We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and great accommodation”
Review of Secrets Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secrets Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 7 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and great accommodation”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The room was very well presented, and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. The finishes were in keeping with the style attempted, and the facilities were good.

The location is great and the host (Andre) was very helpful and made some very useful suggestions for the weekend.

Room Tip: King sized bed option worth choosing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kergunuyah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were greeted warmly by Andre, who gave us a full rundown on sights of interests and tips to get the most out of our stay. Our cabin was quaint, clean and comfy with the wonderful smell of freshly baked bread. All this in a beautiful garden setting.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashdale66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

It cost a little more than we would normally pay, but since it was a treat we could justify it. And it was perfect!
Lovely garden, friendly and welcoming host, delicious bread, peace and quiet and privacy, comfortable bed and rooms - we couldn't have asked for a better weekend! If you need a relaxing weekend away in a gorgeous location, then stay here.
You do need your car though.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AandK111209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Had a wonderful Blue Mountains experience!The gardens are really lovely. Our kitchen was fine and the bed was comfortable. If you want a lovely, quaint accommodation then check this out. Also, Blackheath provided us with plenty of hiking to keep us busy and the town's little shops afforded opportunities.Will go back soon and stay longer to explore all around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tobym70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I booked last minute for a couple day weekday stay and booked the Maids Room. Upon our arrival, we were graciously offered our choice of rooms for the same rate as they were available. We chose to stay as booked and it was magical. Upscale country cozy furnishings perfect to the details with luxurious linens, towels, and curtains. Even the wood burning stove was clean and preset with kindling and wood just ready to be lit with a single match. Tea candles and the most unbelievably bubbly bubble bath was icing on the cake. The proprieters' attention to detail was apparent everywhere on the property, from the picture perfect charming gardens at from every possibly angle to the warm loaf of fresh baked bread set on a cooling rack on the kitchen counter in our room filling the space with a sense of relaxation and cozy ideals.

Bottom line: they really should be charging a lot more for this kind of experience than they do. It's a secret gem indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGDW0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We called ahead to ask if there was a vacancy. The owner Andre said we could have The loft for the night and he's start baking ready for when we arrived. When we opened the door the heat from the log burner hit us - amazing. We just opened a bottle of red wine and waited for Andre to knock the door with a warm loaf straight from his oven. There were fresh eggs too from his hens in the garden. Great bathroom with jacuzzi and a bedroom mezzanine overlooking the sitting room. I just wish I hadn't stoked up the fire before bedtime - woke up roasting. Andre is a great host and will give you a tour of the garden, showing you some of the local wildlife. We loved it here, like a fairytale cottage.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBedf0rds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Last year we stayed in the Loft, intending two nights but adding a third night, this time it was the Maids Room for three nights. There will be a next time for sure. Beautifully appointed, ideal location, welcoming host, feel the serenity!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
1.0 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.2 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
24 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
898 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
1.3 mi away
Norwood Mountain Lodge
Norwood Mountain Lodge
#3 of 7 in Blackheath
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Hideaway

Property: Secrets Hideaway
Address: 173 Evans Lookout Rd, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Secrets Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Hideaway Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing