We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's only a motor inn, but it does this well!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackheath Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Blackheath
Certificate of Excellence
Western NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's only a motor inn, but it does this well!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I ended up here with my girlfriend after a divine meal at a nearby restaurant, a little too much to drink and no desire to drive for hours anyway.

We scraped in with our phone call before the reception closed, but they provided a lovely clean, spacious room away from the highway in a rather quaint building. The decor could do with an update, but only in terms of style, being well maintained and immaculately clean!

Beautiful clean, fresh linen was appreciated, and although the bathroom is a little cool and certainly not modern, it was functional and we woke well rested.

The location is great for the many walks and local restaurants and cafes, and the price very reasonable.

I would be happy to stay there again!

Room Tip: As others have said, if you can get a room that doesn't back on to the highway, it will be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackheathMotorInn, Owner at Blackheath Motor Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Jaffle

Many of our guests comment on the 'quaint' decor as the heavy woodwork is an unusual feature.
We trust you enjoed the rest of your trip and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Regards
Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    69
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
80
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

visited on a groupon special. however i am sure this had no bearing on the end result. rooms were spotless -bathroom good with robes. brekky more than adequate. info to go to places and get there very good.(from Senga). other reviews mention noise. not too bad. are'nt most motels on main roads. definitely recommended. KF. july 2013.
we would never have known or found the MEGALONG VALLEY TEA ROOMS without help.

Room Tip: rooms 10 down to 1 if you want to be fussy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank porgy328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackheathMotorInn, Owner at Blackheath Motor Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thanks for your review KF.
We try our very best for all our guests no matter how they come to us. I am glad you too enjoyed the trip into the Megalong. It's not only a lovely drive but the food and coffee at the tea rooms is simply great.

Hope to see you back soon.

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here on a cold winters night in July 2013.It is a very nice place in pretty surrounds with a warm room and friendly owners. We walked to the second pub from here in town and had a lovely dinner with a log fire.
The next morning we walked in the other direction to the beautiful rhododendron gardens and had them to ourselves. Don't miss them. A beautiful place to see any time of year.
Govetts Leal, Megalong valley and Pulpit Rock were glorious to see and still no one around.
Compared to the crowds of The Three sisters this was a much more peaceful place to be.

Room Tip: take the back rooms as front ones have train line and highway close
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davo062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackheathMotorInn, Owner at Blackheath Motor Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi Davo

Glad you enjoyed your stay. As some other guests have noted, most of the motels in the Mountains are located along the Highway, so road noise is an unfortunate part of the stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Get the back rooms away from highway as can be noisy from trucks/trains.

Nice clean warm (oil heater) rooms. Friendly managers...very knowledgeable for things to do.

Good location...quiet village away from main tourist areas

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nivek1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This place is a perfect base for exploring this gorgeous little town in the mountains. With all the basics you'd expect from a motor inn, the two things that sets this place apart is that it's super clean and without the offensive linen you'd normally see in a budget motel. There's a gorgeous backyard area as well which would be extra lovely in summer. Stay here and spend your hard earned coin on kooky antiques and fancy meal in Blackheath. Lovely hosts as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirbykirbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is probably not the classiest hotel in the world but it doesn't pretend or need to be. It is clean and welcoming and it's location is great if you want to do some of the walks in the Blue Mountains. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful; they provided advice on walks and looked after our luggage after we'd checked out and went on one of the walks. It's also within easy walking distance of the station if you come up by train. It is on a main road and there can be traffic noise but if you do enough walking you'll be so tired you won't notice it :-). Restaurants are all withing easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T1andT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Our quick and simple check-in for a two night ( unreserved ) stay was a real plus for us the weary travellers. The room was clean comfortable and centrally located in the vicinity of all restaurants takeaways shops etc. and particularly close to all of the spectacular sights of the Blue Mountains. Our hostess was very helpful in providing directions to various places. The room was well equipped and spacious but a little on the gloomy side due to somewhat restricted window light. Perhaps all that is needed is a skylight to improve that aspect..........No complaints otherwise.............Hal & Pam, NZ

Room Tip: A room in the rear block would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.6 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.8 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
901 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
154 reviews
19.9 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Motor Inn

Property: Blackheath Motor Inn
Address: 281 Great Western Hwy, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackheath Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine-style rooms surrounded by our beautiful gardens here at the top of the Blue Mountains. All rooms are air-conditioned/heated for your comfort. Just a short stroll away from the many eateries of Blackheath. You'd be guaranteed a warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blackheath Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Motor Inn Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing