We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“happy days”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Just back from a family gathering at the Blue Mountains.
Many family members stayed at Federation Gardens.
Really suited our needs; not expensive, clean, neat and tidy cabins.
Excellent service, we were made to feel most welcome.

Room Tip: We were pleased we took a little amount of food... just to go on with until we hit the shops a few k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taoygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    54
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
110
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

A great idea, but loses something in the execution. We stayed over Easter in a 2-bedroom Linden cottage. The gardens and facilities are very good (particularly if we had children) and the cottage was good. There are some lovely touches, such as big windows, skylights, verandahs, fancy cornices and some old-style light switches. You can't help think that they ran out of money somewhere along the way. Bedside lamps are interesting (energy saving globes in red vases), hot water temperature is not capped (scalding hot) and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor (floor waste at highest point!). That said, it was perfectly adequate for our needs although not good value as we didn't use the facilities and the price went up from when we booked some months ago.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights; Saturday and Sunday, wish we had of stayed the Friday night too. The possums cabin (3) was off the ground, we looked out or windows and had a beautiful view. We lit the woodfire and layed in bed, it was very relaxing. There are a few tracks that are not far, we walked the Govetts Leap, lots of beautiful views and lots of stairs. We absolutely loved the Possums Cabins, was very nice being away from the city and this was the perfect spot.

Room Tip: Should you have the option ask for cabin 4, it is above ground and has an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This my favourite place hands down to stay at in the blue mountains, by far , and one of my favourite spots to go for a romantic getaway in NSW. In winter its so cosy with the log fire burning and your own private spa, the treehouses are have everything you need and the place even has an octagonal glass house with an inside heated swimming pool. If you want to go somewhere truly special with your partner surprise them with this you will not be dissapointed and I know of no parrallel to this place for the price and appointments, the location is an easy two hours drive from Sydney, and very scenic. You can just stay in all weekend if its cold ,or you can enjoy the mountains, bushwalking,sightseeing,etc. If you want a truly memorable couples only getaway, I have a very hard time thinking of a more romantic place relatively close to Sydney for the price. dont take my word google the pictures,read other guests reviews, its private , cosy romantic , and well priced. i love this place and so does my girlfriend, we always stay here at least once a year.Do yourself and your partner a favour and check this out, I have never heard of anyone who didnt find this a cosy, romantic ,unique and truly memorable experience

Room Tip: there are only 4 of these self contained couples only octagonal treehouses , try and opt for the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband and I rented a 2- bedroom cottage for two nights, and stayed with a friend and our 7 month old baby. The setting is lovely, though quite far (10 mins driving) from any shops or restaurants.However the town Blackheath is very cute, with plenty of interesting shops and good quality cafes and eateries, so if you dont mind the drive in to town it's a great location.
Evans Lookout, just 5 minutes drive down the road, is also quite spectacular so make sure you take the time to have a look if you do stay at Federation Gardens.
We paid $245/night, but I'm not sure we really got our money's worth.
For this price I would have expected a slightly better location and facilities, and at least a continental breakfast :). However I think most of the Blue Mountains is a bit over-priced.
The 'heated' pool was quite cold. It was a cold day when we used it, but there's no actual heating, it's just a covered pool, so I'm not sure if you could really swim in it in winter.
The fire pit was a nice touch, and a great way to meet other families staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellamaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had 3 nights here at a discount from holiday auctions, so not quite sure of the real price. We stayed in a Possum's cabin which is a hexagonal shaped separate cabin with a log fireplace opposite the bed and a 2-person spa bath. Breakfast provisions were provided as was firewood.Large windows with bush views are spectacular. On the verandah was a wooden home for a possum which came out for food. Location is very quiet and a car is needed to explore the surrounding attractions, but this leads to a really private stay. The grounds are beautifully maintained with a tennis court, small pool, games room etc

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyMarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We spent our 5 year wedding anniversary in one of the possum hideaway cabins and we couldn't have picked a better place. We were welcomed by a happy friendly face at reception and supplied with a map of the grounds as well as the nearby lookouts and walking trails. Our cabin was delightful and equipped with everything we needed for our two night stay including the inclusive buffet breakfast, bath robes, fresh towels, spare pillows, blanket etc. The fireplace had already been prepared for us, all we had to do was light it. We were supplied with plenty of extra firewood and kindling. Unsure of what time we were to arrive, the oil heater had been turned on in our room to ensure it was nice and cosy when we arrived. This was a lovely personal touch by the staff. The bed was firm but comfortable, clean sheets, new sofa and freshly steam cleaned carpet. The bathroom was clean, spacious and the spa bath was great! The cabin has large windows all the way around so you get a 360 degree view of the surrounding bushland. We were lucky enough to have a mother and baby possum join us for our stay, taking shelter in the purpose made box outside our room and delighting us as we fed them fruit. Although there are 3 other cabins and other accommodation close by, we rarely saw many other people which helped to make it a quiet, tranquil getaway for us. We'll definitely be staying here again in the future and highly recommend it

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
1.1 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
899 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
5.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway

Property: Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway
Address: 185 Evans Lookout Road, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing