBee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

First thing we did after checking in for two nights - after, that is, stepping aside for two men lumping 25kg bags of rice up the front path, ringing a reception bell that seemed not to be connected to anything, and eventually being shown to our room by a restaurant worker - was pay $7.50 for 1 hour of Wifi to check the cancellation policy. Fourteen days written notice.

I wanted to like Glenella, I really did. But the restaurant struck a discordant note. People wandered through the guest lounge to dine or pick up takeaway. As uninviting as it was, a glum couple spent both evenings watching sport on the TV in the corner. Perhaps they expected a telly in their room.

On a positive note, the room was comfortable; breakfast, apart from some still-frozen berries the second day, excellent; and Katherine a natural and friendly host. It just felt as if the place wasn't sure what it wanted to be - a pleasant country retreat or a backpackers with handy on-site takeaway. Actually, it would make a good backpackers.

Room Tip: Although the property is non-smoking, Room 1 opens onto the verandah where smoking is permitted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeriousFrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Ditto to" Ünrealised Potential" A friend and I have just stayed at Glenella and had the same suite of rooms and we were badly disappointed! Guest area is busy with outsiders coming to eat at the Thai restaurant or picking up takeaways. Food smell everywhere! Not at all private. Breakfast is the same each day. Cutlery dirty.My room 3 was badly in need of a dust and had an overpowering smell of cigarettes. Beds were badly made. Wire hangers everywhere. Bathroom mildew and rusty shower caddy. Walls are thin and you can hear what is going on in the next rooms. They also take children and we had a crying baby which kept us awake on the Saturday night. Glenella needs someone to care and maintain this potentially lovely property. Such a shame and we were so disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickimudgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at Glenella in November 2012, as a result of the various postings on Trip Advisor. I am very aware that comments about bookings going wrong etc. can influence opinions of a property and therefore was reassured by the views of previous guests and the pictures on the website, before booking.
I must admit that we three were somewhat underwhelmed by the property.
We were in adjoining rooms (2 and 3) with a common ensuite, which was ideal as we were travelling together. Although we did not see any of the other rooms, ours seemed to be in need of a good paint job on the walls, doors and architraves, replacement of net curtains, improved lighting in the bedrooms and the common sitting area, and something (even prints) on the walls in the bedrooms. Whilst there was furniture in the bedrooms there just was no consistency or even style. The bathroom was clean, and although the floor tiles were possibly originals, they needed to be replaced where broken or damaged. Similarly the light switches have holes where the screws go - all electrical shops have neat little bungs for these - and then the switches look "clean" and tidy! Unfortunately even the taps were missing their “Hot” and “Cold” labels, which just made them look very sad.
Of course there were good points - the beds were very comfy, the reverse cycle a/c was very quiet, and the electric blankets made for a toasty bed. The location is terrific, and the room sizes were fine.
I realise that different travellers look for different things, but must admit that just having "an old world feeling" needs to be accompanied by modern, clean and tidy facilities - even in a house that is nearly 100 years old! Strangely enough we had stayed in an even older guesthouse (in Moruya -1880's) the night before, also with a guest lounge etc, and the difference in quality was quite striking.
We think that there is significant potential for this guest house to become a gem but, in our view, some work, effort and money needs to be expended on the details.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 2 or 3 unless they have ben renovated!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinLeChaudLapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our stay at the Glenella Guesthouse was more than we expected and a perfect base to explore the Blue Mountains. Kathryn was charming, friendly, and very accommodating, especially in her recommendations for hikes and fabulous restaurants. The Guesthouse was welcoming, cozy and comfortable for our three night stay the first week of 2013, and it proved to be a great opportunity for bird watching as we enjoyed our breakfast each morning. There's no need for a car to explore Govette's Leap hikes and overlooks or browse the shops and restaurants in town. The WiFi, large porch amd greatroom were most welcoming and convenient, as well.

Room Tip: Our room was small, but adequate, but nicely appointed and with a lovely view of the garden in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We had one night here with our 2 young kids in the family room. It was a lovely stay (slightly small bathroom but that didn't matter) and we were made welcome. It's worth coming just to see the house itself as it is a beautiful old villa, with gorgeous original features, coloured leaded windows, old furniture, huge decked porch and a really vintage feel. Lots of nice restaurants nearby (although all we closed when we were there over Xmas) but nearby Katumba had lots of choice at its fab 1930's cafes and restaurants. Loads to do in the area. Breakfast was adequate with a lovely room with views over the pretty garden. Enjoyed a game of scrabble with my sand once the kids were asleep from the selection of games in the hall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudrun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stay at Glenella each year for our annual group get together. Katherine, our host, is wonderfully accommodating and helpful and we always enjoy returning. Lovely, charming, old-world building, yummy breakfasts. Great location - short walk to restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: I always stay in a front room and it's never been noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackheath hotels
0.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Norwood Mountain Lodge
Norwood Mountain Lodge
#4 of 7 in Blackheath
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Blackheath
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Motor Inn
Blackheath Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Blackheath
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenella Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenella Blue Mountains

Address: 56-60 Govett's Leap Rd, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range: £85 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenella Blue Mountains 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage-listed Glenella Guesthouse B&B is within walking distance of local shops, restaurants and bush walks. Public transport is within minutes from the property. All rooms offer private en-suite facilities with queen beds. Lounge has fireplace for winter, access to a fridge. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenella Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenella Blue Mountains Blackheath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing