We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panoramic scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Govetts Leap

Govetts Leap
Book In Advance
More Info
US$230.55*
and up
Private Tour: Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney Including Featherdale...
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Blackheath
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Panoramic scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I spent a week in Blackheath area, and were blown away by the beautiful sights we saw . We drove into Blackheath and kept driving down Govetts Leap road where we came by a tourist information office. We popped in got some free maps and from there we continued on to the end of the road, when we came to Govetts Leap . It is a lookout that will leave you breathless! I had never been here before, but must say it is as beautiful as the Three Sisters lookout in Katoomba. Wide canyons and valleys and a lovely waterfall. There are lots of walking tracks , so if you are fit, there is a great one along the escarpment, with great views of the valley. There is a variety of walks in the area, so make sure you take advantage of these and explore the area. Just a gorgeous part of the world , a must see!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank belleSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    101
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best at any time of day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Without a doubt Govetts Leap Lookout is perhaps the best by far in the Blue Mountains. Visit at sunrise when there may be romantic mist in the gorge, or sunset for a Wagnarian scene that can be achingly spectacular. At night with a full moon it is also jaw dropping. Anytime of the day it is simply stunning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertoLezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Only in Oz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

One of many Amazing lookouts in the blue mountains. Every one has too be seen when you can.
We set up base in Blackheath and moved around from there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank adelaidegrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

A magnificent view from the lookout with some great walking tracks. There is a grassed area where you can sit and have a picnic lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kandt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Green Mountains and Blue Skies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Govetts Leap was part of our tour's itinerary. Besides being a lookout point, you could also take a walk along the bush trails. We did a bit of both. Upon arrival, we were excited to spot two lyre birds (we were looking for them the whole morning at different landmarks). We took a short 20 minute walk where we were introduced to the local flora and fauna (Devil Mountain flower, the different types of bottle brush plants) before heading out to the lookout point.

The views are breath taking and we spent at least 5 minutes staring out into the horizon. On the right is the Bridal Veils Fall, standing tall at 300m. We watched the soft sway of the water trails depending on the wind direction.

If you had the time, you could even have a picnic as there are picnic tables available for us. Alternatively, just spread out a mat and enjoy your meal.

Read about my Blue Mountains (and other travel) experiences here at Lyn, Life Explorer (http://arazlin.blogspot.com.au/2014/05/touring-blue-mountains.html).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Govetts Leap also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Govetts Leap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing