We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenella Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redleaf Resort(Blackheath)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Motor Inn(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
78
54
17
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
54
17
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseblue mountainsheritage buildingindian foodgood nights sleeplovely bed and breakfastconsummate hostsrich historymy sister and i stayed herewalking tripbest kept secretgovetts leapcomfortable roomswonderful hospitalitya lovely stayblackheath villagegreat shower
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The rooms are very small with no where to sit other than on the bed (we had the "standard" - least expensive room) with air-conditioning , we found it clean and comfortable. Kate was very helpful as we had to leave early on the day of departure, Kate had organize our breakfast much earlier for as.

Room Tip: Location on quite street, so not much noise at night. Bed was comfortable
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for a night on our way through the Blue Mountains. The property is stunning, quirky and full of character. Kate is a superb host and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The room was traditional, some my sy old fashioned but we found it clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast set us up for the day. A good value stay in my opinion.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Kate and her husband are very welcoming persons, attentive to your well-being and your comfort.
The room we had was small and cute, with air-conditioning or heating, and an electric blanket.
The matress was very confortable.
In the main living room, there is an open fire, that makes the guesthouse even more welcoming.
That's definitely a nice place to rest after a good walk!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It is difficult to provide an overall rating because there's good and not so good. As for the good...the beds are very comfy and the room was very clean with a good reverse cycle air conditioner. The rooms are very small with no where to sit other than on the bed (we had the "standard" - least expensive room). The bathroom is modern and efficient (albeit small)...plus quite clean (great big fluffy towels too). Disappointed that there was just one small tablet of soap and only one face washer (wash cloth).
The lounge area needs to be updated and kept more tidy. There are only two televisions, both of which are in common areas (lounge and restaurant).
The food (dinner) in the restaurant was very good indeed...congratulations. However, the dining area was not as clean as it should be - floors and windows need attention as does the balcony area (in dire need of a clean up and painting, etc.)
Kate Strong is quite a pleasant host. She was prompt in getting us settled and the morning breakfast service was better than expected - the coffee is good as is the cooked breakfast. However, there were only small bowls of fruit and yoghurt (almost empty).
It must be difficult to keep after this old, somewhat historic, property so we're not sure how Kate will bring it up to the next (better) level. Good luck!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger rooms so you can sit in the room and read...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_Guia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at Glenella on a gorgeous Autumn weekend, sun was shining. Hostess Kate was very friendly and helpful. She told us all about her Triathlon training - admirable to say the least! Rooms were comfortable and we slept well with the windows open letting in the fresh mountain air.
Had a leisurely breakfast on the deck - mocha coffees were delicious. We went bushwalking as suggested by Kate and her friend Barry and discovered a secret part of the mountains complete with orchards and breathtaking views. The price was perfect and we will definitely be coming back. If we don't see you before May, best of luck in the Triathlon, Kate!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank alipoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews